SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2925 (Jacket - Wardrobe Pattern)

38 more reviews
Viewed 1148 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 198
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:2/13/08 7:33 AM
Last Updated:4/20/08 8:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Congratulations on your perseverance, the jacket looks fabulous now! well done!
7/1/09 10:19 PM
Kbenco said...
Thank you for your kind comments. I did enjoy making the second jacket a lot more than the first one, as I could see I had improved my sewing, always a great feeling.
4/22/08 8:46 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I disagree that you're at the bottom of the steep learning curve called tailoring. Your deep research and assistance from a fews pros puts you 'right in the mix.' You've met, in these two jackets, every obstacle you're likely to meet in any future jacket. Now just some repetitive practice and you're ready to meet the 'unknown' that any fitted, tailored jacket has in store for you. Superb journey, superb outcome. -Lily
4/21/08 2:07 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Yes there sure is a lot to learn to tailor a jacket. Yours looks great! Well done!!
4/20/08 11:23 PM
Sheila457 said...
You did a fabulous job on the jacket and it looks perfect. Thanks for the detail review.
4/20/08 7:43 PM
Athene said...
You put a lot of time and effort into this jacket and it shows. The fit and look of the jacket on you is really very nice.
4/20/08 7:28 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Congrats for taking this jacket on for the second time. I believe your results was worth it? Great outfit. You should be very proud.
4/20/08 3:04 PM
Robin Denning said...
Congratulations and kudos to you for even trying again after the first fabric was so difficult. I knew you had it in you to produce your 2nd version. I totally agree with your assessment that one must use tailoring techniques to get beautiful results. Very inspiring results!
4/20/08 2:17 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Sounds like you've learned a lot between v 1 and v 2. You're right, it's a steep learning curve. I congratulate you on your fortitude! And v2 came out very nice. Don't be too hard on yourself as you go through this process!
4/20/08 12:49 PM
Barbara V said...
I am impressed with your focus to learn what was needed to improve and finish your jacket. It looks great on you. I plan to sew this pattern and your comments will be very helpful. I didn't know about the Stitcher's Guild. What a good resource. Thank you!
4/20/08 11:06 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great job on your jacket. When armed with the right references and the right fabric the results can be stunning, as is your jacket. You should be very pleased with it.
4/20/08 10:20 AM
Larkin said...
You've won! You wrestled with a bear and came out with a very nice jacket! Thanks for all of the review details. Enjoy!
2/15/08 10:21 AM
Peggy L said...
Your perseverance paid off on this jacket. It really looks very nice on you and I love your closures. I picked this up at the last Vogue sale so really appreciate your great review.
2/14/08 3:23 PM
seaweed said...
Nice job, it looks great on you. I've been wanting to make this one and I think you just gave me the push to do it.
2/13/08 10:58 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is gorgeous!! You did a terrific job with every little thing.
2/13/08 10:44 PM
mClones said...
Despite the problems you described, your finished jacket looks lovely on you. I'd shorten the sleeves just a tad to balance it a little better but that's a personal preference. Nice work!
2/13/08 10:19 PM
Re Becca said...
Your hard work really paid off. I am sorry that you had trouble with the fabric, but it looks really polished. Very professional! Good job with the fit as well.
2/13/08 11:44 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
You did a beautiful job on this!
2/13/08 11:14 AM
Nancy Anne said...
After you get a jacket or two under your belt, you will feel much more confident about undertaking them! You may want to try something other than Vogue next time- they often seem to have sketchier instructions than other brands. Regardless, your jacket is beautiful- I'm impressed!
2/13/08 10:48 AM
EleanorSews said...
Very pretty jacket. It certainly does not have any appearance of being "home made". You did a wonderful job. Your review is full of lots of good information, especially the thoughts about appropriate fabirc. Thanks!
2/13/08 10:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

New Look 6190

photo
by: ak21

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
La Mia Boutique Taglie Forti 09-2012-120

photo
by: wsm2408

Review