Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7151 - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2316 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/03 4:10 AM
Last Updated:5/9/03 4:42 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Ann you made a very nice outfit,you are right that you do need to put in the shoulderpads that will solve the problem.In couture suits it is often the whole garment which will be interfaced except the sleeves, but sometimes they also are interfaced but with a different weight interfacing that depends on the fabric.
5/8/03 8:11 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Ann, what a lovely spring suit!
5/8/03 9:02 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful job as always, Ann. Great review too! -Ann
5/8/03 9:19 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for bringing the pattern to our attention! I have some fabric that's been ageing for quite a while, waiting for a good Chanel-esque pattern; I'm definitely going to consider this one!
5/8/03 9:35 AM
Georgene said...
I love the treatment with the fringe. Any chance of a close-up shot with the braid? Mademoiselle Coco would approve, the ensemble looks great on you.
5/8/03 10:59 AM
cindyann said...
Wow.....very nice. The designer details of the dyed to match braid and the fringed selvedge are great additions. Thanks for this review.
5/8/03 11:01 AM
Mariko said...
Ann, absolutely beautiful! I have never made a lined jacket (or just plain jacket like this), but with your recommendation, I will put it in my wish list. I also like the shape of the skirt. The style is very elegant and it fits you quite nicely. Thank you for your review!!
5/8/03 11:55 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Another great outfit - I especially love that flirty little skirt. Is that the Cafe Society? I so loved it but the coloring wasn't right for me so I opted for the turquoise suiting.
5/8/03 2:36 PM
CatherineN said...
That is so soft and pretty. The skirt has graceful lines.
5/8/03 3:57 PM
Mbarkle said...
Very nice. I love the bias skirt instead of the straight one you usually see with this jacket. The fringe is a nice touch too. You look beautiful in it.
5/8/03 5:25 PM
Ann Smith said...
Georgene: I've added a close up of the fringe. I hope that helps. It took quite a while to braid that! Gigi: yes, it is Cafe Society. I'll look forward to seeing your turquoise suit.
5/9/03 4:46 PM
Georgene said...
Ann, thanks for the close-up. It looks even better than I thought. Very nice fabric and treatment. It does look better with the shoulder pads. You're hired!
5/9/03 4:57 PM
PattiA said...
Ann, this suit has the appearance of a couture ensemble. Unfortunately, this Vogue pattern is no longer in print--and a check with Vogue Patterns gave me the information that they do not have any leftovers! She who hesitates . . .
5/9/03 5:15 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Ann, Thank you! I have been looking at Chanel type patterns and I may just pick this one up! I know I'll have to lower the bust darts and do adjustments there as well-pretty standard with Vogues anyway. I would like to make a Chanel style project complete with a golden linked chain as weight in the jacket hem with a contrasting bias trim; this looks like it's just perfect and offers a nice variation too with the front closure of the jacket!
5/20/03 7:09 AM
eightyferrettoes said...
gosh, that's really stunning! Love the bias skirt with the straight-grain jacket... very appealing and a bit more feminine than your standard straight-skirt suit.
8/5/07 5:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us