SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-121 (Wrap dress/top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 845 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
Friend of PR

About KathleenSstarstar
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews: 78 (patterns: 72)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/08 3:20 AM
Last Updated:2/18/08 3:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Mufffet said... (3/23/08 10:04 PM) Reply
That is so pretty on you! You did a really good job on this top, and the fabric really looks good with your red hair!
Athene said... (2/22/08 0:21 AM) Reply
This is a beautiful look on you both with and without the belt but I favour the belt. The abstract print is very interesting - it just makes the blouse look very special.
popoagiesmiles said... (2/20/08 10:31 PM) Reply
Gosh, your top looks great, especially on your model figure. I am inspired to sew and exercise!
MelissaB in WA said... (2/19/08 11:20 PM) Reply
Wow, what a very helpful review you wrote - thank you! I like your top and am so pleased for you it turned out nicely when you used different fabric than the recommended one for the pattern. I hope you enjoy wearing it!
Grammy Gin said... (2/19/08 3:28 PM) Reply
Your fabric is very flattering to your complexion & hair coloring. Thanks for the very detailed review....will be very helpful if I decided to make this one. ;-)
KathleenS said... (2/19/08 4:24 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone! I'm glad you like the belt, it was quite a lot of work! and anyway, I think it's really nice and I'd be sad not to use it. HKS, I'm not surprised you didn't remember my fabric amongst all the other fabrics! Mmmm, fabric.
lynny said... (2/19/08 1:02 AM) Reply
ooohh I do like your top Kathleen and thanks for the very detailed review. I too like the belt view. My humble opinion the top looks better with the collar down (not pinned up) and the wide curve of the neckline with the narrow shawl collar makes the top look more elegant. It has a style about it which I think you would lose if you closed the neckline in - does that make sense? Anyway, gorgeous top - it looks great.
Oziroo said... (2/18/08 5:22 PM) Reply
I really enjoyed reading this detailed review. Your top looks great on you too!
hongkongshopper said... (2/18/08 4:40 PM) Reply
Great review Kathleen! I like your fabric, but don't recall seeing that on our trip? I like the top best with the belt. I think the belt is pretty cute.
wanderlustor said... (2/18/08 1:15 PM) Reply
This review is so helpful. Thanks for including such detailed information on your construction, fabric type and so on. It looks great!
lilyofthevalley said... (2/18/08 11:56 AM) Reply
What an excellent review; I plan to make a cup of tea later and study your progressions. Angling bust dart - great idea. Love the fabric. I too prefer the belt and the neckline just where you have it. Lovely job in every respect. -Lily
Leora said... (2/18/08 10:39 AM) Reply
Maybe we should dub this the "wrap" issue LOL. Great idea to make this into a top. Interesting collar!
Beek said... (2/18/08 9:24 AM) Reply
Your top is very flattering. I like it with the belt as well.
chemmom said... (2/18/08 8:59 AM) Reply
I vote with the belt. It gives the top more interest that way. You could even make it in a contrasting color. I like the neck line.
Allie in Hong Kong said... (2/18/08 5:13 AM) Reply
Your top looks great and thanks for the very detailed review. I just finished the 120 version of this and it looks nothing like yours so as you say it is an interesting pattern (Review coming soon). I like that you took the elements of the dress 121 design and made them into the top, BWOF is great for being able to do that.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1086

by: julliams

Vogue Patterns 8548

by: ManiMayor

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Pattern Details