Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-121 (Wrap dress/top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 842 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/08 3:20 AM
Last Updated:2/18/08 3:26 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Your top looks great and thanks for the very detailed review. I just finished the 120 version of this and it looks nothing like yours so as you say it is an interesting pattern (Review coming soon). I like that you took the elements of the dress 121 design and made them into the top, BWOF is great for being able to do that.
2/18/08 5:13 AM
chemmom said...
I vote with the belt. It gives the top more interest that way. You could even make it in a contrasting color. I like the neck line.
2/18/08 8:59 AM
Beek said...
Your top is very flattering. I like it with the belt as well.
2/18/08 9:24 AM
Leora said...
Maybe we should dub this the "wrap" issue LOL. Great idea to make this into a top. Interesting collar!
2/18/08 10:39 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
What an excellent review; I plan to make a cup of tea later and study your progressions. Angling bust dart - great idea. Love the fabric. I too prefer the belt and the neckline just where you have it. Lovely job in every respect. -Lily
2/18/08 11:56 AM
wanderlustor said...
This review is so helpful. Thanks for including such detailed information on your construction, fabric type and so on. It looks great!
2/18/08 1:15 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review Kathleen! I like your fabric, but don't recall seeing that on our trip? I like the top best with the belt. I think the belt is pretty cute.
2/18/08 4:40 PM
Oziroo said...
I really enjoyed reading this detailed review. Your top looks great on you too!
2/18/08 5:22 PM
lynny said...
ooohh I do like your top Kathleen and thanks for the very detailed review. I too like the belt view. My humble opinion the top looks better with the collar down (not pinned up) and the wide curve of the neckline with the narrow shawl collar makes the top look more elegant. It has a style about it which I think you would lose if you closed the neckline in - does that make sense? Anyway, gorgeous top - it looks great.
2/19/08 1:02 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone! I'm glad you like the belt, it was quite a lot of work! and anyway, I think it's really nice and I'd be sad not to use it. HKS, I'm not surprised you didn't remember my fabric amongst all the other fabrics! Mmmm, fabric.
2/19/08 4:24 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Your fabric is very flattering to your complexion & hair coloring. Thanks for the very detailed review....will be very helpful if I decided to make this one. ;-)
2/19/08 3:28 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Wow, what a very helpful review you wrote - thank you! I like your top and am so pleased for you it turned out nicely when you used different fabric than the recommended one for the pattern. I hope you enjoy wearing it!
2/19/08 11:20 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Gosh, your top looks great, especially on your model figure. I am inspired to sew and exercise!
2/20/08 10:31 PM
Athene said...
This is a beautiful look on you both with and without the belt but I favour the belt. The abstract print is very interesting - it just makes the blouse look very special.
2/22/08 0:21 AM
Mufffet said...
That is so pretty on you! You did a really good job on this top, and the fabric really looks good with your red hair!
3/23/08 10:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

HotPatterns Classix Nouveau Razor-Sha
photo
Review by Nancy K on 7/24/07
Read Review

McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2957 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2957 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Making Vintage Accessorie
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 3/2/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us