Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2005-134 (men's shirt jacket) - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 620 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Becky Coleman
photo
About Becky Coleman
MN USA
Member since: 9/15/02
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/08 0:03 AM
Last Updated:2/14/08 7:20 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
I would love to see how this turned out, but your picture link doesn't work. ***ETA: Love the picture, Gosh he looks cold. I love the pockets! I am glad that he stayed in one place long enough for the picture. It must be really in order for a teenage guy to be seen in it, much less photographed!
2/14/08 9:21 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Don't know why the link doesn't work, because it works for me. I'll try later to set up a web host for the photo.
2/14/08 10:58 AM
michellep74 said...
Your jacket turned out great! Your son looks very handsome in it!
2/14/08 7:27 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a wonderful job on the jacket. Your handsome son seems to like it very well. Now he just needs some gloves! I can't imagine how anyone deals with so much snow. BTW, I am interested to know more about the Singer I saw pictured in your photo album, too.
2/14/08 7:27 PM
sewinglinda said...
good review of a lovely jacket and it looks so good on your son, glad to hear really he likes it. you are so lucky that he was willing to model, mine would say no way!
2/14/08 7:32 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Brrrrr the jacket looks great and with the thinsulate it must be warm too! I love the fabric.
2/14/08 7:38 PM
CharityAK said...
That is a great looking jacket and he looks so handsome in itl What a great Mom. It's beautifully made as well. I know my son would love one like that too. :) And he's the same size....so that makes it easier for you! :)
2/14/08 7:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That is such a great looking jacket!! Very hip and retro-modern. The fit may be a little big through the shoulders, but it definitely is in keeping with the style. I shall not be showing this to the husband...
2/14/08 7:59 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow, this is really impressive! The jacket is really sharp, your added details and changes look entirely designer. It doesn't hurt, also that your son could be a model... he wears it beautifully. What a great first review!
2/14/08 8:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
Lucky son - you made him a gorgeous jacket. Your added details really make it into something special.
2/14/08 9:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Intelligently thought out and beautifully executed. Handsome jacket on a handsome son. Excellent first review, too. -Lily
2/14/08 9:24 PM
ryansmumAria said...
You should be very proud. It is excellent!
2/14/08 9:28 PM
kim*brown said...
Great job, and wonderful first review. Your son is very handsome.
2/14/08 10:00 PM
BettyMike said...
Love this jacket! Oh how I wish I had known about Burda WOF in 2005! You did a great job.
2/14/08 10:01 PM
crisford said...
Oh, what a great photo! The jacket is beautiful and your son very handsome.
2/15/08 0:29 AM
trinicity said...
that jacket looks awesome, great review
2/15/08 5:20 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Thinsulate is an excellent choice for a warm jacket. However I hope you gave a thought to cleaning... Thinsulate will dissolve in dry-cleaning fluids :-(. So if you pre-shrunk your wool you'll get best results, but in any case you should be able to wash the whole thing, gently. Very good-looking in any case :-).
2/15/08 6:34 AM
Lori V said...
What a great jacket, the fabric- pattern combination is such a winner.
2/15/08 8:36 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Thanks to all who responded. Yes, I did think about cleaning, and gentle hand wash will probably work best. The machine in my album is a Singer 15K with Sphinx decals in a straight leg treadle from 1939.
2/15/08 10:59 AM
LindsayT said...
Great job with this jacket. It's nice to see something made for a teenage boy for a change.
2/15/08 5:02 PM
Peggy L said...
That is a great jacket!! Love all the details you added. If your handsome son wears it, it is a winner for sure! I need to see if I have this issue of WOF. I think I might - and I know I have a DS who would love it.
2/15/08 8:31 PM
SusiM said...
Wow! A lot of work went into this one. I like it!
2/15/08 11:24 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Fantastic job. You really did a nice job aligning the plaid! The wool reminds me so much of the old Pendleton shirts my dad used to wear. They wore like iron! I'm also impressed you were able to make something your teenager would wear. That's an accomplishment in itself :)
2/16/08 8:31 PM
Hilary said...
Very nicely done jacket!! I love the details you added, and it looks great on your son!
2/20/08 2:52 PM
CatMukai said...
Ooooh, I am jealous!! I love the slanted zippered pocket on the top left! Your attention to detail is amazing.
3/20/08 10:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by sunnysewer on 2/23/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern
Salme Loose Fitting Pleated T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8889 Men's Shirt
photo
Review by Wendy Part... on 9/18/13
Read Review

Vogue 1314 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1314 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3219 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3219 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us