SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4389 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

Viewed 874 times 
Reviewed by:causticmuse
photo

 
 
About causticmusestar
FL USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/08 9:39 AM
Last Updated:2/16/08 11:24 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very cute dress - enjoy wearing it!
2/12/08 10:25 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Cool dress, and thanks for the info about skipping boning and info missing for beginners.
2/12/08 10:26 AM
SueV said...
beautiful! nice review thanks for sharing
2/12/08 11:42 AM
LindsayT said...
Love this gorgeous dress. Nice work!
2/12/08 1:50 PM
Lori V said...
Cute dress.
2/12/08 5:12 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review of your charming and feminine chiffon over satin dress. This dress will be a hit no matter where you wear it. It's charming! - Lily
2/12/08 7:29 PM
Dei said...
This is a charming dress made more sophisticated by your excellent fabric choice and attention to detail. Well done.
2/12/08 8:20 PM
Laurasews said...
If you are still planning on spending nothing on RTW....RTW has nothing on you. A beautiful dress.. very current. Keep up the gorgeous work!
2/13/08 0:07 AM
KathleenS said...
Gorgeous. I particularly like the chiffon but you also combined it really well with the satin.
2/13/08 3:55 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Adorable!
2/13/08 9:00 AM
Shrazzy said...
Darling dress-no one could ever guess you made it from stash!
2/13/08 11:43 AM
the15th said...
Wow! I've been looking for a dress to wear to a wedding and this may be it.
2/13/08 2:29 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a pretty dress and way to go on cost savings!
2/13/08 9:36 PM
seaweed said...
Love it, love the fabric!
2/13/08 11:20 PM
Morisot said...
Smashing. Great fit.
2/16/08 11:49 PM
Nancywin said...
You look fantastic in this dress! I love the satin under the chiffon, and the color combination is striking. The satin straps look much better than ribbon. If they tend to stretch (you said it was stretch satin) you can always tack ribbon underneath the straps where it won't be seen. You've done a wonderful job on this dress and it looks like you nailed the fit!
2/16/08 11:56 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress.
2/17/08 1:10 AM
causticmuse said...
Thanks for the comments, everyone! I just wished I'd actually finished this in January in time for the UFO contest. Procrastination and reluctance to tackle boning again after V2838 (another UFO that needs work) last year made me put it off until now. And then I wound up not even using boning anyway!
2/17/08 1:44 AM
causticmuse said...
Nancywin - I cut the straps along the selvage of a satin scrap, and the satin doesn't stretch in that direction, so they are thankfully quite stable.
2/17/08 1:45 AM
jlg said...
Very lovely.
2/17/08 6:18 AM
carolynw said...
You look lovely in this dress and I can quite understand why you love it - looks like very expensive RTW
2/17/08 8:58 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous! Thank you for the review!
2/17/08 10:05 AM
Lanna said...
That dress is beautiful on you, great job on all parts, saving, and designing !
2/17/08 12:39 PM
Sigrid. said...
That dress is very good on you. Nice work.
2/17/08 6:00 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is really cute!!!! It looks soooooo nice!! Cool fabric.
2/17/08 6:32 PM
Hilary said...
Very pretty!! It's so sophisticated yet not fussy-I love it! It looks far better than the pattern cover-thanks for all the tips!
2/20/08 8:03 AM
Heatherrique said...
Darling dress! Great job!
2/26/08 9:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

New Look 6091

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7497

photo
by: chesneykat

Review