SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5380 (Laura Ashley Misses' Dresses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1980 times 
Reviewed by:causticmuse
photo

 
 
About causticmusestar
FL USA
Member since: 12/2/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/08 10:21 PM
Last Updated:2/27/08 11:50 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineStar said...
Thank you for your fearless creativity. Very inspiring. The technical sewing job looks really clean. All your notes on pattern alterations valuable.
1/4/10 7:47 PM
causticmuse said...
Hi Christine! How funny that you found me through Cassandra's page. :) Thanks for checking out my review!
8/6/08 8:37 AM
Christine B said...
Just found your review by way of your blog (via Cassandra Forsythe's blog & book). Nice to see another NROLFW fan here on PR! Oh, yeah - loved your review, too!
8/5/08 12:02 PM
tojoyamoto said...
Great dress!! It looks wonderful-- and a great, detailed review!
4/1/08 2:07 AM
Nancy K said...
This is a terrific dress on you. Original use of materials that make a very stylish dress out of a rather ordinary pattern.
2/29/08 8:09 AM
VictoriaR said...
Great Job! Looks fantastic... definitely a great creation!
2/28/08 3:26 PM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous Dress
2/27/08 12:32 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous! You have great proportion and this dress shows it perfectly, full of great ideas here, thanks for the review.
2/26/08 6:30 PM
Mahler said...
Orginal, stylish and so perfect for you ! Super dress !
2/25/08 10:33 PM
Peggy L said...
Your dress looks great - so creative. And, I am impressed with your photo!
2/25/08 7:22 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Mahogany Stylist is so right ... this is SO runway! Killer, killer chic! Love the color combinations - your DH also has a good eye. I hope you'll wear this often as you look drop dead gorgeous. -Lily
2/25/08 6:59 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Wow! That is so runway!
2/25/08 1:50 PM
sewnini said...
super cute and I am totally inspired by your creativity!
2/25/08 1:34 PM
causticmuse said...
Thanks for all the kind words everyone! It's funny, but when I started this project, I just had a strong vision of what colors I wanted to use to go with the t-shirt skirt portion. And I told DH that it would either turn out to be extremely cute...or utterly disastrous.

DH, by the way, was the one that suggested the brown and orange trim around the bottom of the skirt to disguise the plain t-shirt hem.
2/25/08 11:41 AM

MissCelie said...
This is just splendid!
2/25/08 10:38 AM
carolynw said...
Fab and fantastic!!
2/25/08 9:15 AM
CShelley said...
Love it! You've taken Laura Ashley to a new (and better) level IMHO. I really like reading your reviews as you're shaped much like I am. I know if it works for you it will work for me. Keep 'em coming! Thanks!
2/25/08 8:59 AM
Beek said...
You look so adorable in this dress. The colors are fabulous. It looks like a Marc Jacob designer dress. Good job!
2/25/08 8:42 AM
Nancywin said...
I love seeing your creations. You always add that extra twist - and everything looks so cute on you!
2/25/08 8:20 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very creative! Looks great on you.
2/25/08 8:13 AM
ryan's mom said...
What an innovative design! It makes for such a pretty, standout dress, much better than the plain, 'ol ordinary pattern photo!
2/25/08 7:32 AM
KaraKai said...
Very cute and very unique! Adorable dress!
2/25/08 6:20 AM
Shrazzy said...
What a great dress---looks wonderful on you, and it's so creative!
2/25/08 6:03 AM
Annette1 said...
What an ingenious design! I would have never in a million years thought to use a T-shirt as a dress/skirt, and here you've made a one-of-a-kind designer piece. As for the orange, I think you should wear more of it!
2/25/08 0:35 AM
didda said...
great dress! i admire your creativity.
2/25/08 0:06 AM
Jan B. said...
V-e-r-y cute and v-e-r-y creative. Be proud of yourself.
2/24/08 11:58 PM
Leora said...
There's a head turner of a dress! Perfect proportions.
2/24/08 11:46 PM
jen_e said...
Wow, I love your creativity here! Very, very cool and it looks great on you.
2/24/08 11:22 PM
rahayu said...
Wow! this is really one of a kind! Great creation!...I would really love to wear one like this....this 'rare' piece would come with a 'high' price elsewhere...
2/24/08 11:17 PM
Immelu said...
Love it!!! I love all the colors!
2/24/08 11:15 PM
lmg said...
Very designer-like! And very flattering. Terrific job! I must look at the pattern....
2/24/08 11:09 PM
seaweed said...
OMG I love love love it! Looks fab - perfect!
2/24/08 11:01 PM
TwilaO said...
That is FABULOUS! SO contemporary, so flattering - and inspiring! Excellent job.
2/24/08 10:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

More Info