SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5380 (Laura Ashley Misses' Dresses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1979 times 
Reviewed by:causticmuse
photo

 
 
About causticmusestar
FL USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/08 10:21 PM
Last Updated:2/27/08 11:50 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TwilaO said...
That is FABULOUS! SO contemporary, so flattering - and inspiring! Excellent job.
2/24/08 10:32 PM
seaweed said...
OMG I love love love it! Looks fab - perfect!
2/24/08 11:01 PM
lmg said...
Very designer-like! And very flattering. Terrific job! I must look at the pattern....
2/24/08 11:09 PM
Immelu said...
Love it!!! I love all the colors!
2/24/08 11:15 PM
rahayu said...
Wow! this is really one of a kind! Great creation!...I would really love to wear one like this....this 'rare' piece would come with a 'high' price elsewhere...
2/24/08 11:17 PM
jen_e said...
Wow, I love your creativity here! Very, very cool and it looks great on you.
2/24/08 11:22 PM
Leora said...
There's a head turner of a dress! Perfect proportions.
2/24/08 11:46 PM
Jan B. said...
V-e-r-y cute and v-e-r-y creative. Be proud of yourself.
2/24/08 11:58 PM
didda said...
great dress! i admire your creativity.
2/25/08 0:06 AM
Annette1 said...
What an ingenious design! I would have never in a million years thought to use a T-shirt as a dress/skirt, and here you've made a one-of-a-kind designer piece. As for the orange, I think you should wear more of it!
2/25/08 0:35 AM
Shrazzy said...
What a great dress---looks wonderful on you, and it's so creative!
2/25/08 6:03 AM
KaraKai said...
Very cute and very unique! Adorable dress!
2/25/08 6:20 AM
ryan's mom said...
What an innovative design! It makes for such a pretty, standout dress, much better than the plain, 'ol ordinary pattern photo!
2/25/08 7:32 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very creative! Looks great on you.
2/25/08 8:13 AM
Nancywin said...
I love seeing your creations. You always add that extra twist - and everything looks so cute on you!
2/25/08 8:20 AM
Beek said...
You look so adorable in this dress. The colors are fabulous. It looks like a Marc Jacob designer dress. Good job!
2/25/08 8:42 AM
CShelley said...
Love it! You've taken Laura Ashley to a new (and better) level IMHO. I really like reading your reviews as you're shaped much like I am. I know if it works for you it will work for me. Keep 'em coming! Thanks!
2/25/08 8:59 AM
carolynw said...
Fab and fantastic!!
2/25/08 9:15 AM
MissCelie said...
This is just splendid!
2/25/08 10:38 AM
causticmuse said...
Thanks for all the kind words everyone! It's funny, but when I started this project, I just had a strong vision of what colors I wanted to use to go with the t-shirt skirt portion. And I told DH that it would either turn out to be extremely cute...or utterly disastrous.

DH, by the way, was the one that suggested the brown and orange trim around the bottom of the skirt to disguise the plain t-shirt hem.
2/25/08 11:41 AM

sewnini said...
super cute and I am totally inspired by your creativity!
2/25/08 1:34 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Wow! That is so runway!
2/25/08 1:50 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Mahogany Stylist is so right ... this is SO runway! Killer, killer chic! Love the color combinations - your DH also has a good eye. I hope you'll wear this often as you look drop dead gorgeous. -Lily
2/25/08 6:59 PM
Peggy L said...
Your dress looks great - so creative. And, I am impressed with your photo!
2/25/08 7:22 PM
Mahler said...
Orginal, stylish and so perfect for you ! Super dress !
2/25/08 10:33 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous! You have great proportion and this dress shows it perfectly, full of great ideas here, thanks for the review.
2/26/08 6:30 PM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous Dress
2/27/08 12:32 PM
VictoriaR said...
Great Job! Looks fantastic... definitely a great creation!
2/28/08 3:26 PM
Nancy K said...
This is a terrific dress on you. Original use of materials that make a very stylish dress out of a rather ordinary pattern.
2/29/08 8:09 AM
tojoyamoto said...
Great dress!! It looks wonderful-- and a great, detailed review!
4/1/08 2:07 AM
Christine B said...
Just found your review by way of your blog (via Cassandra Forsythe's blog & book). Nice to see another NROLFW fan here on PR! Oh, yeah - loved your review, too!
8/5/08 12:02 PM
causticmuse said...
Hi Christine! How funny that you found me through Cassandra's page. :) Thanks for checking out my review!
8/6/08 8:37 AM
CatherineStar said...
Thank you for your fearless creativity. Very inspiring. The technical sewing job looks really clean. All your notes on pattern alterations valuable.
1/4/10 7:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Butterick 5353

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now