SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2956 

2 more reviews
Viewed 994 times 
Reviewed by:mahalosu
photo

 
 
About mahalosustar
CA USA
Member since: 9/8/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/08 10:24 AM
Last Updated:2/7/08 11:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
I love your jacket and your review is so timely as I am about to make the same jacket - like you am not sure I want such big buttons. The other photos you have on the review are not coming through - I would love to see the back.
2/7/08 11:19 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Stunning. Your wonderful fabric shows off those design details beautifully.
2/7/08 11:21 AM
mahalosu said...
Clin, try again. I think I just fixed the photos
2/7/08 11:25 AM
mahalosu said...
Clin, try again. I think I just fixed the photos
2/7/08 11:26 AM
mahalosu said...
by the way, as you can see from the back photo, I was having a really bad hair day.
2/7/08 11:27 AM
Mermie said...
Gorgeous jacket. The fabric is lovely.
2/7/08 11:32 AM
Diane E said...
What a lovely jacket! Love the pleats in the back.
2/7/08 12:04 PM
j222b said...
I've seen RTW buttons with no buttonholes and large snaps for the jacket or coat close. Love your jacket!
2/7/08 12:09 PM
Re Becca said...
"I want one too!" I saw this fabric and loved it but I couldn't think of what to do with it. I love you jacket. As for the buttons, I would practice on scraps, double thickness with the appropriate interfacing. You will probably be suprised at how good the second or third button hole works out, but I would practice first. OR, you could completely chicken out and put in snaps, as long ans you plan on always buttoning it.
2/7/08 12:10 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I agree with j222b. Put giant snaps for your closure and then sew the big buttons on. I have done this myself and, if you have studies RTW, this method is pretty hot right now. Jacket is fabulous.
2/7/08 12:44 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket! You look great in it!
2/7/08 1:22 PM
frame said...
Your jacket is lovely. Love the pleats!
2/7/08 1:28 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, the pleats in the back are a wonderful design detail.
2/7/08 1:33 PM
PegL said...
Gorgeous jacket! I agree about using large snaps and sewing the buttons on the outside for looks.
2/7/08 1:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Just another admirer of your well fitted and elegant jacket. Your fabric is stunning and so well suited to that style. Love the buttons and agree w/ snaps for closure and sew buttons on front, as this also gives you freedom to change size and style of buttons, if desired. -Lily
2/7/08 3:00 PM
Sigrid. said...
How elegant, really surprise those pleats in the back. And that fabric is beautiful.
2/7/08 3:48 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I love this jacket!! I had been looking and drooling over the same fabric! What a great idea to take it to the dry cleaners to have him press the pleats! Big ole snaps are the way to go for closing it..
2/7/08 5:27 PM
Linda G said...
Your jacket is stunning...I would cover snap for the closures and then sew the buttons like you did.
2/7/08 6:26 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful jacket!! It looks really classy on you.
2/7/08 6:35 PM
mahalosu said...
Thanks for all the great comments. I have to say, the fabric is even better in real life. And I guess snaps are the way to go. Makes it so much easier too!
2/7/08 6:48 PM
CShelley said...
Wow! I'm loving that jacket, especially the back. So pretty.
2/7/08 7:17 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks - got the photo of the back - I just love your jacket and can't wait to get started on mine. Am hoping it will look as nice as yours!!
2/7/08 7:18 PM
mahalosu said...
Thanks for all the great comments. I have to say, the fabric is even better in real life. And I guess snaps are the way to go. Makes it so much easier too!
2/7/08 8:13 PM
sarahb said...
I love it--and so smart to go to your drycleaner to get your pleats pressed! Good luck with the buttons.
2/8/08 8:31 AM
Grammy Gin said...
So flattering! You have a nice jacket to be very proud of sewing!!! ;-)
2/8/08 11:24 AM
jlg said...
What a great looking jacket. I bought this pattern because of your review. I wish that I had also gotten some of that fabric while it was available.
5/30/08 8:48 PM
Christas said...
I am getting ready to make this pattern and just read your review. I LOVE your version.....so very pretty!
1/18/09 11:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now