Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Drafted from RTW: 0001 (H&M Gather Neck Tee) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 856 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/08 10:46 AM
Last Updated:2/22/08 10:46 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
I'm very impressed by your resourcefulness. I've also noticed that retailers like Gap and H&M are constructing their clothing a little better these days; I like to borrow their techniques when possible. Cute top.
2/22/08 11:44 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Your shirt looks great! Nice job copying and even improving on the existing shirt.
2/22/08 12:27 PM
myrooks said...
I am totally impressed. I am getting the courage up to copy a pair of RTW pants.. any hints for success?
2/22/08 12:38 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautifully done! That color is gorgeous on you!
2/22/08 12:39 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks all! Myrooks--I wish I had some tips. For me, taking it apart worked great, keeping in mind to add seam allowances to replace those cut off by the commercial serger. If you're not willing to sacrifice the pants to the seam ripper gods, I am no help!
2/22/08 5:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tee! It is very flattering so I can see why you wanted to copy it, even if it did take you two years and a lot of cleaning. ;)
2/22/08 6:52 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow. Thanks for all the details. What a success. Thanks for the review.
2/22/08 9:53 PM
Susan C said...
Wow! Nice job.
2/22/08 9:55 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A perfect tutorial! RTW favorite to TNT pattern. You did an excellent job constructing this, and you're fast! Are you going to wear this pretty jersey with your same fabric fitted knit skirt, for a sophisticated dress look? -Lily
2/22/08 10:00 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
double post, sorry -Lily
2/22/08 10:01 PM
Huldra said...
That's such a great idea - to copy your favourite RTW garments. I actually had the same idea a while ago and felt really stupid that I hadn't thought of it sooner. Your review gave me some great tips, especially to save one half of the top intact for reference. Thank you!
2/23/08 6:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
2/23/08 7:29 AM
Deepika said...
Fabulous!!! Love the top.
2/23/08 11:10 AM
myrooks said...
Thanks for the advice..I am taking apart the pants as the are on the trashed side. I will post with the results.
2/23/08 11:51 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Terrific job! Your sewing talent is truly apparent with this top. Perfect color for you too!
2/23/08 11:59 AM
Heatherrique said...
Marvelous and entertaining reincarnation of the H&M top! I am so impressed by your skill, ingenuity, and your persistence!
2/23/08 4:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
Such a devious sewist! I'm about to attempt to copy a Tommy Hilfiger jacket I picked up at the thrift store, hoping I can manage without taking it apart. Love this shirt - you'll get tons of use out of this pattern.
2/23/08 5:49 PM
Larkin said...
Once again, Nicegirl, I'm inspired by your logic and creativity. Your top is really cute and what better way to learn RTW techniques! Thanks for sharing all the details.
2/24/08 0:11 AM
AnneM said...
Cute top, I like the neckline.
2/24/08 1:36 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I think yours looks better than the original. Wonderful job & great review. Thanks! ;)
2/26/08 4:22 PM
shinetrue said...
Thank you for sharing this! I'm quite impressed and also inspired. I concur with Grammy; I like your version even better than the original! I love that you lengthened the sleeves, and the fabric/color looks gorgeous on you! Also, Lily brought up a good question - have you worn it with the skirt you made from the same fabric? That would be cute, too! Thanks again for sharing!
3/3/08 6:52 PM
Johanna Lu said...
I've got that t-shirt and love it :) After reading your review I am very tempted to replicate it. What a great idea! You are very resourcful indeed!
3/11/08 8:09 AM
ksavila said...
super inspiring! :-)
6/4/10 12:38 PM
Maripat said...
How cute and well done. You are an artist.
6/13/10 2:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by elladee on 10/24/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 601 Pattern
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us