SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2787 (Womens Criss Cross Tops)

33 more reviews
Viewed 2113 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 160 people
patterns reviewed: 184
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/08 3:43 PM
Last Updated:5/4/08 3:37 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Maternity    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
trishapatk said...
Very Nice! It makes me want to scout out Jalie patterns. I like the color blocking idea too. Great job! Keep up the good work!
8/3/08 12:32 PM
Athene said...
Once again, a great top.
5/9/08 3:46 AM
EveS said...
I love both versions of this top! (Somehow I missed the first one.) This looks like a fabulous pattern that I'm just going to have to cave in and get. As always, great fabric, too!
5/6/08 4:21 PM
Twinset said...
Cute, cute, cute! Very nice choice of color for you, too! Great idea to use piping to define the geometrical shape of this top!
5/4/08 7:44 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautifully fitted top, Dawn, in a smashing fabric, and the white trim really pops the vibrancy of your chosen fabric. I agree that it will serve as the perfect cornerstone of your mini wardrobe. You look gorgeous in this! -Lily
5/4/08 6:05 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this. The tops look great on you. I've never tried Jalie, but this might be the pattern I start with.
5/4/08 3:59 PM
lmg said...
Lovely tops! I prefer piping myself..but the colour blocking might be neat. This is probably the ONLY Jalie I dont have (LOL). Looks like I will need to get this one too after seeing these lovely versions!
2/16/08 10:36 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
The versions you made look great. I see what you're going for with the black on the vine print, and it's edgy rather than classic. I say make it the way you really like it. If you want it to be edgy and unique, go for it. I think the print without piping looks very flattering, but it doesn't highlight the design. I agree with others that to highlight the wrap (in a classic way), use solids and piping. But, you definitely could go artsy with this and be very creative!
2/15/08 6:59 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great top on you - very flattering to your tiny slender frame. I like the black version with the white piping, rather than the colorblocks. Also the plain red with the print piping would look good. I thing the piping emphasizes the design very nicely and IMHO the colorblocking somewhat detracts from the great design overall.
2/15/08 10:37 AM
Lori V said...
Another winner, the piping just sets it off.
2/15/08 8:24 AM
Peggy L said...
Another great top!
2/15/08 6:03 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great top with the piping. Didn't see your mini-storyboard before, but what a great idea to explore the effects of what you have in mind. Excellent addition to your wardrobe too.
2/15/08 2:07 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
You've implemented your piping idea perfectly and produced a really exciting top. Love it! -Lily
2/15/08 0:49 AM
Peggym said...
I love your top. I have the pattern so I must set to. I like the red best followed by the wine and the brown. What great ideas you have.
2/12/08 5:18 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
You didn't mention this, but last picture in red looks like it has sequins or glitzy trim. This is my favorite; although, I like the piping, too.
2/11/08 12:53 PM
Maggie Cat said...
Your top is really cute. I like the solid color on one side. Or how about a solid color for the top with striped piping? All options look good. I hope you are better with decisions than I am. lol!!
2/10/08 10:21 AM
Rebecca D said...
I'm another vote for piping in white. It looks fresh and bright.
2/10/08 9:49 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice top! How great that it fit you so well. I vote for piping/binding the edges. This is a good example of how prints can disguise pattern seams/designs. If you really want to show off the style, you'll need to use a solid or piping. Colorblocking worked too, but I didn't like it as much. On the other hand busy print fabric is great for simple styles.
2/10/08 9:37 AM
j222b said...
I like the "crazy print all over."
2/10/08 7:28 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Adorable top - I *need* to pick up that pattern (and a few other Jalie too!).
2/10/08 0:16 AM
mary in FL said...
Your shirt is really nice, but I understand the frustration of the accidental alignments. Argh! I like your mini-storyboard, but what would it look like in all red except for the under-layer? or red with striped piping? or striped with red piping? Oh, the possibilities ... I love your reviews, so you will get all the blame for forcing me to try Jalie patterns ...
2/9/08 10:17 PM
Lori V said...
This is a beautiful top. I like the solid top on the storyboard.
2/9/08 9:00 PM
Dee2 said...
Love your top--you really look great! Nice idea to make the storyboard--I vote for white piping.
2/9/08 8:17 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a striking top; it looks great on your petite frame. Another vote for the piping, with a preference for white. Excellent review, too. -Lily
2/9/08 7:42 PM
SewLil said...
I vote for the piping too. Although it's probably disappointing that you can't see the cross element, I think it's kinda cool that you can't tell.
2/9/08 7:04 PM
Kay Y said...
This is funny - almost the first thought I had when I looked at your picture was "wow, what a terrific job she did matching that print!" I am not a fan of colour-blocking either so would vote for piping.
2/9/08 7:00 PM
cabinbaby said...
Okay, so I was hoping there would be a clear preference but you guys are split 2 color-blocking and 2 piping. And I'm not stuck on the white piping or red/brown colorblocking. Those are just what I though might work. A darker piping (wine or brown) might work too. Hmmmm. So many options.
2/9/08 6:19 PM
kathleenb said...
After your recent Jalie reviews, I'm inspired to try a couple new patterns. This top is a winner on you. My first impulse is a vote for the color blocking!
2/9/08 6:03 PM
LindsayT said...
Really nice job!
2/9/08 5:59 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow! The top looks great. Funny about the print lining up! It really is perfect! As far as your storyboard, it's a tough decision but I think I like the one with the white piping the best.
2/9/08 5:45 PM
Jodi B. said...
Beautiful top! I like the version with piping a lot better than with the colorblocking -- although I've never been much of a fan of colorblocking.
2/9/08 5:37 PM
Linda G said...
Wow, I like the ideas with the color blocking and the piping. Great top.
2/9/08 5:14 PM
ocotillo said...
I think the top you made looks fabulous. As far as making the criss-cross feature stand out, I prefer the solid color on one of the crosses, rather than the piping, although I think either looks great.
2/9/08 4:14 PM
boppingbeth said...
Beautiful--and wow--I am amazed at how those vines lined up!
2/9/08 3:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2899

photo
by: Sweetiebop

Review
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

More Info