Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2956 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 992 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:mahalosu
photo
About mahalosustar
CA USA
Member since: 9/8/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/08 10:24 AM
Last Updated:2/7/08 11:16 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
I love your jacket and your review is so timely as I am about to make the same jacket - like you am not sure I want such big buttons. The other photos you have on the review are not coming through - I would love to see the back.
2/7/08 11:19 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Stunning. Your wonderful fabric shows off those design details beautifully.
2/7/08 11:21 AM
mahalosu said...
Clin, try again. I think I just fixed the photos
2/7/08 11:25 AM
mahalosu said...
Clin, try again. I think I just fixed the photos
2/7/08 11:26 AM
mahalosu said...
by the way, as you can see from the back photo, I was having a really bad hair day.
2/7/08 11:27 AM
Mermie said...
Gorgeous jacket. The fabric is lovely.
2/7/08 11:32 AM
Diane E said...
What a lovely jacket! Love the pleats in the back.
2/7/08 12:04 PM
j222b said...
I've seen RTW buttons with no buttonholes and large snaps for the jacket or coat close. Love your jacket!
2/7/08 12:09 PM
Re Becca said...
"I want one too!" I saw this fabric and loved it but I couldn't think of what to do with it. I love you jacket. As for the buttons, I would practice on scraps, double thickness with the appropriate interfacing. You will probably be suprised at how good the second or third button hole works out, but I would practice first. OR, you could completely chicken out and put in snaps, as long ans you plan on always buttoning it.
2/7/08 12:10 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I agree with j222b. Put giant snaps for your closure and then sew the big buttons on. I have done this myself and, if you have studies RTW, this method is pretty hot right now. Jacket is fabulous.
2/7/08 12:44 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket! You look great in it!
2/7/08 1:22 PM
frame said...
Your jacket is lovely. Love the pleats!
2/7/08 1:28 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, the pleats in the back are a wonderful design detail.
2/7/08 1:33 PM
PegL said...
Gorgeous jacket! I agree about using large snaps and sewing the buttons on the outside for looks.
2/7/08 1:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just another admirer of your well fitted and elegant jacket. Your fabric is stunning and so well suited to that style. Love the buttons and agree w/ snaps for closure and sew buttons on front, as this also gives you freedom to change size and style of buttons, if desired. -Lily
2/7/08 3:00 PM
Sigrid. said...
How elegant, really surprise those pleats in the back. And that fabric is beautiful.
2/7/08 3:48 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I love this jacket!! I had been looking and drooling over the same fabric! What a great idea to take it to the dry cleaners to have him press the pleats! Big ole snaps are the way to go for closing it..
2/7/08 5:27 PM
Linda G said...
Your jacket is stunning...I would cover snap for the closures and then sew the buttons like you did.
2/7/08 6:26 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful jacket!! It looks really classy on you.
2/7/08 6:35 PM
mahalosu said...
Thanks for all the great comments. I have to say, the fabric is even better in real life. And I guess snaps are the way to go. Makes it so much easier too!
2/7/08 6:48 PM
CShelley said...
Wow! I'm loving that jacket, especially the back. So pretty.
2/7/08 7:17 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks - got the photo of the back - I just love your jacket and can't wait to get started on mine. Am hoping it will look as nice as yours!!
2/7/08 7:18 PM
mahalosu said...
Thanks for all the great comments. I have to say, the fabric is even better in real life. And I guess snaps are the way to go. Makes it so much easier too!
2/7/08 8:13 PM
sarahb said...
I love it--and so smart to go to your drycleaner to get your pleats pressed! Good luck with the buttons.
2/8/08 8:31 AM
Grammy Gin said...
So flattering! You have a nice jacket to be very proud of sewing!!! ;-)
2/8/08 11:24 AM
jlg said...
What a great looking jacket. I bought this pattern because of your review. I wish that I had also gotten some of that fabric while it was available.
5/30/08 8:48 PM
Christas said...
I am getting ready to make this pattern and just read your review. I LOVE your version.....so very pretty!
1/18/09 11:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-11
photo
Review by Heatherbel... on 7/11/08
Read Review

Burda 7172 Pattern
Burda 7172 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6398 Pattern
New Look 6398 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5030
photo
Review by Luckylibbe... on 4/20/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us