SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2934 (Vintage Vogue Misses Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1201 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/08 5:00 PM
Last Updated:2/8/08 7:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lenarciak said...
Wow! Wonderful job! Great garment!
2/3/14 2:54 PM
gabc said...
Your jacket is so beautiful! Thank you so much for all these tips on the construction.
8/11/12 9:19 AM
cathy45 said...
I love it! It's so elegant and stylish (and your aqua gloves make it to die for!). Thank you for all the how-tos. Your work is always so inspiring.
2/10/08 5:16 PM
Grammy Gin said...
So beautiful Annette! The scarf & gloves really add a nice touch! I really love it & will keep it for reference when making a reversible jacket or coat... great review!! ;-)
2/10/08 4:38 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is utterly fabulous! With the gloves it's to die for :-).
2/10/08 7:22 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful jacket and a well-written review! I love the fact that you made the jacket reversible and that you chose your buttons to reflect the fabric on either side! Absolutely stunning!
2/9/08 4:03 PM
HeyJane said...
Wow extremely elegant. I love your button and loop ideas, and the trim. Thank you for informative review! P.S. I have silk retrieved from a deceased relative's house (still in a plastic box thank goodness) that was from Hong Kong, my husband brought back when he was in the navy. I do not want to admit how many years ago that was. whoa
2/9/08 3:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ah........I adore your jacket, Annette! Vintage, but so cutting edge! I appreciate you taking the time to share this with us and I will keep your review handy because of the cool techniques! Yeah!
2/9/08 11:20 AM
Jane S said...
What a wondeful, beautiful jacket. I saw that fabric at Fabric Mart and thought it was beautiful. And you took great advantage of such a unique fabric and turned it into something so special...two jackets!! Thanks for such an instructive review on making a reversible jacket as well.
2/9/08 9:11 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Your review is a sewing tutorial. I so appreciate all the effort and expertise you shared. I love you cape/jacket. It is beautiful.
2/9/08 8:22 AM
Fran G said...
Looks great, Annette..very elegant! Love the fabric!
2/9/08 7:33 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, just magnificent work as all your sewing is!!! I have such admiration for anyone who does a reversible garment because you have to get it just right and can't hide anything. I love what you've done with the buttons and loops. They look fantastic and the fabric is just perfect for this! Well done!
2/9/08 7:18 AM
Shrazzy said...
Darling jacket!
2/9/08 6:17 AM
rivergum said...
That is such a gorgeous jacket, Annette! I wish I had your talent.
2/9/08 3:20 AM
Athene said...
Lovely jacket - I especially like it being reversible.
2/9/08 1:10 AM
Athene said...
Lovely jacket - I especially like it being reversible.
2/9/08 1:09 AM
CharityAK said...
What a wonderfully detailed review! And it's just beautiful. It looks fantastic on you.
2/9/08 0:05 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous fabric (both sides) which you have transformed into a stunningly chic retro 40's cape/jacket. You look lovely. Wonderfully instructive review; thank you for sharing it with us. And Punkin knows a walkin' cape when he sees one. -Lily
2/8/08 11:52 PM
Annette1 said...
Allegro: I don't know. I was toying with the idea of making it longer somehow, but since I hadn't ever even made it in the first place, I thought, well, I'll just make it right out of the envelope (pretty much). I think it COULD be done (made into a coat), with a little thought, but you'd end up having to rework those sleeves completely, if you really wanted a true sleeve. I suppose in that case we could just start with a true coat pattern -- ha! I keep trying to put it on as if it WERE a coat, and when I sling it around to put my other arm in the "sleeve," my elbow goes in the sleeve instead. :o) (I love your name, by the way.)
2/8/08 10:43 PM
Mahler said...
Annette, this is an excellent review. The fabric, your reversible creation, your personnal touch , all of that combines to make a perfect garment. Superbe realy ! Three tumbs up.
2/8/08 10:28 PM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous!! I love what you've done with this one. Great review. I have a Vintage Vogue coat/jacket ready to cut. There is a contest later this year for the "oldest fabric". Somehow I don't think two years would even get an Honorable Mention.
2/8/08 10:16 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out beautifully. I love both sides of the fabric and your button choices as well. With the double layers of fabric, this should keep you nice and warm. It really is beautiful
2/8/08 10:10 PM
marjenann said...
What a classy, exquisite jacket! The details, the fabric, the style! Fabulicious! -Annette
2/8/08 10:03 PM
marjenann said...
What a classy, exquisite jacket! The details, the fabric, the style! Fabulicious! -Annette
2/8/08 10:03 PM
Kay Y said...
Just lovely - beautiful fabric! I can see why you wanted to use both sides of it.
2/8/08 9:36 PM
frankenpattern said...
Thank you for the review. You've made a beautiful jacket and it was very clever of you to make it reversible. Do you think that the pattern could be adapted into a coat?
2/8/08 9:21 PM
ryansmumAria said...
It is beautiful! Congratulations. I agree, it would look better much longer but you may not be able to do it due to the style. Just gorgeous.
2/8/08 8:08 PM
carolynw said...
Ooh la la Madame Annette - c'est tres bon - hey I don't know if that's correct French but I absoloutely love what you have done. You must have taken great care and time because it looks totally perfect - ever get tired of it - well you know who would want it don't you? Thanks for such a helpful review but one question - the pattern does not look like it has sleeves - are there really sleeves in it?
2/8/08 7:35 PM
frame said...
Your jacket is beautiful. You did a wonderful job. Great review.
2/8/08 7:31 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, that's a contest we could have: Who can make a winning garment from the OLDEST fabric in their stash. :o)
2/8/08 7:30 PM
Linda G said...
You did a wonderful job. I really like the fabric....two years that is nothing to be embarassed about!!! I don't think you will win the oldest stash contest if two years embarasses you ;-)
2/8/08 6:02 PM
said...
Oh how beautiful! Love it with the scarf!
2/8/08 5:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now