SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> Online Pattern (Petticoat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1126 times 
Reviewed by:didda
photo

 
 
About diddastar
Member since: 3/17/07
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/22/08 12:49 PM
Last Updated:2/22/08 12:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jeffer said...
Very pretty petticoat! Thanks so much for the link/instructions. I am currently sewing a very full vintage skirt and was looking for a petticoat pattern to fill it out. Terrific job. I love the hem but I cannot imagine binding/sewing the ribbon around a hem that large. In my case, I might just finish the hem with my serger and a rolled hem although I don't know if that would work with netting or tulle. It wouldn't be as pretty at the hem as your ribbon is though.
12/16/08 10:00 AM
CyberNewt said...
I love your petticoat! It is beautiful! :)
4/23/08 11:43 PM
Larkin said...
The combination of your dress and the crinoline is something that it's impossible to imagine you could get in RTW. Absolutely fabulous!
2/24/08 0:16 AM
Athene said...
your petticoat is fantastic. Thank you for the link for instructions. I made myself a copy of those instructions and your review so that I could make my daughter a petticoat. It sounds like a lot of tediuous work but I still really want to make one.
2/23/08 10:10 PM
Huldra said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern, I have been curious about it. It sounds like it's as much work as I thought it would be. Crashnquilt, the elastic thread sounds like a good idea!
2/23/08 6:59 AM
OP Gal said...
Your petticoat is gorgeous. I love the bound ribbon edge. I made one of these for my DIL several years ago and swore that no one should have to make more than one of these in a lifetime. I swear I spent several lifetimes gathering that netting by hand.
2/22/08 9:45 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I love older designs like this! Yours is almost too pretty to hide under a skirt! After your review, though, it does make you wonder how her mother made one in 3 hours!
2/22/08 5:08 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW..good work!
2/22/08 5:05 PM
washer_woman said...
Very pretty! Thank you for sharing a review on these instructions!
2/22/08 4:57 PM
crashnquilt said...
You did a beautiful job. If ever you need to do gathering of that magnitude again, you may want to consider using elastic thread. Using a cording foot, you can zigzag it on, stretching as you sew. When you're done, poof you have your gathers. If it gathers up too much, just give the elastic thread a snip in a few places.
2/22/08 2:22 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a lovely bit of nostalgia, and so perfectly executed! Any chance we're going to see you in that 50's dress with the crinoline in its full glory? I'm hopeful. -Lily
2/22/08 2:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

New Look 6123

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

More Info
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info