Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8488 (Trousers/pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 848 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Sara The Slayer
photo
About Sara The Slayerstar
ISRAEL
Member since: 11/22/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/08 6:19 AM
Last Updated:2/2/08 6:24 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sara The Slayer said...
test
2/2/08 6:25 AM
Jatman said...
Really nice fit on the pants. I have this pattern - I may have to make them now. Thank you for the inspiration!
2/2/08 7:28 AM
CShelley said...
I really like these on you - the fit looks great. I looked at this pattern but passed it up because I'm short and I didn't think I could pull it off but you disproved that idea.
2/2/08 8:39 AM
carolynw said...
They look really nice on you
2/2/08 9:02 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This style is great on you -- great job on your first pair of woven pants. :)
2/2/08 9:24 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks everyone for the encouragement, especially with my less than perfect photography. CShelley - really measure your inseam, and take off as much as you need. I couldn't BELIEVE how much I had to take off...but you do. I looked at the pictures again! I really need to IRON. Also, I am NOT a teeny tiny little thing - I have quite the womanly rolls/curves - which should show that these pants are much more flattering than you would think. The flat front with vertical seams works well for that. And they are not too high nor too low of a waistline.
2/2/08 10:16 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
The two-piece front leg is really eye-catching. Even if you don't feel like re-doing the waist (as long as they don't fall down), the pants look really great on you, and your work on the butt curve really paid off. Really attractive. -Lily
2/2/08 10:56 AM
Markie1 said...
Sara- in my opinion, if you can make pants like that, you are not beginner! Well done.
2/2/08 12:14 PM
ocotillo said...
Very flattering pants, and they look like they fit you well! I really like the seam down the front of the leg, and I agree that in future versions it would be interesting to play around with details on that, like maybe some topstitching on both sides of the seam.
2/2/08 12:25 PM
CynthiaSue said...
cuteness girl!
2/2/08 3:07 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow, what a great looking pair of pants! You look maaaaaaaaavelous! I know what you mean about something feeling too big in the waist (one of my pet peeves), but they LOOK really nice. You might even be able to take them in slightly at the waist there at those front seams, or even add a couple of little darts. I, for one, have finagled a few nontraditional "fixes" at the waist in such a manner, and nobody's the wiser, so long as you don't confess. I love these! And, surprise, surprise, I even have this pattern. :o) Very inspiring review!
2/3/08 0:38 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very flattering!! Lucky you to have a pair of great fitting pants! ;-)
2/4/08 10:08 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
I thought about that - taking in the back darts just a bit more to tighten the waist down. I really should fix that...but I put in the stupid facing already so I'd have to redo...and I'm nothing if not lazy.
2/7/08 0:42 AM
Heather C-R said...
Really great job on the pants and the review! I just bought a pair that are very similar (without the bib) made with 5% spandex in the cotton fabric. I loved the fit so I copied the pants using linen fabric without the stretch, HUGE difference in fit! If you can find it, try stretch khaki, my second (3rd?) pair came out fantastic! Good Luck!
2/28/08 3:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116 dress
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 7/19/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6084 Two Hour Top
photo
Review by KatieA on 10/21/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us