SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Plaza Jacket (Plaza Jacket)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1090 times 
Reviewed by:Karen W.
photo

 
 
About Karen W.star
CA USA
Member since: 8/31/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/03 0:42 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
Do you think it could be made longer in the front and back? I'm taller than average. Would a boucle work for this? Thanks for your comments.
5/2/03 2:27 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for the review. You make this very tempting. Any chance for a photo?
5/2/03 2:59 PM
SandraC said...
Great review Karen. I made this also and think it has endless possibilities. I did lengthen the front mainly do compensate for my "bust lift" I am a D cup so you can imagine why I did this. Since it is only rectangles this adjustment was very easy to do.
5/2/03 3:14 PM
Karen W. said...
I am going to have to do some teenage bribing to get my son - the only one in the house who knows how to get a digital photo to the computer - to help me with photos! Then I've got to learn how to get them on to PR! I think a boucle would be fine... if it's a suiting style it may be a bit thick and not too drapey, a knit would probably be like wearing a blanket!
5/2/03 5:18 PM
Skymom said...
I made this in a textural wool with a small plaid, with minimal drape, but otherwise soft. I think it's fine even so--the geometry of the pattern is more obvious since there's less free-form draping. I am small-busted and found that the jacket is still quite short in front and back (I'm 5'6" and it hits right about at my waist), so if you're full-busted, adding length might be wise to provide coverage and additional drape. Here's one thing I did discover when wearing this jacket during the late spring rains: the extreme width makes it hard to fit under a coat: the sides have to get bunched up under your arms. In my fabric, this was bulky and felt weird. If you use a fabric that wrinkles, you'll likely end up with some not-so-great crushed areas on the sides. Nonetheless, i think this would be terrific as a summer coverup to wear over dresses and little tops when the air conditioning is too strong. Also, the back neck construction is mighty nice.
5/5/03 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-134

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now