Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Country in the city: Swing Jacket (Swing Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 534 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Kalena
photo
About Kalenastar
NY USA
Member since: 9/11/04
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/08 9:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maidathome said...
This is gorgeous. Great job.
1/31/08 9:46 PM
Markie1 said...
You made your own chenille! I didn't even know you could make your own chenille! This is a beautiful piece, with a lovely family history. What sweet husband you have. Great jacket, too.
1/31/08 9:59 PM
PegL said...
Lovely jacket! Nice review!
1/31/08 11:58 PM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty. I am not familiar with this pattern company. Do they have a website?
2/1/08 0:28 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!! I love your jacket, it is absolutely dreamy!!! It really looks like a style I have seen in chic boutiques!!! Perfection!
2/1/08 7:53 AM
TrixieD said...
Such beautiful work. I just love the fabric combinations and the harmony.
2/1/08 8:53 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Lovely jacket! It makes me smile to look at it! You are at least an intermediate Kalena!!
2/1/08 9:12 AM
Kalena said...
Yes, this pattern company does have a website, with quite a variety of patterns, and buttons, too. I like the look of their new "Flap Jacket". http://www.countryinthecity.net/
2/1/08 9:14 AM
Diane Tucker said...
Suggestion for you before you make an new tie for your special DH : Go buy a cheap tie at the second hand shop, and tear it apart and use the stiffner/ interfacing pieces for your special, new tie. No interfacing decisions to make, so you know the new one will look as good as RTW. Diane
2/1/08 11:16 AM
NoraNora said...
What a wonderful story...it actually brought tears to my eyes. And what a truly special jacket (as well as being beautiful!) I'm so glad you finished it!
2/1/08 11:20 AM
patsijean said...
I really like your jacket. So much so, I added it to my wish list.
2/1/08 2:23 PM
moushka said...
You have a fabulous eye for fabric/pattern combinations. Great looking jacket. You definitely rate an 'Intermediate' level designation. Sue
2/1/08 3:25 PM
cecelia said...
What a terrific pairing of different fabrics--I love it and can't believe it's "tie" fabric!
2/1/08 3:41 PM
j222b said...
Work of art!!
2/1/08 4:34 PM
MarthaH said...
Very nice indeed!
2/1/08 5:26 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The thumbnail sketch does not do justice to your creation. When I clicked on the full size photo, it took my breath away for a moment. Chenille making, fabric coordination, and a great eye for color and shape. Sky's the limit for you. -Lily
2/1/08 7:36 PM
Shrazzy said...
What a great jacket, with wonderful attention to detail. The chenille is fantastic!
2/2/08 7:09 AM
moss said...
that is totally gorgeous! I hope you enjoy wearing it!
2/4/08 11:47 AM
selvage said...
Wow--stunning jacket! How did you do the chenille? Are instructions included in the pattern? Your selection of fabrics is amazing. The combination is so elegant and creative.
4/4/08 2:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 1052
photo
Review by marjenann on 9/25/10
Read Review

Oliver S Sketchbook Shirt Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Sketchbook Shirt   Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6251 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6251 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1022 Iris
photo
Review by SueT on 5/21/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us