Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5380 (Laura Ashley Misses' Dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1979 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:causticmuse
photo
About causticmusestar
FL USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/08 10:21 PM
Last Updated:2/27/08 11:50 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TwilaO said...
That is FABULOUS! SO contemporary, so flattering - and inspiring! Excellent job.
2/24/08 10:32 PM
seaweed said...
OMG I love love love it! Looks fab - perfect!
2/24/08 11:01 PM
lmg said...
Very designer-like! And very flattering. Terrific job! I must look at the pattern....
2/24/08 11:09 PM
Immelu said...
Love it!!! I love all the colors!
2/24/08 11:15 PM
rahayu said...
Wow! this is really one of a kind! Great creation!...I would really love to wear one like this....this 'rare' piece would come with a 'high' price elsewhere...
2/24/08 11:17 PM
jen_e said...
Wow, I love your creativity here! Very, very cool and it looks great on you.
2/24/08 11:22 PM
Leora said...
There's a head turner of a dress! Perfect proportions.
2/24/08 11:46 PM
Jan B. said...
V-e-r-y cute and v-e-r-y creative. Be proud of yourself.
2/24/08 11:58 PM
didda said...
great dress! i admire your creativity.
2/25/08 0:06 AM
Annette1 said...
What an ingenious design! I would have never in a million years thought to use a T-shirt as a dress/skirt, and here you've made a one-of-a-kind designer piece. As for the orange, I think you should wear more of it!
2/25/08 0:35 AM
Shrazzy said...
What a great dress---looks wonderful on you, and it's so creative!
2/25/08 6:03 AM
KaraKai said...
Very cute and very unique! Adorable dress!
2/25/08 6:20 AM
ryan's mom said...
What an innovative design! It makes for such a pretty, standout dress, much better than the plain, 'ol ordinary pattern photo!
2/25/08 7:32 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very creative! Looks great on you.
2/25/08 8:13 AM
Nancywin said...
I love seeing your creations. You always add that extra twist - and everything looks so cute on you!
2/25/08 8:20 AM
Beek said...
You look so adorable in this dress. The colors are fabulous. It looks like a Marc Jacob designer dress. Good job!
2/25/08 8:42 AM
CShelley said...
Love it! You've taken Laura Ashley to a new (and better) level IMHO. I really like reading your reviews as you're shaped much like I am. I know if it works for you it will work for me. Keep 'em coming! Thanks!
2/25/08 8:59 AM
carolynw said...
Fab and fantastic!!
2/25/08 9:15 AM
MissCelie said...
This is just splendid!
2/25/08 10:38 AM
causticmuse said...
Thanks for all the kind words everyone! It's funny, but when I started this project, I just had a strong vision of what colors I wanted to use to go with the t-shirt skirt portion. And I told DH that it would either turn out to be extremely cute...or utterly disastrous.

DH, by the way, was the one that suggested the brown and orange trim around the bottom of the skirt to disguise the plain t-shirt hem.
2/25/08 11:41 AM

sewnini said...
super cute and I am totally inspired by your creativity!
2/25/08 1:34 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Wow! That is so runway!
2/25/08 1:50 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Mahogany Stylist is so right ... this is SO runway! Killer, killer chic! Love the color combinations - your DH also has a good eye. I hope you'll wear this often as you look drop dead gorgeous. -Lily
2/25/08 6:59 PM
Peggy L said...
Your dress looks great - so creative. And, I am impressed with your photo!
2/25/08 7:22 PM
Mahler said...
Orginal, stylish and so perfect for you ! Super dress !
2/25/08 10:33 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous! You have great proportion and this dress shows it perfectly, full of great ideas here, thanks for the review.
2/26/08 6:30 PM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous Dress
2/27/08 12:32 PM
VictoriaR said...
Great Job! Looks fantastic... definitely a great creation!
2/28/08 3:26 PM
Nancy K said...
This is a terrific dress on you. Original use of materials that make a very stylish dress out of a rather ordinary pattern.
2/29/08 8:09 AM
tojoyamoto said...
Great dress!! It looks wonderful-- and a great, detailed review!
4/1/08 2:07 AM
Christine B said...
Just found your review by way of your blog (via Cassandra Forsythe's blog & book). Nice to see another NROLFW fan here on PR! Oh, yeah - loved your review, too!
8/5/08 12:02 PM
causticmuse said...
Hi Christine! How funny that you found me through Cassandra's page. :) Thanks for checking out my review!
8/6/08 8:37 AM
CatherineStar said...
Thank you for your fearless creativity. Very inspiring. The technical sewing job looks really clean. All your notes on pattern alterations valuable.
1/4/10 7:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by elladee on 10/24/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 601 Pattern
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us