Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 550 (Cowl Neck Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1344 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Karen W.
photo
About Karen W.star
CA USA
Member since: 8/31/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/03 11:55 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Thanks for the very helpful review. That's too bad about the sleeves--the picture on the web site looks so nice. Maybe you could substitute sleeves from another pattern you like.
5/2/03 0:32 AM
Elona said...
Karen, I don't have this pattern yet (been on the fence about it). It would make sense to cut wovens on the bias for the front of this design, but having you cut knits on the bias strikes me as weird. I mean, what's the point? Knits usually do that drape thing by themselves, and don't often need any help. Excellent warning on the sleeve, because in the illustrations, it sure looks narrow! d
5/2/03 3:20 AM
KathleenS said...
I was just about to say exactly the same as Elona before I saw her comment! - why cut knits on the bias? I made a knit top with a neckline like this (New Look 6154) recently - I recommend it - and it also has slight modesty problems when bending over - I think it's unavoidable to have at least a bit of that in this kind of design because of the looseness of the front neckline.
5/2/03 7:07 AM
Karen W. said...
Maybe I'll use a cheap test knit NOT cut on bias... as noted pattern recommends virtually any knit/woven and doesn't differentiate between layouts for one vs. the other... but then I've had knits that are far "firmer" and less drapey than others. Wish I'd thought of this before using my red ribbon knit!
5/2/03 12:54 PM
Susan Parker said...
I asked Peggy about cutting the front on the bias with a knit and she told me it wasn't necessary as the knit is stretchy. I have made this top but I'm going to take the sleeve off as I'd prefer it as a sleeveless. The neck was a little wide for my tastes but I should have checked the width on the back neckline before I "went for it". Let us know how your next one turns out!
5/2/03 2:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Like Susan, I called Peggy and asked about putting knits on the bias. She indicated that knits don't have a bias, but the stretch of bias is inherent in the knit. So, I went ahead and made this top in a knit on the straight fold. I believe that the shoulder seam is narrow, but the neck opening is wide. Based on other reviews, I raised the neck at center back. The back fits beautifully. My sleeves/armholes fit really strange in the front, however. I think it is a function of the cowl, but I'm not quite sure how. I was, however, using the W sizing with a C-cup. I'm glad you think this pattern is worth trying again. I don't. - Sherril
5/3/03 10:12 PM
AnneM said...
Thank you so much for this review & for all of the comments. I was looking at this for DM, & after reading this I realize that it isn't appropriate for her at all. I might be interested in trying it for myself, but definitely not for DM.
8/21/03 10:14 AM
Drew's Mom said...
I wish I had read this review and comments before cutting out my blouse yesterday. I went against my entire philosophy and made up the blouse based on the pattern instructions for measuring without doing a muslin first. Now that it is sewn together, I'm racking my brain to come up with a fix so the blouse is wearable. First of all, it is huge! I'm planning to cut a center back seam and take some of the ease out of the back. If I decide I need princess seams, I'll add them to the front. You ladies are right - the shoulders are very narrow and my bra straps show. So, I think I'll add a couple of "training straps" to the shoulders in a contrasting color, which I'm hoping will look like there's a tank underneath. I also felt the top was too short, so once again, I'm planning to add a band to the bottom in the same fabric as the shoulder insert. The next time I want a cowl neck top, I'll use my basic tee shirt pattern, cut on the bias, with the neckline altered a la Helen Armstrong's book.
10/5/03 10:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I wish I had thought to read a review here before attempting this pattern. I like you found that the pattern photo and the actual blouse is not the same. I am 5'3" also and though I found the length okay, the neck was wide like you indicated. I am searching for another top as I like the cowl neck but this one just does not fit me well.
11/30/03 4:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Hibiscus Shirt Hibiscus Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 6971 Pattern
Burda 6971 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brussels Skirt
Brussels Skirt

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by norie crea... on 4/21/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us