Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8498 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1637 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/08 1:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
PR was started because you were discouraged by blouse patterns (Simplicity, I think), so this project is especially appropriate. Hope it turns out to be perfect - and Happy Birthday!
2/14/08 6:39 AM
Deepika said...
Hi Karla, Yes I remember that! I made good progress last night. The only thing left is, sleeves, hems and buttonholes. Yay! Can I complete it today? We'll find out. Thanks for the b'day wishes!
2/14/08 8:46 AM
Karen6790 said...
Happy birthday! I can't wait to see the final product. Congrats on getting some sewing time in.
2/14/08 10:01 AM
Patti B said...
Love your comment about sewing slowly being weirdly satisfying! As Cynthia Guffey says "it's your hobby, what's your hurry?"
2/14/08 10:49 AM
Betsybobbin said...
You can tell that you're taking your time--collar and band look perfect!
2/14/08 11:00 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I love the color. Have you decided on buttons? Some silver or pewter would look really nice! It's coming along nicely.
2/14/08 12:48 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your blouse is taking shape very nicely Deepika! 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY' too!
2/14/08 4:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A perfect birthday present to yourself! Gorgeous color linen. -Lily
2/14/08 8:54 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for the b'day wishes everyone! I had a great day yesterday. OK I love this WIP feature. Rhonda I would have never thought of silver or pewter buttons but I think that's exactly what I am going to get. Thanks!!!!
2/15/08 10:19 AM
inkstain said...
A lovely spring colour and the silver trim turns it from office to box office. Way to go!
2/19/08 2:01 PM
Leora said...
I recently stood in line behind a woman who was wearing a shirt with this type of cuff. I think it is so attractive and a nice change!
2/19/08 2:06 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, this is lovely!! The silver trim on the sleeves is a wonderful touch.
2/19/08 2:23 PM
Re Becca said...
beautiful! I am sure that you will be able to wear this for a long time and it will be very worth the time you spent on the collar band and the hand sewing.
2/19/08 2:37 PM
Hilary said...
Oh, Deepika, it's *gorgeous* on you! You did a beautiful job on this-and I love the buttons-in fact I have been hoarding those exact buttons in my stash waiting for just the right project, LOL! Now I wish I had this pattern too (who knows, maybe I can find it!). Thanks for the great review! Enjoy your new blouse :o)
2/19/08 2:41 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Deepika, your blouse is pristine. The rolled hems, the perfect collar and sleeve cap, the gentle turquoise w/silver accents - all lend an ethereal quality to this beautifully fitted work of Art. Just beautiful. -Lily
2/19/08 3:00 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh but Deepeka, good-quality linen improves with washing... Why don't you wash the scraps in the machine a few times, just to see how it behaves? Then you can wash with confidence.. And yes, it's gorgeous :-).
2/19/08 3:14 PM
MissCelie said...
Don't you look all saucy and proud of yourself! Cute blouse! Can't wait to see it in LA!
2/19/08 3:38 PM
camaro1952 said...
great blouse! super color for you>
2/19/08 3:59 PM
carolynw said...
Beautifull blouse and you couldn't have picked a color that flatters you more than this!! You look so beautiful in this!
2/19/08 4:03 PM
Tini said...
WOW that is gorgeous. I love the colour and the pattern ( I think I have seen something similar in one of my older BOF mags...
2/19/08 4:05 PM
kim*brown said...
Great work!
2/19/08 4:09 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful blouse! I love the color, the design, the buttons--everything!
2/19/08 4:14 PM
2BSewing said...
Absolutely gorgeous on you! And it fits you perfectly. :)
2/19/08 4:29 PM
jnamcd said...
Just Gorgeous -- great job!
2/19/08 4:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely blouse. It fits nicely and is very flattering. I find blouses are one of the most relaxing things to sew.
2/19/08 5:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely!
2/19/08 5:52 PM
PegL said...
Your blouse is beautiful! Love the color on you!
2/19/08 6:19 PM
Christina Sonja said...
The silver trim is a great touch. And the blouse fits you perfectly. I look forward to seeing it in LA!
2/19/08 6:22 PM
rahayu said...
Your blouse is GORGEOUS!....it's so well done and professionally made....great job!
2/19/08 7:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Dee, it turned out beautifully. Great fit, great color, great details. Congratulations!
2/19/08 7:50 PM
Peggy L said...
You did a beautiful job on this!! It's gorgeous. Wear it with pride.
2/19/08 8:04 PM
sideseams said...
Deepika, I just love your blouse. It looks great on you. The trim on the sleeves is really nice.
2/19/08 8:37 PM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous blouse Deepika. And you're looking pretty great too!
2/19/08 8:51 PM
Kim Winson said...
Your blouse is stunning. Great color.
2/19/08 9:31 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Really cute blouse! I love the sleeves. Your talent really shines!
2/20/08 0:29 AM
ajax said...
Love this colour and fabric. The flounce with the silver trim make it look really special. I can understand the dry clean only!
2/20/08 4:34 AM
CarolynGM said...
Congratulations on your beautiful, meticulous work. I've had this OOP pattern in my stash for ages so I appreciate seeing it reviewed. It looks like a winner.
2/20/08 6:55 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Just awesome work. Fits you just perfect!
2/20/08 8:38 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Silver trim is awesome. I am totally stealing that!
2/20/08 9:39 AM
SusiM said...
You achieved a beautiful fit on the blouse, and as many others have already noted - the silver accents are dynamic!
2/20/08 10:34 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a great blouse! You did a fantastic job on this!!!
2/20/08 10:35 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful blouse. Perfect sewing! And before February is over ... congrats on making your goal 2x in a row!
2/20/08 2:29 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your blouse is perfect -- perfect fabric, style, fit, and workmanship. Congratulations, Deepika.
2/20/08 7:13 PM
Karen6790 said...
I love the silver buttons and trim. They really add something special to an already special blouse. Lovely.
2/20/08 11:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking blouse. I think you have made a hohum looking pattern look fantastic. Love the silver buttons and trim, good suggestions from others.
2/21/08 7:00 AM
Nancywin said...
Your blouse looks great. The first thing I noticed was (what I thought was) the silver "piping" After reading your review, I realized it is trim and you even hand stitched it! You have every right to be proud of this project. I look forward to seeing it at PR weekend!
2/21/08 9:21 AM
Larkin said...
Really cute, Deepika. I'll look forward to seeing it in person.
2/21/08 9:43 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
This is a very flattering shirt. The trim on the flounce and the buttons are especially nice.
2/21/08 2:38 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a fab blouse, Deepika! And boy, you sure have a beautiful fit too!! It looks terrific on you.
2/21/08 3:43 PM
LindsayT said...
Very flattering style on you, Deepika. I love the sleeves in particular.
2/22/08 9:00 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous blouse! I look forward to seeing it in LA! :-)
2/23/08 1:22 AM
Deepika said...
You all are so nice. Thanks for such kind comments. This has been one of the most satisfying projects I've worked on in a while.
2/23/08 10:14 AM
SandraB said...
This is so pretty Deepika. Too bad it is an out of print pattern. I would buy it in a heart beat.
2/27/08 7:15 PM
Deepika said...
Sandra Burda 7936 is a similar pattern but it has cap sleeves. Drafting a flounce is super easy. I wrote a tip on creating a flounce.
2/28/08 9:25 AM
AnneM said...
What a lovely blouse; it looks great. You must be thrilled with it.
6/16/08 6:34 AM
maplegirlie said...
Thank you for posting this. I was able to find the pattern online (thanks to Google). You did a great job. The color is flattering and so is the cut. Love the princess seams and the sleeves. It's now 2014, do you still have that shirt? :)
2/16/14 0:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-28
photo
Review by MelissaB i... on 2/11/08
Read Review

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5298
photo
Review by nommh on 2/3/09
Read Review

McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us