SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4343 (Lined Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 869 times 
Reviewed by:LauraByrnes
photo

 
 
About LauraByrnes
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/06
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/08 8:40 PM
Last Updated:2/6/08 9:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kimmielovesparis said...
Very elegant! I love it.
2/6/08 9:12 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your dress is very chic and perfect for a singing performance. A quick nod to some of your problems: hand sewn lining around the arm area is very desirable and upscale and your hand stitches will get more skilled w/practice; try reinforcing your zipper area before installing zipper as velvet is a bit fragile and when very snug, can separate from the zipper tape; unsure about your slit. Despite these problems, your dress is gorgeous. -Lily
2/6/08 9:39 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, a perfect New Year's Eve dress.
2/6/08 11:07 PM
avancleve said...
It is a very elegant dress. I know how how it feels to have to rush making something. I always have troubles with even simple garments when I have to make them quickly. It looks great.
2/7/08 10:19 AM
squilts said...
Very classy. I am sure you will try this pattern again...each time it will get easier!
2/7/08 12:42 PM
LauraByrnes said...
Thanks so much!!! And Lily, thank you for these tips...I'll definitely keep these mind, when I make this dress again. And I WILL make this dress again!
2/7/08 2:08 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautifully simple and elegant.
2/7/08 3:31 PM
Matilda M said...
Lovely! I use the 3 second, 3 feet rule for my little mistakes: if you can't see it from 3 feet withing 3 seconds, it doesn't count as a problem. Pattern companies are fast and loose with that "fast and easy" label! I've found anything that is described as "fitted" and anything that is lined and anything that is in tricky fabric is NOT fast and easy!
11/2/10 8:10 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty, I have to agree with you on the instructions. Just made one and I thought they were some of the worse instructions I've seen in a pattern. You did an amazing job, because of the instructions it doesn't go together that easy... :-) I have to say, love the fit after it is done!
11/16/11 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Kwik Sew 3089

photo
by: vchan38

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now