Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4343 (Lined Dress) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 854 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:LauraByrnes
photo
About LauraByrnes
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/06
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/08 8:40 PM
Last Updated:2/6/08 9:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kimmielovesparis said...
Very elegant! I love it.
2/6/08 9:12 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your dress is very chic and perfect for a singing performance. A quick nod to some of your problems: hand sewn lining around the arm area is very desirable and upscale and your hand stitches will get more skilled w/practice; try reinforcing your zipper area before installing zipper as velvet is a bit fragile and when very snug, can separate from the zipper tape; unsure about your slit. Despite these problems, your dress is gorgeous. -Lily
2/6/08 9:39 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, a perfect New Year's Eve dress.
2/6/08 11:07 PM
avancleve said...
It is a very elegant dress. I know how how it feels to have to rush making something. I always have troubles with even simple garments when I have to make them quickly. It looks great.
2/7/08 10:19 AM
squilts said...
Very classy. I am sure you will try this pattern again...each time it will get easier!
2/7/08 12:42 PM
LauraByrnes said...
Thanks so much!!! And Lily, thank you for these tips...I'll definitely keep these mind, when I make this dress again. And I WILL make this dress again!
2/7/08 2:08 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautifully simple and elegant.
2/7/08 3:31 PM
Matilda M said...
Lovely! I use the 3 second, 3 feet rule for my little mistakes: if you can't see it from 3 feet withing 3 seconds, it doesn't count as a problem. Pattern companies are fast and loose with that "fast and easy" label! I've found anything that is described as "fitted" and anything that is lined and anything that is in tricky fabric is NOT fast and easy!
11/2/10 8:10 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty, I have to agree with you on the instructions. Just made one and I thought they were some of the worse instructions I've seen in a pattern. You did an amazing job, because of the instructions it doesn't go together that easy... :-) I have to say, love the fit after it is done!
11/16/11 11:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Self Drafted Pattern 226262-1006
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/17/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6607
photo
Review by JGillentin... on 11/9/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8885 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us