SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4665 (Princess seam coat)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1183 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/08 3:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LorelleD said...
Your coat looks very warm and comfortable. I like the colour of the coat and the lining.
2/5/08 4:30 PM
frame said...
What a fun surprise your lining is! Cute coat.
2/5/08 4:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute coat. I love the lining!
2/5/08 4:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great coat. I like the potential for different fabrics with this, and of course, I like your very "different" lining.
2/5/08 4:51 PM
Athene said...
Very nice and cosy coat. The color is so great on you.
2/5/08 5:01 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the review on your cozy and upbeat coat! Great idea, lining corduroy with fleece.
2/5/08 5:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
First of all, what a great tip to reinforce with strong selvages any in-seam pockets that will receive a lot of use. It's a really good shade of green for your coloring, and your lining is exciting. The shape is flattering, too. -Lily
2/5/08 5:43 PM
didda said...
very nice coat. that is such a pretty color on you.
2/5/08 8:06 PM
Nancywin said...
Another winner. I guess you'll be stylin around town as the best-coated woman these days!
2/5/08 8:34 PM
Jodi B. said...
Cute coat! I like the color on you a lot.
2/5/08 9:10 PM
cindy-lou said...
TOTALLY love the lining! You're helping me get over my fear of jackets-- and I'm bookmarking your reviews to use the tips later. :)
2/6/08 7:42 AM
cindyann said...
Great coat. Lovely color! The fun fleece is a really inspired addition.
2/6/08 7:53 AM
marjenann said...
Fun and fabulous!! What a great coat!
2/6/08 8:03 AM
Amy J said...
your coat is darling...and thank you for the review. I think I have this pattern.
2/6/08 8:56 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
What a great coat - you always do the most stylish things!
2/6/08 11:33 AM
Soliel said...
I always like your reviews because for one thing, you take pictures of you wearing the item and we can see the item clearly. Also, you have a good sense of fabric and style.
2/6/08 11:56 AM
cecelia said...
I love it, and the lining is so unexpected. Good point about easing corduroy in the sleeve--thanks, since I'm about to do that.
2/6/08 12:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Throw-away project? No way! Not with that teal fabric, and you looking so good in it. :o) I especially like your pockets, and learned something with the tip about adding the selvege strips for stability. I think pockets like that just FEEL so much more natural when you're using them, as opposed to patch or side-seam pockets. (Same reason I like welt pockets on pants instead of side-seam pockets.) Beautiful coat!
2/6/08 6:26 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, another great addition to your coats. That color is wonderful for you.
2/7/08 2:07 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great tip about reinforcing the pocket bag, I've got to remember that! It looks really nice and warm, too. :)
2/7/08 6:20 AM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the compliments, everyone! This shade of teal is probably my favorite color to wear.
2/8/08 10:49 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a cute coat! I was eyeing this pattern but wanted to check for reviews before purchasing. I love the classic lines a lot.
6/7/08 8:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 5555

photo
by: busybee cr...

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now