SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Country in the city> Swing Jacket (Swing Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 538 times 
Reviewed by:Kalena
photo

 
 
About Kalenastar
NY USA
Member since: 9/11/04
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/08 9:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maidathome said...
This is gorgeous. Great job.
1/31/08 9:46 PM
Markie1 said...
You made your own chenille! I didn't even know you could make your own chenille! This is a beautiful piece, with a lovely family history. What sweet husband you have. Great jacket, too.
1/31/08 9:59 PM
PegL said...
Lovely jacket! Nice review!
1/31/08 11:58 PM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty. I am not familiar with this pattern company. Do they have a website?
2/1/08 0:28 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!! I love your jacket, it is absolutely dreamy!!! It really looks like a style I have seen in chic boutiques!!! Perfection!
2/1/08 7:53 AM
TrixieD said...
Such beautiful work. I just love the fabric combinations and the harmony.
2/1/08 8:53 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Lovely jacket! It makes me smile to look at it! You are at least an intermediate Kalena!!
2/1/08 9:12 AM
Kalena said...
Yes, this pattern company does have a website, with quite a variety of patterns, and buttons, too. I like the look of their new "Flap Jacket". http://www.countryinthecity.net/
2/1/08 9:14 AM
Diane Tucker said...
Suggestion for you before you make an new tie for your special DH : Go buy a cheap tie at the second hand shop, and tear it apart and use the stiffner/ interfacing pieces for your special, new tie. No interfacing decisions to make, so you know the new one will look as good as RTW. Diane
2/1/08 11:16 AM
NoraNora said...
What a wonderful story...it actually brought tears to my eyes. And what a truly special jacket (as well as being beautiful!) I'm so glad you finished it!
2/1/08 11:20 AM
patsijean said...
I really like your jacket. So much so, I added it to my wish list.
2/1/08 2:23 PM
moushka said...
You have a fabulous eye for fabric/pattern combinations. Great looking jacket. You definitely rate an 'Intermediate' level designation. Sue
2/1/08 3:25 PM
cecelia said...
What a terrific pairing of different fabrics--I love it and can't believe it's "tie" fabric!
2/1/08 3:41 PM
j222b said...
Work of art!!
2/1/08 4:34 PM
MarthaH said...
Very nice indeed!
2/1/08 5:26 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The thumbnail sketch does not do justice to your creation. When I clicked on the full size photo, it took my breath away for a moment. Chenille making, fabric coordination, and a great eye for color and shape. Sky's the limit for you. -Lily
2/1/08 7:36 PM
Shrazzy said...
What a great jacket, with wonderful attention to detail. The chenille is fantastic!
2/2/08 7:09 AM
moss said...
that is totally gorgeous! I hope you enjoy wearing it!
2/4/08 11:47 AM
selvage said...
Wow--stunning jacket! How did you do the chenille? Are instructions included in the pattern? Your selection of fabrics is amazing. The combination is so elegant and creative.
4/4/08 2:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

McCall's 6571

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: SewWil

Review