Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2973 (Montana Paris Original) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1446 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Jolet
photo
About Joletstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 9/17/02
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/08 1:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
I would love to see a bigger picture of your jacket as I was very interested in this jacket. From what I can see (your photo is pretty tiny) it looks marvellous!
2/17/08 1:23 PM
inkstain said...
Kudos! I covet this jacket, which I find intimidating, but now that you've reviewed it, I'm adding it to my Vogue wishlist. And the colour is beautiful. Powerful style, and I bet it looks sharp when worn, too.
2/17/08 3:38 PM
Jan Flaherty said...
Your jacket is fabulous! Buy a gorgeous pair of leather gloves and carry a killer bag - no pockets necessary. Beautiful jacket.
2/17/08 3:42 PM
KathleenS said...
Great work. The topstitching is beautifully done, especially for a heavyweight fabric (as this looks to be).
2/17/08 3:44 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for the info about the zipper and the pockets.
2/17/08 3:58 PM
Mahler said...
the final result is a smashing hit ! Nice color.
2/17/08 4:10 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yes, 'zipper tab' is exactly the right word, and I HATE when that happens. Now if I say 'uber-cool' will that be the correct way to tell you how stunning your jacket looks? Modern, sleek but with a real presence of attitude! Love it. -Lily
2/17/08 4:33 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, this is gorgeous. You have done a great job. More photos are always good...
2/17/08 5:09 PM
Sigrid. said...
Geweldig! you made a perfect jacket. Great topstitching. I understand your feelings for missing pockets. And strange that the minimum length for these zippers is so long in the US!
2/17/08 5:32 PM
CharityAK said...
Oh my gosh! I am drooling all over the keyboard. This is totally yummy. LOVE it! I WANT this. :)
2/17/08 5:33 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket. I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it.
2/17/08 6:11 PM
jlg said...
Wow. This is very, very nice.
2/17/08 6:32 PM
lmg said...
Totally gorgeous designer jacket. The newest Threads issue reviews this jacket and after seeing your version I can see why. Wow.
2/17/08 6:43 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Awesome jacket!!!
2/17/08 7:14 PM
Beek said...
I have this pattern so your review is going to come in very helpful. I will try to locate a zipper that is the correct size prior to tackling this project though. I think there is a source for custom zippers somewhere out there?
2/17/08 7:31 PM
N_Vogue said...
Beautiful jacket!!! Thanks for the review. A must have pattern!!! Zipper info. is very helpful
2/17/08 9:19 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I have been admiring this jacket in the Vogue catalogue for a while. I think your version is much nicer than the picture on the envelope! Thanks for the tips about the zipper.
2/17/08 10:16 PM
Erica B. said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I have this on my list to sew for spring in a white denim. I'm so glad you did this review.
2/17/08 11:13 PM
SexiSadi said...
Nice jacket. It turned out really well!
2/18/08 0:12 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Luv the color, great jacket, thanks for reviewing....
2/18/08 4:00 AM
marjenann said...
What a great jacket!! Absolutely gorgeous!!
2/18/08 7:56 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Love it! Pockets would ruin the line.
2/18/08 10:30 AM
sew42mom said...
Next time you have to make a garment with separating zippers, please try zippersource.com. I've used them before when I needed an odd size zipper for a jacket for my 4 yo. It is a little expensive - I paid $15 for the zipper and $4 for the fabric but it just makes everything look so much better when you have the right notions!
2/18/08 1:58 PM
sew42mom said...
Umm, I forgot to mention that I think your jacket is extremely!!! cool.
2/18/08 2:03 PM
Maggie Cat said...
Wonderful jacket. Sorry about the zipper issues.
2/18/08 7:13 PM
edupraz said...
Beautiful jacket. I've been on the fence about buying this pattern for awhile, and I love it after seeing your gorgeous version.
2/19/08 2:19 PM
Hilary said...
That is gorgeous!! Love the color, and it was worth it (I hate adjusting zips from the top, too! lol).
2/20/08 7:07 AM
JMarie1962 said...
I love this jacket and the colour is fabulous! Yes - it takes a strong woman to wear red but a jacket like this deserves red :) Fantastic job! I'm glad you struggled through the zippers and shared your story. I am going to put this pattern on my Wish List. Thanks for a great review!
2/23/08 1:40 AM
Diane E said...
I love the contrast of the military style and the oh-so-not military fabric color and texture. Soft and cuddly and yet structured and formal. Yummy! And, goes without saying, your typically understated humor had me laughing. "Not very handy" lack of pockets, indeed!
2/24/08 12:05 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely gorgeous. I have been wanting this pattern for a while and really, really appreciate your review, it will be helpful if I ever get up the courage to get the pattern. The zipper freaks me out, I just know I won't be able to persuade it into the jacket neatly. Love the fabric and colour you chose, it really makes the jacket sing. Bet you get lots of people asking where you got it, its really stunning.
2/25/08 3:59 AM
Bonnie O said...
WOW! You made a spectacular jacket. I have eyed this pattern for some time but it has scared me off. Finding the exact length zipper sounds like a great tip.
3/11/08 7:43 AM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
I have this pattern and I have a lightweight denim to make it out of. I was glad to find a review on it. Thank you. It's awfully intimidating with 24 pieces. But the instructions look clear enough
9/18/08 7:03 PM
Marji said...
Wow! this is just gorgeous... Love the color and choice of wool. It looks so rich.
9/18/08 7:23 PM
Haute.Couturiere said...
Wow! Lovely creation. If I stare at the picture long enough will the jacket materialise by my side :)
2/16/09 7:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Sew Chic ln1311
photo
Review by velosewer on 5/20/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6159
photo
Review by tonkakat on 9/29/10
Read Review

Butterick 5843 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Butterick 5843 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5628 Pattern ( Size 18W )
Butterick 5628 Pattern ( Size 18W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us