Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3161 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3215 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/03 5:20 PM
Last Updated:5/21/05 4:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Leslie, your top is just gorgeous! What a great combination of pattern and fabric.
5/2/03 6:26 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very nice! I may just have to get this one...;)
5/2/03 7:15 PM
Karen Bowers said...
thx for the review; i'll put it on my wishlist!!
5/2/03 8:47 PM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I would never have bought this pattern from the envelope drawing, but yours looks fabulous.
5/2/03 9:11 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great top. I have just the fabric for this pattern. Thanks for the idea.
5/2/03 9:57 PM
katharin said...
Thank you for the review, your top looks really professionally made.
5/3/03 0:12 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
What a great fabric choice! It has that "designer" look.
5/3/03 0:22 AM
Lori V said...
Leslie, beautiful top, I love the fabric
5/3/03 0:43 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thanks everyone for the nice notes. I'm so pleased with how the blouse turned out. As a beginner, I'm especially proud of the beautiful, perfect french seams. Not a raw edge anywhere. I'm tempted to wear it inside out just to show them off! As for its "designer look"--it's more like an "interior designer" look, as I'm certain that home decor fabric was intended for curtains. ;-)
5/3/03 12:48 PM
alex said...
Beatiful top Leslie, you have a real knack with fabric choices. Too bad it's too late for the Spring outfit contest, it would have made a great entry!
5/3/03 2:52 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Great job Leslie, don't you just love that "curtain" fabric w/ all the great details, very professional job!
5/3/03 3:01 PM
Deepika said...
I can't tell you how great your top looks! I agree with others, the photo on the envelope is not inspring at all. Your top is smashing... French seams are not too time consuming?
5/3/03 9:15 PM
Dale C said...
Lovely top! That sheer over the white cami is a nice look!
5/3/03 9:27 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your top looks so much more attractive than the pattern envelope! Very pretty, and perfect for summer! It looks to me like you might be moving quickly past being a beginner.
5/4/03 0:41 AM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
very cool, Leslie...that looks wonderful! I'm dying to try something chiffony or voile-y to try out french seams myself, but I haven't found the right pattern yet - if only this one came in plus sizes! *grin*
5/4/03 4:40 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Leslie, see how much this site helps us all! Now I will consider fabric like this instead of passing it by. Thanks for the review.
5/4/03 12:13 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Beautiful top! You have a wonderful eye for fabric. And why not curtain fabric for a top? I once met a HS girl in a Hancock's who was enthusing about the home dec silks she had used to sew her prom dress!
5/7/03 6:06 AM
Shoiley said...
I am almost done View A of this top. I am very inexperienced, so I don't know what is meant by the last instruction of "overcast bottom edge of top." Do I fold the bottom under 1/8" and overcast? And then I'm supposed to fold a 3/8" hem, press, pin, stitch; but there is a lot of curve, so how can I do this without creases? Thanks...
6/22/03 9:17 PM
cynthia w said...
this shirt is straight out what i see in the j.jill catalogue. so feminine and lovely.
6/18/04 9:32 PM
Hilary said...
Cute, Leslile! I *love* this pattern! I've been meaning to make it up in a ss version with some burnt orange gauze I have(I hope I have enough). Have fun at the pool party-sounds so cool and refreshing, in this hot, still weather!
5/21/05 4:26 PM
alicia said...
I love both versions... and have to admit I'm a bit jealous at the thought of a pool party - black fly season is just in full swing in the Adirondacks and we may hit 60F today... Great review, thanks for the detailed info!
5/21/05 4:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
The organdy top is fabulous -- just perfect for this pattern. And your new coverup will be perfect for the pool party
5/21/05 4:52 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Nice brown! Was it perfect for the party?
5/22/05 9:48 AM
Maychi said...
You look fabulous Leslie! Both of the tops are gorgeous.
5/22/05 11:37 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Just fantastic! Both tops are wonderful on you!!
5/22/05 6:26 PM
spudd said...
this pattern is what i had been looking for because I needed a top that lends itself to almost any patterned fabric. thanks. I live your tunic you did a great job.
1/29/07 1:26 PM
Big Dog said...
Oh-My-God, gorgeous top Leslie. That fabric is just perfect for the pattern. I love the technique for finishing the edges.
3/22/08 8:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Dos de Tejas 5023
photo
Review by petra on 8/9/04
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 00015
photo
Review by cloudyhn on 11/10/10
Read Review

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us