SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2005-134 (men's shirt jacket)

Viewed 625 times 
Reviewed by:Becky Coleman
photo

 
 
About Becky Coleman
MN USA
Member since: 9/15/02
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/08 0:03 AM
Last Updated:2/14/08 7:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
I would love to see how this turned out, but your picture link doesn't work. ***ETA: Love the picture, Gosh he looks cold. I love the pockets! I am glad that he stayed in one place long enough for the picture. It must be really in order for a teenage guy to be seen in it, much less photographed!
2/14/08 9:21 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Don't know why the link doesn't work, because it works for me. I'll try later to set up a web host for the photo.
2/14/08 10:58 AM
michellep74 said...
Your jacket turned out great! Your son looks very handsome in it!
2/14/08 7:27 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a wonderful job on the jacket. Your handsome son seems to like it very well. Now he just needs some gloves! I can't imagine how anyone deals with so much snow. BTW, I am interested to know more about the Singer I saw pictured in your photo album, too.
2/14/08 7:27 PM
sewinglinda said...
good review of a lovely jacket and it looks so good on your son, glad to hear really he likes it. you are so lucky that he was willing to model, mine would say no way!
2/14/08 7:32 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Brrrrr the jacket looks great and with the thinsulate it must be warm too! I love the fabric.
2/14/08 7:38 PM
CharityAK said...
That is a great looking jacket and he looks so handsome in itl What a great Mom. It's beautifully made as well. I know my son would love one like that too. :) And he's the same size....so that makes it easier for you! :)
2/14/08 7:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That is such a great looking jacket!! Very hip and retro-modern. The fit may be a little big through the shoulders, but it definitely is in keeping with the style. I shall not be showing this to the husband...
2/14/08 7:59 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow, this is really impressive! The jacket is really sharp, your added details and changes look entirely designer. It doesn't hurt, also that your son could be a model... he wears it beautifully. What a great first review!
2/14/08 8:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
Lucky son - you made him a gorgeous jacket. Your added details really make it into something special.
2/14/08 9:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Intelligently thought out and beautifully executed. Handsome jacket on a handsome son. Excellent first review, too. -Lily
2/14/08 9:24 PM
ryansmumAria said...
You should be very proud. It is excellent!
2/14/08 9:28 PM
kim*brown said...
Great job, and wonderful first review. Your son is very handsome.
2/14/08 10:00 PM
BettyMike said...
Love this jacket! Oh how I wish I had known about Burda WOF in 2005! You did a great job.
2/14/08 10:01 PM
crisford said...
Oh, what a great photo! The jacket is beautiful and your son very handsome.
2/15/08 0:29 AM
trinicity said...
that jacket looks awesome, great review
2/15/08 5:20 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Thinsulate is an excellent choice for a warm jacket. However I hope you gave a thought to cleaning... Thinsulate will dissolve in dry-cleaning fluids :-(. So if you pre-shrunk your wool you'll get best results, but in any case you should be able to wash the whole thing, gently. Very good-looking in any case :-).
2/15/08 6:34 AM
Lori V said...
What a great jacket, the fabric- pattern combination is such a winner.
2/15/08 8:36 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Thanks to all who responded. Yes, I did think about cleaning, and gentle hand wash will probably work best. The machine in my album is a Singer 15K with Sphinx decals in a straight leg treadle from 1939.
2/15/08 10:59 AM
LindsayT said...
Great job with this jacket. It's nice to see something made for a teenage boy for a change.
2/15/08 5:02 PM
Peggy L said...
That is a great jacket!! Love all the details you added. If your handsome son wears it, it is a winner for sure! I need to see if I have this issue of WOF. I think I might - and I know I have a DS who would love it.
2/15/08 8:31 PM
SusiM said...
Wow! A lot of work went into this one. I like it!
2/15/08 11:24 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Fantastic job. You really did a nice job aligning the plaid! The wool reminds me so much of the old Pendleton shirts my dad used to wear. They wore like iron! I'm also impressed you were able to make something your teenager would wear. That's an accomplishment in itself :)
2/16/08 8:31 PM
Hilary said...
Very nicely done jacket!! I love the details you added, and it looks great on your son!
2/20/08 2:52 PM
CatMukai said...
Ooooh, I am jealous!! I love the slanted zippered pocket on the top left! Your attention to detail is amazing.
3/20/08 10:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now