SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 0001 (H&M Gather Neck Tee)

1 more reviews
Viewed 856 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/08 10:46 AM
Last Updated:2/22/08 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maripat said...
How cute and well done. You are an artist.
6/13/10 2:34 PM
ksavila said...
super inspiring! :-)
6/4/10 12:38 PM
Johanna Lu said...
I've got that t-shirt and love it :) After reading your review I am very tempted to replicate it. What a great idea! You are very resourcful indeed!
3/11/08 8:09 AM
shinetrue said...
Thank you for sharing this! I'm quite impressed and also inspired. I concur with Grammy; I like your version even better than the original! I love that you lengthened the sleeves, and the fabric/color looks gorgeous on you! Also, Lily brought up a good question - have you worn it with the skirt you made from the same fabric? That would be cute, too! Thanks again for sharing!
3/3/08 6:52 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I think yours looks better than the original. Wonderful job & great review. Thanks! ;)
2/26/08 4:22 PM
AnneM said...
Cute top, I like the neckline.
2/24/08 1:36 PM
Larkin said...
Once again, Nicegirl, I'm inspired by your logic and creativity. Your top is really cute and what better way to learn RTW techniques! Thanks for sharing all the details.
2/24/08 0:11 AM
Karen6790 said...
Such a devious sewist! I'm about to attempt to copy a Tommy Hilfiger jacket I picked up at the thrift store, hoping I can manage without taking it apart. Love this shirt - you'll get tons of use out of this pattern.
2/23/08 5:49 PM
Heatherrique said...
Marvelous and entertaining reincarnation of the H&M top! I am so impressed by your skill, ingenuity, and your persistence!
2/23/08 4:55 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Terrific job! Your sewing talent is truly apparent with this top. Perfect color for you too!
2/23/08 11:59 AM
myrooks said...
Thanks for the advice..I am taking apart the pants as the are on the trashed side. I will post with the results.
2/23/08 11:51 AM
Deepika said...
Fabulous!!! Love the top.
2/23/08 11:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
2/23/08 7:29 AM
Huldra said...
That's such a great idea - to copy your favourite RTW garments. I actually had the same idea a while ago and felt really stupid that I hadn't thought of it sooner. Your review gave me some great tips, especially to save one half of the top intact for reference. Thank you!
2/23/08 6:39 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
double post, sorry -Lily
2/22/08 10:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A perfect tutorial! RTW favorite to TNT pattern. You did an excellent job constructing this, and you're fast! Are you going to wear this pretty jersey with your same fabric fitted knit skirt, for a sophisticated dress look? -Lily
2/22/08 10:00 PM
Susan C said...
Wow! Nice job.
2/22/08 9:55 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow. Thanks for all the details. What a success. Thanks for the review.
2/22/08 9:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tee! It is very flattering so I can see why you wanted to copy it, even if it did take you two years and a lot of cleaning. ;)
2/22/08 6:52 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks all! Myrooks--I wish I had some tips. For me, taking it apart worked great, keeping in mind to add seam allowances to replace those cut off by the commercial serger. If you're not willing to sacrifice the pants to the seam ripper gods, I am no help!
2/22/08 5:20 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautifully done! That color is gorgeous on you!
2/22/08 12:39 PM
myrooks said...
I am totally impressed. I am getting the courage up to copy a pair of RTW pants.. any hints for success?
2/22/08 12:38 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Your shirt looks great! Nice job copying and even improving on the existing shirt.
2/22/08 12:27 PM
LindsayT said...
I'm very impressed by your resourcefulness. I've also noticed that retailers like Gap and H&M are constructing their clothing a little better these days; I like to borrow their techniques when possible. Cute top.
2/22/08 11:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 5504

photo
by: valerie se...

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

More Info
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

More Info