SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4389 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

Viewed 874 times 
Reviewed by:causticmuse
photo

 
 
About causticmusestar
FL USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/08 9:39 AM
Last Updated:2/16/08 11:24 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Darling dress! Great job!
2/26/08 9:55 PM
Hilary said...
Very pretty!! It's so sophisticated yet not fussy-I love it! It looks far better than the pattern cover-thanks for all the tips!
2/20/08 8:03 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is really cute!!!! It looks soooooo nice!! Cool fabric.
2/17/08 6:32 PM
Sigrid. said...
That dress is very good on you. Nice work.
2/17/08 6:00 PM
Lanna said...
That dress is beautiful on you, great job on all parts, saving, and designing !
2/17/08 12:39 PM
Sic said...
Gorgeous! Thank you for the review!
2/17/08 10:05 AM
carolynw said...
You look lovely in this dress and I can quite understand why you love it - looks like very expensive RTW
2/17/08 8:58 AM
jlg said...
Very lovely.
2/17/08 6:18 AM
causticmuse said...
Nancywin - I cut the straps along the selvage of a satin scrap, and the satin doesn't stretch in that direction, so they are thankfully quite stable.
2/17/08 1:45 AM
causticmuse said...
Thanks for the comments, everyone! I just wished I'd actually finished this in January in time for the UFO contest. Procrastination and reluctance to tackle boning again after V2838 (another UFO that needs work) last year made me put it off until now. And then I wound up not even using boning anyway!
2/17/08 1:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress.
2/17/08 1:10 AM
Nancywin said...
You look fantastic in this dress! I love the satin under the chiffon, and the color combination is striking. The satin straps look much better than ribbon. If they tend to stretch (you said it was stretch satin) you can always tack ribbon underneath the straps where it won't be seen. You've done a wonderful job on this dress and it looks like you nailed the fit!
2/16/08 11:56 PM
Morisot said...
Smashing. Great fit.
2/16/08 11:49 PM
seaweed said...
Love it, love the fabric!
2/13/08 11:20 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a pretty dress and way to go on cost savings!
2/13/08 9:36 PM
the15th said...
Wow! I've been looking for a dress to wear to a wedding and this may be it.
2/13/08 2:29 PM
Shrazzy said...
Darling dress-no one could ever guess you made it from stash!
2/13/08 11:43 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Adorable!
2/13/08 9:00 AM
KathleenS said...
Gorgeous. I particularly like the chiffon but you also combined it really well with the satin.
2/13/08 3:55 AM
Laurasews said...
If you are still planning on spending nothing on RTW....RTW has nothing on you. A beautiful dress.. very current. Keep up the gorgeous work!
2/13/08 0:07 AM
Dei said...
This is a charming dress made more sophisticated by your excellent fabric choice and attention to detail. Well done.
2/12/08 8:20 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review of your charming and feminine chiffon over satin dress. This dress will be a hit no matter where you wear it. It's charming! - Lily
2/12/08 7:29 PM
Lori V said...
Cute dress.
2/12/08 5:12 PM
LindsayT said...
Love this gorgeous dress. Nice work!
2/12/08 1:50 PM
SueV said...
beautiful! nice review thanks for sharing
2/12/08 11:42 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Cool dress, and thanks for the info about skipping boning and info missing for beginners.
2/12/08 10:26 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very cute dress - enjoy wearing it!
2/12/08 10:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

More Info