SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8488 (Trousers/pants)

11 more reviews
Viewed 850 times 
Reviewed by:Sara The Slayer
photo

 
 
About Sara The Slayerstar
ISRAEL
Member since: 11/22/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/08 6:19 AM
Last Updated:2/2/08 6:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heather C-R said...
Really great job on the pants and the review! I just bought a pair that are very similar (without the bib) made with 5% spandex in the cotton fabric. I loved the fit so I copied the pants using linen fabric without the stretch, HUGE difference in fit! If you can find it, try stretch khaki, my second (3rd?) pair came out fantastic! Good Luck!
2/28/08 3:08 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
I thought about that - taking in the back darts just a bit more to tighten the waist down. I really should fix that...but I put in the stupid facing already so I'd have to redo...and I'm nothing if not lazy.
2/7/08 0:42 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very flattering!! Lucky you to have a pair of great fitting pants! ;-)
2/4/08 10:08 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, what a great looking pair of pants! You look maaaaaaaaavelous! I know what you mean about something feeling too big in the waist (one of my pet peeves), but they LOOK really nice. You might even be able to take them in slightly at the waist there at those front seams, or even add a couple of little darts. I, for one, have finagled a few nontraditional "fixes" at the waist in such a manner, and nobody's the wiser, so long as you don't confess. I love these! And, surprise, surprise, I even have this pattern. :o) Very inspiring review!
2/3/08 0:38 AM
CynthiaSue said...
cuteness girl!
2/2/08 3:07 PM
ocotillo said...
Very flattering pants, and they look like they fit you well! I really like the seam down the front of the leg, and I agree that in future versions it would be interesting to play around with details on that, like maybe some topstitching on both sides of the seam.
2/2/08 12:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Sara- in my opinion, if you can make pants like that, you are not beginner! Well done.
2/2/08 12:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The two-piece front leg is really eye-catching. Even if you don't feel like re-doing the waist (as long as they don't fall down), the pants look really great on you, and your work on the butt curve really paid off. Really attractive. -Lily
2/2/08 10:56 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks everyone for the encouragement, especially with my less than perfect photography. CShelley - really measure your inseam, and take off as much as you need. I couldn't BELIEVE how much I had to take off...but you do. I looked at the pictures again! I really need to IRON. Also, I am NOT a teeny tiny little thing - I have quite the womanly rolls/curves - which should show that these pants are much more flattering than you would think. The flat front with vertical seams works well for that. And they are not too high nor too low of a waistline.
2/2/08 10:16 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This style is great on you -- great job on your first pair of woven pants. :)
2/2/08 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
They look really nice on you
2/2/08 9:02 AM
CShelley said...
I really like these on you - the fit looks great. I looked at this pattern but passed it up because I'm short and I didn't think I could pull it off but you disproved that idea.
2/2/08 8:39 AM
Jatman said...
Really nice fit on the pants. I have this pattern - I may have to make them now. Thank you for the inspiration!
2/2/08 7:28 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
test
2/2/08 6:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

More Info
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info