Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2038 (Issey Miyake Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 554 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Marilyn N.
photo
Friend of PR
About Marilyn N.star
WA USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/09 9:29 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Looks great!
1/2/09 9:37 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful job you've done on this coat. I know what you mean about the sizing, as I made it quite some time ago, and I mean it was HUGE, EVEN ON ME! I took the FUNNIEST picture of me standing with my arms straight out in that coat, and my mom can look at the picture even TODAY and start laughing. :o) It's GREAT for layering, though, and you've used the perfect fabric such that it will have some drape to it (which is where I went wrong). This WOULD make a good raincoat! GREAT review and WONDERFUL coat!
1/2/09 10:31 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, look at this neat site. (I was just MOURNING the fact that I no longer have this pattern, so searched for it online and found this site instead.) There's little page numbers near the top you have to click on (which I almost missed): http://groehm.tripod.com/miyake/
1/2/09 10:37 PM
Athene said...
This is a great coat.
1/2/09 11:51 PM
moushka said...
Fabulous coat and now I want one! You found the perfect fabric. Now to find that oop pattern. I remember the Marcy Tilton article and I wanted the coat then, LOL. Guess I'll just have to hope that someone on ebay will put it up for sale. Thanks for reviewing it. Sue
1/3/09 6:32 AM
BetsyV said...
Nice job, Lois. Love the buttons!
1/3/09 8:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely coat and great review. I have had this pattern sitting in my stash for years and hesitated making it because it is so huge! I'll have to consider it for the gorgeous piece of coating I picked up a while back half price at Michael's .
1/3/09 8:52 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat - I need one like that!! Your work is impeccable
1/3/09 9:21 AM
Judy Wentz said...
A coat is really an undertaking. Great job!
1/3/09 9:30 AM
Diane333 said...
I LOVE this coat. I like the idea of prewashing wool and will try this. Good review.
1/3/09 9:37 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! And the inside is so nicely finished!
1/3/09 9:53 AM
MaryDB said...
What a nice construction job and a great coat! I appreciate the tip about washing wool - I'm going to do it for my next project.
1/3/09 11:58 AM
Beek said...
Super coat! Issey does make big clothes, but they are so avant-garde! Nice job!
1/3/09 12:42 PM
PhyllisC said...
Stunning - what year is the copyright? Is it vintage?
1/3/09 5:50 PM
katie lynne said...
Thank you for such a useful review! Lovely coat, you did a splendid job.
1/3/09 9:03 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Excellent review. I just purchased this pattern on eBay and am excited to see how it comes out. I may make a muslin first!
1/14/14 8:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 2007 Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by boppingbet... on 7/31/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5365
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 9/10/09
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us