SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4665 (Princess seam coat)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1186 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/08 3:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
What a cute coat! I was eyeing this pattern but wanted to check for reviews before purchasing. I love the classic lines a lot.
6/7/08 8:32 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the compliments, everyone! This shade of teal is probably my favorite color to wear.
2/8/08 10:49 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great tip about reinforcing the pocket bag, I've got to remember that! It looks really nice and warm, too. :)
2/7/08 6:20 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, another great addition to your coats. That color is wonderful for you.
2/7/08 2:07 AM
Annette1 said...
Throw-away project? No way! Not with that teal fabric, and you looking so good in it. :o) I especially like your pockets, and learned something with the tip about adding the selvege strips for stability. I think pockets like that just FEEL so much more natural when you're using them, as opposed to patch or side-seam pockets. (Same reason I like welt pockets on pants instead of side-seam pockets.) Beautiful coat!
2/6/08 6:26 PM
cecelia said...
I love it, and the lining is so unexpected. Good point about easing corduroy in the sleeve--thanks, since I'm about to do that.
2/6/08 12:11 PM
Soliel said...
I always like your reviews because for one thing, you take pictures of you wearing the item and we can see the item clearly. Also, you have a good sense of fabric and style.
2/6/08 11:56 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
What a great coat - you always do the most stylish things!
2/6/08 11:33 AM
Amy J said...
your coat is darling...and thank you for the review. I think I have this pattern.
2/6/08 8:56 AM
marjenann said...
Fun and fabulous!! What a great coat!
2/6/08 8:03 AM
cindyann said...
Great coat. Lovely color! The fun fleece is a really inspired addition.
2/6/08 7:53 AM
cindy-lou said...
TOTALLY love the lining! You're helping me get over my fear of jackets-- and I'm bookmarking your reviews to use the tips later. :)
2/6/08 7:42 AM
Jodi B. said...
Cute coat! I like the color on you a lot.
2/5/08 9:10 PM
Nancywin said...
Another winner. I guess you'll be stylin around town as the best-coated woman these days!
2/5/08 8:34 PM
didda said...
very nice coat. that is such a pretty color on you.
2/5/08 8:06 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
First of all, what a great tip to reinforce with strong selvages any in-seam pockets that will receive a lot of use. It's a really good shade of green for your coloring, and your lining is exciting. The shape is flattering, too. -Lily
2/5/08 5:43 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the review on your cozy and upbeat coat! Great idea, lining corduroy with fleece.
2/5/08 5:19 PM
Athene said...
Very nice and cosy coat. The color is so great on you.
2/5/08 5:01 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great coat. I like the potential for different fabrics with this, and of course, I like your very "different" lining.
2/5/08 4:51 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute coat. I love the lining!
2/5/08 4:51 PM
frame said...
What a fun surprise your lining is! Cute coat.
2/5/08 4:36 PM
LorelleD said...
Your coat looks very warm and comfortable. I like the colour of the coat and the lining.
2/5/08 4:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
New Look 6119

photo
by: slmstyle

Review