Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5867 ([email protected])

18 more reviews
Viewed 390 times 
Reviewed by:Jan Flaherty
photo

 
 
About Jan Flaherty
MA USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/08 2:54 PM
Last Updated:2/17/08 2:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
SewTwin said... (3/9/08 3:08 AM) Reply
Jan, if you didn't find out on the boards already, you could probably find help on Debbie Cook's blog(find her profile/blog in "find a member").She usually has the most, and excellent fitting tips!Also, Sandra Betzina books, or Fit for Real People books..Good Luck! PS..Top/print is too cool to avoid wearing.You will work out the bugs..
Lucy in Virginia said... (2/29/08 1:26 PM) Reply
Great looking top! I have this pattern and never noticed the top. Was just focusing on the jogging suit. Like I'll be doing that anytime soon--LOL! Thanks for uncovering it for the rest of us!
Danvillegirl said... (2/19/08 5:24 AM) Reply
Good first review! Nice looking top.
MareeAlison said... (2/19/08 0:57 AM) Reply
I love the fabric and the fit. I have this pattern but never realised it had the long sleeved top underneath. Thanks for that.
Debbie Cook said... (2/18/08 12:20 PM) Reply
Pretty top! I agree with the suggestion to use a smaller size at the shoulder area, or to make a narrow shoulder adjustment to the size you used.
judy3 said... (2/17/08 7:26 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review! Your top fits you very well. I really like the fabric you chose, and I agree that the 3/4 sleeves are great!
Heatherrique said... (2/17/08 7:00 PM) Reply
Very attractive top! You look stunning!
CharityAK said... (2/17/08 6:29 PM) Reply
OOoo...I was watching that fabric too. It's so fun to see someone make it up. Your top is wonderful. Great review as well.
Sigrid. said... (2/17/08 5:47 PM) Reply
Congrats on your first review. Loved the neckline instantly when I saw the picture enlarge in the gallery. Thanks for reviewing it, you've made a lovely top in a lovely fabric.
maidathome said... (2/17/08 5:43 PM) Reply
Nice top, it looks good on you. Maybe try a smaller size through the shoulder area? I'm not a fitting expert but that is what I'd do.
HeatherB said... (2/17/08 4:56 PM) Reply
Your top looks really nice. I haven't tried a knit top yet so can't answer any of your questions, but from the picture it looks great as is. Thanks for your comment on my skirt.
lilyofthevalley said... (2/17/08 4:45 PM) Reply
This is a really lovely and classic top in a striking fabric that really enhances your coloring. I like it very, very much. Your photo link re: shoulder trouble is not working and I can't see enough detail from your small thumbnail photo to see a shoulder problem, but maybe try again for a larger photo. An excellent first review, and I look forward to reading about many more of your creations. -Lily
michellep74 said... (2/17/08 3:12 PM) Reply
Pretty top! I thought that I recognized that fabric. ;)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

McCall's 5525

photo
by: valgal

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2012-117

photo
by: inkstain

Review
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details