Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3576 (Fitted Sleeveless Dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1306 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/08 1:29 AM
Last Updated:3/2/08 1:13 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squilts said...
That looks awesome. I love the pocket/belt detail. I have read somewhere that if you take a diagonal stitch where the corner point is supposed to be, when you turn it, it will be more pointed that if you had sewn it square... Also, look in TIPS, for a tip from Nancywin on invisible zippers in lined dress. I used her tip when I did my sheath dress and it worked great!
2/21/08 11:46 AM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks for letting me know about the tip, I didn't check there. This was a center-zip but the technique would probably only be a little different.
2/21/08 11:51 AM
ocotillo said...
Great dress! I love the pocket and belt details, and the lining looks great! Did you end up using the facings?
2/21/08 12:14 PM
Annette1 said...
I love the lines and the details of this dress, and you look GREAT in it!
2/21/08 4:40 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice dress!!!
2/21/08 5:05 PM
cabinbaby said...
ocotillo, no, I didn't even trace the facings. I just used the front and back pattern pieces as a lining.
2/21/08 5:20 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The boatneck and sleek silhouette of this sleeveless dress is extremely flattering on you. It looks equally fetching with and without a shirt underneath, and your topstitched extra seam in the chest area is a design plus for this chic dress. -Lily
2/21/08 6:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Retro, modern and glamourous! ;-}
2/21/08 9:02 PM
Athene said...
Lovely look and the fit is wonderful. I always enjoy your reviews. You have a slim build like my daughter and I find your reviews very helpful for getting ideas for my daughter.
2/21/08 11:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is one rockin dress! I love it and it fits you perfectly! I love that it's a-line too, somehow I missed this pattern in the KS catalog.
2/22/08 0:29 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
The dress looks great - definitely a classic! The "extra" seam looks nice - I would have thought it was a design feature.
2/22/08 0:46 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a classy job! I love the "extra seam", looks very professional, like it was meant to be there. Very cute dress!
2/22/08 12:43 PM
PJH said...
Great dress! I think you should consider the 'extra seam' for the others you make from this pattern.
2/23/08 5:49 AM
Beek said...
This is a very flattering dress on you. And you executed it wonderfully. I bet you will use this pattern again and again. It works!
3/2/08 8:15 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful dress, it looks fantastic on you. Really great belt, too.
3/2/08 9:22 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great dress, looks very good on you.
3/2/08 11:23 AM
EveS said...
I've admired this pattern since I first saw it and I think the pique is perfect for it! Just love your dress! As squilts mentioned, do a diagonal stitch (or two) to turn the corners to make them pointy...doesn't sound like it should work but it does! You've tempted me to buy this pattern! :)
3/2/08 2:50 PM
mylittleelephant said...
True, now we can see clear picture of your lovely dress in sunlight, very flattering on you! Great fit too!
3/2/08 5:38 PM
cabinbaby said...
I forgot to mention this in the edit. The squint is because the sun is glaring off the icy snow. The white stuff that looks like dog hair is snow. :)
3/2/08 9:54 PM
morzel said...
Wonderful dress! Great fit, great design details.
3/4/08 4:08 AM
sparklesew said...
I love the seamstress's adaptation on the go. Much like my sewing. Creative adaptation! And it is a lovely finished dress. I would taper all belt loops for a nice top finish. She might like a princess seaming to mesh with those lovely pockets. Thanks for a good review. Happy stitching to you! SparkleSew.
6/9/08 10:36 PM
pammieh said...
Please submit more if you do it again!
8/23/09 9:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

New Look 6370
photo
Review by julesberry on 4/7/07
Read Review

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB042SW
photo
Review by diane s on 8/30/10
Read Review

Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8873 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6799 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6799 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us