SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3576 (Fitted Sleeveless Dresses)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1320 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 159 people
patterns reviewed: 181
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/08 1:29 AM
Last Updated:3/2/08 1:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squilts said...
That looks awesome. I love the pocket/belt detail. I have read somewhere that if you take a diagonal stitch where the corner point is supposed to be, when you turn it, it will be more pointed that if you had sewn it square... Also, look in TIPS, for a tip from Nancywin on invisible zippers in lined dress. I used her tip when I did my sheath dress and it worked great!
2/21/08 11:46 AM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks for letting me know about the tip, I didn't check there. This was a center-zip but the technique would probably only be a little different.
2/21/08 11:51 AM
ocotillo said...
Great dress! I love the pocket and belt details, and the lining looks great! Did you end up using the facings?
2/21/08 12:14 PM
Annette1 said...
I love the lines and the details of this dress, and you look GREAT in it!
2/21/08 4:40 PM
Peggy L said...
Very nice dress!!!
2/21/08 5:05 PM
cabinbaby said...
ocotillo, no, I didn't even trace the facings. I just used the front and back pattern pieces as a lining.
2/21/08 5:20 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The boatneck and sleek silhouette of this sleeveless dress is extremely flattering on you. It looks equally fetching with and without a shirt underneath, and your topstitched extra seam in the chest area is a design plus for this chic dress. -Lily
2/21/08 6:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Retro, modern and glamourous! ;-}
2/21/08 9:02 PM
Athene said...
Lovely look and the fit is wonderful. I always enjoy your reviews. You have a slim build like my daughter and I find your reviews very helpful for getting ideas for my daughter.
2/21/08 11:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is one rockin dress! I love it and it fits you perfectly! I love that it's a-line too, somehow I missed this pattern in the KS catalog.
2/22/08 0:29 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
The dress looks great - definitely a classic! The "extra" seam looks nice - I would have thought it was a design feature.
2/22/08 0:46 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
What a classy job! I love the "extra seam", looks very professional, like it was meant to be there. Very cute dress!
2/22/08 12:43 PM
PJH said...
Great dress! I think you should consider the 'extra seam' for the others you make from this pattern.
2/23/08 5:49 AM
Beek said...
This is a very flattering dress on you. And you executed it wonderfully. I bet you will use this pattern again and again. It works!
3/2/08 8:15 AM
Lori V said...
Wonderful dress, it looks fantastic on you. Really great belt, too.
3/2/08 9:22 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great dress, looks very good on you.
3/2/08 11:23 AM
EveS said...
I've admired this pattern since I first saw it and I think the pique is perfect for it! Just love your dress! As squilts mentioned, do a diagonal stitch (or two) to turn the corners to make them pointy...doesn't sound like it should work but it does! You've tempted me to buy this pattern! :)
3/2/08 2:50 PM
mylittleelephant said...
True, now we can see clear picture of your lovely dress in sunlight, very flattering on you! Great fit too!
3/2/08 5:38 PM
cabinbaby said...
I forgot to mention this in the edit. The squint is because the sun is glaring off the icy snow. The white stuff that looks like dog hair is snow. :)
3/2/08 9:54 PM
morzel said...
Wonderful dress! Great fit, great design details.
3/4/08 4:08 AM
sparklesew said...
I love the seamstress's adaptation on the go. Much like my sewing. Creative adaptation! And it is a lovely finished dress. I would taper all belt loops for a nice top finish. She might like a princess seaming to mesh with those lovely pockets. Thanks for a good review. Happy stitching to you! SparkleSew.
6/9/08 10:36 PM
pammieh said...
Please submit more if you do it again!
8/23/09 9:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity vintage 4101

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now