SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3161 

10 more reviews
Viewed 3225 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/03 5:20 PM
Last Updated:5/21/05 4:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Leslie, your top is just gorgeous! What a great combination of pattern and fabric.
5/2/03 6:26 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice! I may just have to get this one...;)
5/2/03 7:15 PM
Karen Bowers said...
thx for the review; i'll put it on my wishlist!!
5/2/03 8:47 PM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I would never have bought this pattern from the envelope drawing, but yours looks fabulous.
5/2/03 9:11 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great top. I have just the fabric for this pattern. Thanks for the idea.
5/2/03 9:57 PM
katharin said...
Thank you for the review, your top looks really professionally made.
5/3/03 0:12 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
What a great fabric choice! It has that "designer" look.
5/3/03 0:22 AM
Lori V said...
Leslie, beautiful top, I love the fabric
5/3/03 0:43 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thanks everyone for the nice notes. I'm so pleased with how the blouse turned out. As a beginner, I'm especially proud of the beautiful, perfect french seams. Not a raw edge anywhere. I'm tempted to wear it inside out just to show them off! As for its "designer look"--it's more like an "interior designer" look, as I'm certain that home decor fabric was intended for curtains. ;-)
5/3/03 12:48 PM
alex said...
Beatiful top Leslie, you have a real knack with fabric choices. Too bad it's too late for the Spring outfit contest, it would have made a great entry!
5/3/03 2:52 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Great job Leslie, don't you just love that "curtain" fabric w/ all the great details, very professional job!
5/3/03 3:01 PM
Deepika said...
I can't tell you how great your top looks! I agree with others, the photo on the envelope is not inspring at all. Your top is smashing... French seams are not too time consuming?
5/3/03 9:15 PM
Dale C said...
Lovely top! That sheer over the white cami is a nice look!
5/3/03 9:27 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your top looks so much more attractive than the pattern envelope! Very pretty, and perfect for summer! It looks to me like you might be moving quickly past being a beginner.
5/4/03 0:41 AM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
very cool, Leslie...that looks wonderful! I'm dying to try something chiffony or voile-y to try out french seams myself, but I haven't found the right pattern yet - if only this one came in plus sizes! *grin*
5/4/03 4:40 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Leslie, see how much this site helps us all! Now I will consider fabric like this instead of passing it by. Thanks for the review.
5/4/03 12:13 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Beautiful top! You have a wonderful eye for fabric. And why not curtain fabric for a top? I once met a HS girl in a Hancock's who was enthusing about the home dec silks she had used to sew her prom dress!
5/7/03 6:06 AM
Shoiley said...
I am almost done View A of this top. I am very inexperienced, so I don't know what is meant by the last instruction of "overcast bottom edge of top." Do I fold the bottom under 1/8" and overcast? And then I'm supposed to fold a 3/8" hem, press, pin, stitch; but there is a lot of curve, so how can I do this without creases? Thanks...
6/22/03 9:17 PM
cynthia w said...
this shirt is straight out what i see in the j.jill catalogue. so feminine and lovely.
6/18/04 9:32 PM
Hilary said...
Cute, Leslile! I *love* this pattern! I've been meaning to make it up in a ss version with some burnt orange gauze I have(I hope I have enough). Have fun at the pool party-sounds so cool and refreshing, in this hot, still weather!
5/21/05 4:26 PM
alicia said...
I love both versions... and have to admit I'm a bit jealous at the thought of a pool party - black fly season is just in full swing in the Adirondacks and we may hit 60F today... Great review, thanks for the detailed info!
5/21/05 4:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
The organdy top is fabulous -- just perfect for this pattern. And your new coverup will be perfect for the pool party
5/21/05 4:52 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Nice brown! Was it perfect for the party?
5/22/05 9:48 AM
Maychi said...
You look fabulous Leslie! Both of the tops are gorgeous.
5/22/05 11:37 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Just fantastic! Both tops are wonderful on you!!
5/22/05 6:26 PM
spudd said...
this pattern is what i had been looking for because I needed a top that lends itself to almost any patterned fabric. thanks. I live your tunic you did a great job.
1/29/07 1:26 PM
Big Dog said...
Oh-My-God, gorgeous top Leslie. That fabric is just perfect for the pattern. I love the technique for finishing the edges.
3/22/08 8:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

New Look 6125

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
Butterick 5811

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now