Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 93337-1000 (Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 599 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/08 6:47 PM
Last Updated:3/2/08 1:06 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Congratulations! What a wonderful accomplishment! It looks and fits so nicely. I guess you now have a TNT A-line skirt. Just think what you can do now... The top of the skirt can become the contour waist and you can add a gathered or pleated skirt to that.... oh so many options now that the fit is perfect.
2/23/08 7:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty skirt!
2/23/08 8:26 PM
TwilaO said...
That is such a cool skirt! Love it! Good job.
2/23/08 8:38 PM
goodworks1 said...
That fits perfectly! Wonderful job!
2/23/08 9:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love it! That skirt is über cute!
2/23/08 9:23 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I want your wardrobe (and your figure)! Love the fabric. That was a great idea to draft a skirt from a pants pattern.
2/23/08 11:18 PM
Peggy L said...
Great fit! Yes, time to upgrade your rating.
2/24/08 6:42 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very nice skirt and great fabric.
2/24/08 9:07 AM
Fabricgurl said...
Your skirt is very nice and yes, it's time for an upgrade.
2/24/08 10:57 AM
jhansby said...
Very cute! Love the location of the rise on this pattern...I'll have to add it to my collection.
2/24/08 11:56 AM
EveS said...
Very cute skirt and great drafting idea! I just love that fabric, too! Yup, go for the promotion! (But I, too, have set actual goals for myself that I must achieve so I appreciate where you're coming from.)
2/24/08 2:03 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Definitely time for a promotion. Love, love, love that fabric. And using a TNT pattern to draft a skirt certainly produced a terrific fit. Way to go!
2/24/08 2:32 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute skirt. It makes me want to try a pair of these pants. I have never found a pants pattern to please me.
2/24/08 7:03 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thank you all for the kind comments. :) I want to get the Wardobe Contest done before I upgrade my skills. I am getting the hang of altering things so they fit me and I want to get really good at that before I change to intermediate. People with intermediate skills really seem like they know what they are doing and I don't want to give anyone the wrong impression. lol. Becky W, you really should try Jalie pants, they're great.
2/24/08 10:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yay! Brava! Your first pattern draft. And was it a success the first time you set pencil to paper? Or did you have to go back to the drawing board a few times? Were you afraid to begin? I'd love to know, b/c this is how I drafted my first - with great trepidation. Your skirt is beautiful, by the way, and I love the bolder pattern you chose for your lower body which is very figure flattering. -Lily
2/25/08 11:32 AM
cabinbaby said...
Lily, Lucky for me, it only took one shot to get this right. I used the Jalie pants and a couple of skirts that I had made before. I pondered over it for a day or two with all the pieces just hung up here and there until it all seemed to click. I don't think I'll ever match your drafting prowess though.
2/25/08 4:40 PM
KaraKai said...
How neat! I have this same style skirt with the exact same fabric! Of course I love it! lol
2/28/08 5:22 PM
LindsayT said...
Love the fabric; makes it stunning.
3/2/08 7:18 AM
carolynw said...
This looks like a skirt you would find in haute couture. Well done!!
3/2/08 9:12 AM
Annette1 said...
Great idea, making a skirt from a favorite pants pattern. I've mulled that one over myself, but then I think, would I actually WEAR the skirt? Ha! It's doubtful, but if I looked as nice as you do in yours, then by all means!
3/9/08 4:51 AM
Toffy said...
Good job. Great Fit. Intermediate is around the corner.
5/2/08 3:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-112
photo
Review by sandramary on 9/5/09
Read Review

New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used crate cover crate cover
photo
Review by raymondmom on 2/15/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us