Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2925 (Jacket - Wardrobe Pattern) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1147 times 38 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:2/13/08 7:33 AM
Last Updated:4/20/08 8:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Very pretty jacket. It certainly does not have any appearance of being "home made". You did a wonderful job. Your review is full of lots of good information, especially the thoughts about appropriate fabirc. Thanks!
2/13/08 10:38 AM
Nancy Anne said...
After you get a jacket or two under your belt, you will feel much more confident about undertaking them! You may want to try something other than Vogue next time- they often seem to have sketchier instructions than other brands. Regardless, your jacket is beautiful- I'm impressed!
2/13/08 10:48 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
You did a beautiful job on this!
2/13/08 11:14 AM
Re Becca said...
Your hard work really paid off. I am sorry that you had trouble with the fabric, but it looks really polished. Very professional! Good job with the fit as well.
2/13/08 11:44 AM
mClones said...
Despite the problems you described, your finished jacket looks lovely on you. I'd shorten the sleeves just a tad to balance it a little better but that's a personal preference. Nice work!
2/13/08 10:19 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is gorgeous!! You did a terrific job with every little thing.
2/13/08 10:44 PM
seaweed said...
Nice job, it looks great on you. I've been wanting to make this one and I think you just gave me the push to do it.
2/13/08 10:58 PM
Peggy L said...
Your perseverance paid off on this jacket. It really looks very nice on you and I love your closures. I picked this up at the last Vogue sale so really appreciate your great review.
2/14/08 3:23 PM
Larkin said...
You've won! You wrestled with a bear and came out with a very nice jacket! Thanks for all of the review details. Enjoy!
2/15/08 10:21 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great job on your jacket. When armed with the right references and the right fabric the results can be stunning, as is your jacket. You should be very pleased with it.
4/20/08 10:20 AM
Barbara V said...
I am impressed with your focus to learn what was needed to improve and finish your jacket. It looks great on you. I plan to sew this pattern and your comments will be very helpful. I didn't know about the Stitcher's Guild. What a good resource. Thank you!
4/20/08 11:06 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Sounds like you've learned a lot between v 1 and v 2. You're right, it's a steep learning curve. I congratulate you on your fortitude! And v2 came out very nice. Don't be too hard on yourself as you go through this process!
4/20/08 12:49 PM
Robin Denning said...
Congratulations and kudos to you for even trying again after the first fabric was so difficult. I knew you had it in you to produce your 2nd version. I totally agree with your assessment that one must use tailoring techniques to get beautiful results. Very inspiring results!
4/20/08 2:17 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Congrats for taking this jacket on for the second time. I believe your results was worth it? Great outfit. You should be very proud.
4/20/08 3:04 PM
Athene said...
You put a lot of time and effort into this jacket and it shows. The fit and look of the jacket on you is really very nice.
4/20/08 7:28 PM
Sheila457 said...
You did a fabulous job on the jacket and it looks perfect. Thanks for the detail review.
4/20/08 7:43 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Yes there sure is a lot to learn to tailor a jacket. Yours looks great! Well done!!
4/20/08 11:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I disagree that you're at the bottom of the steep learning curve called tailoring. Your deep research and assistance from a fews pros puts you 'right in the mix.' You've met, in these two jackets, every obstacle you're likely to meet in any future jacket. Now just some repetitive practice and you're ready to meet the 'unknown' that any fitted, tailored jacket has in store for you. Superb journey, superb outcome. -Lily
4/21/08 2:07 PM
Kbenco said...
Thank you for your kind comments. I did enjoy making the second jacket a lot more than the first one, as I could see I had improved my sewing, always a great feeling.
4/22/08 8:46 AM
lyndle said...
Congratulations on your perseverance, the jacket looks fabulous now! well done!
7/1/09 10:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

StyleArc Peta Peta pants
photo
Review by newsewer20... on 3/9/12
Read Review

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1015 Violet
photo
Review by spankachut... on 9/11/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6706 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us