SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8409 (Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1226 times 
Reviewed by:emo
photo

 
 
About emostar
IL USA
Member since: 8/27/07
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/08 1:52 PM
Last Updated:2/2/08 1:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very elegant dress, in spite of the sleeve issues you had. Wonderful job. If you are not short-waisted and you like the style, you might try making a shrug to go with it. That would help on those cold winter days.
2/7/08 12:09 PM
edupraz said...
Pretty dress! I think you could wear it as a jumper since it's sleeveless, with maybe a long-sleeved turtleneck underneath?
2/4/08 12:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
This dress looks fabulous on you! And yes, lining will eliminate those facings you don't like. The Connie Long book recommende by Nancywin is a good one. -Lily
2/3/08 7:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Alluring and lovely dress!
2/3/08 1:19 PM
Huldra said...
There is no such thing as too much brown! Anyway, you can wear it with a cardigan, or over a turtleneck and you have a winter dress.
2/3/08 1:12 PM
barb111 said...
The dress looks great ! The fabric choice brings out the dress good job I agree with up about the facings.
2/3/08 6:25 AM
Nancywin said...
Your dress looks great. I love it. If you can get a copy of Connie Longs "Easy Guide to Linings" it is a great resource that tells you how to line things that do not come with a lining pattern.
2/3/08 1:18 AM
emo said...
The turtleneck is not a bad idea -- more like a jumper then -- I'll have to try that!
2/2/08 3:38 PM
Marji said...
It's lovely. This is on my short list of dresses to make yet for this winter, and I really appreciate your review. Maybe you could wear a turtleneck under it for warmth?
2/2/08 3:03 PM
CynthiaSue said...
hot! love the brown wool like fabric!
2/2/08 2:54 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty dress! (I was thinking last night that I needed to make a "little brown dress"--now I know that I will!)
2/2/08 2:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

More Info