Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3041 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1914 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 250 (patterns: 231)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 92 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/03 6:01 PM
Last Updated:5/12/03 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said... (5/13/03 11:40 AM) Reply
Oops. I just read the pattern description. KS 2929 has a more tapered leg and darts with a zipper closure.
Mini said... (5/13/03 11:36 AM) Reply
It looks like you found a perfect pants pattern. This is a classic example of a Kwik Sew pattern that looks much better than the unexciting illustration. Kwik Sew 2929 has a similar shirt, with darts, for plus sizes. The pants look like they have a similar construction too.
Karla Kizer said... (5/12/03 9:45 PM) Reply
Hey...wow...I bought this pattern some time ago and then wondered why. Now I know! Your pants look great, and I've been thinking about making a few camp shirts for summer....Ooooh - scrub pants. I can make a muslin out of some scrubs fabric and kill two birds with one stone! Thanks, Lisa.....
Lisa Laree said... (5/12/03 9:15 PM) Reply
No, Sherril, there are no darts in any of the sizes on the shirt. The pattern states that the finished measurement for the bust is 47 1/4" for size L and 51 1/4" for size XL. The shirt pattern has the Kwik-Sew standard 1/4" seam allowances. Regarding the pants: I don't know how much taper you're looking for; these are not obviously (to my eye, anyway) tapered pants. But, they do have seams on both sides of the leg, so you could probably taper them in a bit if you wanted! HTH!
Sherril Miller said... (5/12/03 8:56 PM) Reply
Lisa, maybe this is the pull-on pants for me? I'm still looking. Yours look great. I also like that camp shirt pattern. Does the large or x-large have a bust dart?
Teri said... (5/12/03 8:26 PM) Reply
Your pants look great. Thanks for the pictures of the pocket.
cindyann said... (5/12/03 7:55 PM) Reply
Very nice looking pocket. Thank you for the detailed review on this techinque. Attractive pants.
MaryBeth said... (5/12/03 6:54 PM) Reply
Sharp looking pants, Lisa. Your description of the pocket technique makes me think I need to buy the pattern to learn the technique. Thanks for the review.
Gigi Louis said... (5/12/03 6:09 PM) Reply
Lisa - those pants look great on you! Hey, I always make pull-ons so that they *just* make it over my hips - like you, I hate too much excess fabric at the waistline (I have my own bulk there, thank you very much). The pocket technique in this pattern is my favorite also - it's easy to do and much less bulky than the elephant-ear variety (not to mention that it doesn't flop around as much). Looks like this will be a winner for you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1318

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Megan Nielsen MN2303

photo
by: hnordquist

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details