SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8498 (Blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1645 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/08 1:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maplegirlie said...
Thank you for posting this. I was able to find the pattern online (thanks to Google). You did a great job. The color is flattering and so is the cut. Love the princess seams and the sleeves. It's now 2014, do you still have that shirt? :)
2/16/14 0:11 AM
AnneM said...
What a lovely blouse; it looks great. You must be thrilled with it.
6/16/08 6:34 AM
Deepika said...
Sandra Burda 7936 is a similar pattern but it has cap sleeves. Drafting a flounce is super easy. I wrote a tip on creating a flounce.
2/28/08 9:25 AM
SandraB said...
This is so pretty Deepika. Too bad it is an out of print pattern. I would buy it in a heart beat.
2/27/08 7:15 PM
Deepika said...
You all are so nice. Thanks for such kind comments. This has been one of the most satisfying projects I've worked on in a while.
2/23/08 10:14 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous blouse! I look forward to seeing it in LA! :-)
2/23/08 1:22 AM
LindsayT said...
Very flattering style on you, Deepika. I love the sleeves in particular.
2/22/08 9:00 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a fab blouse, Deepika! And boy, you sure have a beautiful fit too!! It looks terrific on you.
2/21/08 3:43 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
This is a very flattering shirt. The trim on the flounce and the buttons are especially nice.
2/21/08 2:38 PM
Larkin said...
Really cute, Deepika. I'll look forward to seeing it in person.
2/21/08 9:43 AM
Nancywin said...
Your blouse looks great. The first thing I noticed was (what I thought was) the silver "piping" After reading your review, I realized it is trim and you even hand stitched it! You have every right to be proud of this project. I look forward to seeing it at PR weekend!
2/21/08 9:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking blouse. I think you have made a hohum looking pattern look fantastic. Love the silver buttons and trim, good suggestions from others.
2/21/08 7:00 AM
Karen6790 said...
I love the silver buttons and trim. They really add something special to an already special blouse. Lovely.
2/20/08 11:49 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your blouse is perfect -- perfect fabric, style, fit, and workmanship. Congratulations, Deepika.
2/20/08 7:13 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful blouse. Perfect sewing! And before February is over ... congrats on making your goal 2x in a row!
2/20/08 2:29 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great blouse! You did a fantastic job on this!!!
2/20/08 10:35 AM
SusiM said...
You achieved a beautiful fit on the blouse, and as many others have already noted - the silver accents are dynamic!
2/20/08 10:34 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Silver trim is awesome. I am totally stealing that!
2/20/08 9:39 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Just awesome work. Fits you just perfect!
2/20/08 8:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
Congratulations on your beautiful, meticulous work. I've had this OOP pattern in my stash for ages so I appreciate seeing it reviewed. It looks like a winner.
2/20/08 6:55 AM
ajax said...
Love this colour and fabric. The flounce with the silver trim make it look really special. I can understand the dry clean only!
2/20/08 4:34 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Really cute blouse! I love the sleeves. Your talent really shines!
2/20/08 0:29 AM
Kim Winson said...
Your blouse is stunning. Great color.
2/19/08 9:31 PM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous blouse Deepika. And you're looking pretty great too!
2/19/08 8:51 PM
sideseams said...
Deepika, I just love your blouse. It looks great on you. The trim on the sleeves is really nice.
2/19/08 8:37 PM
Peggy L said...
You did a beautiful job on this!! It's gorgeous. Wear it with pride.
2/19/08 8:04 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Dee, it turned out beautifully. Great fit, great color, great details. Congratulations!
2/19/08 7:50 PM
rahayu said...
Your blouse is GORGEOUS!....it's so well done and professionally made....great job!
2/19/08 7:26 PM
Christina Sonja said...
The silver trim is a great touch. And the blouse fits you perfectly. I look forward to seeing it in LA!
2/19/08 6:22 PM
PegL said...
Your blouse is beautiful! Love the color on you!
2/19/08 6:19 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely!
2/19/08 5:52 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely blouse. It fits nicely and is very flattering. I find blouses are one of the most relaxing things to sew.
2/19/08 5:35 PM
jnamcd said...
Just Gorgeous -- great job!
2/19/08 4:40 PM
2BSewing said...
Absolutely gorgeous on you! And it fits you perfectly. :)
2/19/08 4:29 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful blouse! I love the color, the design, the buttons--everything!
2/19/08 4:14 PM
kim*brown said...
Great work!
2/19/08 4:09 PM
Tini said...
WOW that is gorgeous. I love the colour and the pattern ( I think I have seen something similar in one of my older BOF mags...
2/19/08 4:05 PM
carolynw said...
Beautifull blouse and you couldn't have picked a color that flatters you more than this!! You look so beautiful in this!
2/19/08 4:03 PM
camaro1952 said...
great blouse! super color for you>
2/19/08 3:59 PM
MissCelie said...
Don't you look all saucy and proud of yourself! Cute blouse! Can't wait to see it in LA!
2/19/08 3:38 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh but Deepeka, good-quality linen improves with washing... Why don't you wash the scraps in the machine a few times, just to see how it behaves? Then you can wash with confidence.. And yes, it's gorgeous :-).
2/19/08 3:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Deepika, your blouse is pristine. The rolled hems, the perfect collar and sleeve cap, the gentle turquoise w/silver accents - all lend an ethereal quality to this beautifully fitted work of Art. Just beautiful. -Lily
2/19/08 3:00 PM
Hilary said...
Oh, Deepika, it's *gorgeous* on you! You did a beautiful job on this-and I love the buttons-in fact I have been hoarding those exact buttons in my stash waiting for just the right project, LOL! Now I wish I had this pattern too (who knows, maybe I can find it!). Thanks for the great review! Enjoy your new blouse :o)
2/19/08 2:41 PM
Re Becca said...
beautiful! I am sure that you will be able to wear this for a long time and it will be very worth the time you spent on the collar band and the hand sewing.
2/19/08 2:37 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, this is lovely!! The silver trim on the sleeves is a wonderful touch.
2/19/08 2:23 PM
Leora said...
I recently stood in line behind a woman who was wearing a shirt with this type of cuff. I think it is so attractive and a nice change!
2/19/08 2:06 PM
inkstain said...
A lovely spring colour and the silver trim turns it from office to box office. Way to go!
2/19/08 2:01 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for the b'day wishes everyone! I had a great day yesterday. OK I love this WIP feature. Rhonda I would have never thought of silver or pewter buttons but I think that's exactly what I am going to get. Thanks!!!!
2/15/08 10:19 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
A perfect birthday present to yourself! Gorgeous color linen. -Lily
2/14/08 8:54 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your blouse is taking shape very nicely Deepika! 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY' too!
2/14/08 4:14 PM
Ronda Rae said...
I love the color. Have you decided on buttons? Some silver or pewter would look really nice! It's coming along nicely.
2/14/08 12:48 PM
Betsybobbin said...
You can tell that you're taking your time--collar and band look perfect!
2/14/08 11:00 AM
Patti B said...
Love your comment about sewing slowly being weirdly satisfying! As Cynthia Guffey says "it's your hobby, what's your hurry?"
2/14/08 10:49 AM
Karen6790 said...
Happy birthday! I can't wait to see the final product. Congrats on getting some sewing time in.
2/14/08 10:01 AM
Deepika said...
Hi Karla, Yes I remember that! I made good progress last night. The only thing left is, sleeves, hems and buttonholes. Yay! Can I complete it today? We'll find out. Thanks for the b'day wishes!
2/14/08 8:46 AM
Karla Kizer said...
PR was started because you were discouraged by blouse patterns (Simplicity, I think), so this project is especially appropriate. Hope it turns out to be perfect - and Happy Birthday!
2/14/08 6:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now