SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Plaza Jacket (Plaza Jacket)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1090 times 
Reviewed by:Karen W.
photo

 
 
About Karen W.star
CA USA
Member since: 8/31/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/03 0:42 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
Do you think it could be made longer in the front and back? I'm taller than average. Would a boucle work for this? Thanks for your comments.
5/2/03 2:27 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for the review. You make this very tempting. Any chance for a photo?
5/2/03 2:59 PM
SandraC said...
Great review Karen. I made this also and think it has endless possibilities. I did lengthen the front mainly do compensate for my "bust lift" I am a D cup so you can imagine why I did this. Since it is only rectangles this adjustment was very easy to do.
5/2/03 3:14 PM
Karen W. said...
I am going to have to do some teenage bribing to get my son - the only one in the house who knows how to get a digital photo to the computer - to help me with photos! Then I've got to learn how to get them on to PR! I think a boucle would be fine... if it's a suiting style it may be a bit thick and not too drapey, a knit would probably be like wearing a blanket!
5/2/03 5:18 PM
Skymom said...
I made this in a textural wool with a small plaid, with minimal drape, but otherwise soft. I think it's fine even so--the geometry of the pattern is more obvious since there's less free-form draping. I am small-busted and found that the jacket is still quite short in front and back (I'm 5'6" and it hits right about at my waist), so if you're full-busted, adding length might be wise to provide coverage and additional drape. Here's one thing I did discover when wearing this jacket during the late spring rains: the extreme width makes it hard to fit under a coat: the sides have to get bunched up under your arms. In my fabric, this was bulky and felt weird. If you use a fabric that wrinkles, you'll likely end up with some not-so-great crushed areas on the sides. Nonetheless, i think this would be terrific as a summer coverup to wear over dresses and little tops when the air conditioning is too strong. Also, the back neck construction is mighty nice.
5/5/03 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 97642-1000

photo
by: lynne1nor

Review
McCall's 6078

photo
by: thestitche...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now