SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Plaza Jacket (Plaza Jacket)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1091 times 
Reviewed by:Karen W.
photo

 
 
About Karen W.star
CA USA
Member since: 8/31/02
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 8)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/03 0:42 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said... (5/5/03 10:55 AM) Reply
I made this in a textural wool with a small plaid, with minimal drape, but otherwise soft. I think it's fine even so--the geometry of the pattern is more obvious since there's less free-form draping. I am small-busted and found that the jacket is still quite short in front and back (I'm 5'6" and it hits right about at my waist), so if you're full-busted, adding length might be wise to provide coverage and additional drape. Here's one thing I did discover when wearing this jacket during the late spring rains: the extreme width makes it hard to fit under a coat: the sides have to get bunched up under your arms. In my fabric, this was bulky and felt weird. If you use a fabric that wrinkles, you'll likely end up with some not-so-great crushed areas on the sides. Nonetheless, i think this would be terrific as a summer coverup to wear over dresses and little tops when the air conditioning is too strong. Also, the back neck construction is mighty nice.
Karen W. said... (5/2/03 5:18 PM) Reply
I am going to have to do some teenage bribing to get my son - the only one in the house who knows how to get a digital photo to the computer - to help me with photos! Then I've got to learn how to get them on to PR! I think a boucle would be fine... if it's a suiting style it may be a bit thick and not too drapey, a knit would probably be like wearing a blanket!
SandraC said... (5/2/03 3:14 PM) Reply
Great review Karen. I made this also and think it has endless possibilities. I did lengthen the front mainly do compensate for my "bust lift" I am a D cup so you can imagine why I did this. Since it is only rectangles this adjustment was very easy to do.
jlg said... (5/2/03 2:59 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. You make this very tempting. Any chance for a photo?
CatherineN said... (5/2/03 2:27 AM) Reply
Do you think it could be made longer in the front and back? I'm taller than average. Would a boucle work for this? Thanks for your comments.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Pattern Details