SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3041 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1914 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/03 6:01 PM
Last Updated:5/12/03 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Oops. I just read the pattern description. KS 2929 has a more tapered leg and darts with a zipper closure.
5/13/03 11:40 AM
Mini said...
It looks like you found a perfect pants pattern. This is a classic example of a Kwik Sew pattern that looks much better than the unexciting illustration. Kwik Sew 2929 has a similar shirt, with darts, for plus sizes. The pants look like they have a similar construction too.
5/13/03 11:36 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Hey...wow...I bought this pattern some time ago and then wondered why. Now I know! Your pants look great, and I've been thinking about making a few camp shirts for summer....Ooooh - scrub pants. I can make a muslin out of some scrubs fabric and kill two birds with one stone! Thanks, Lisa.....
5/12/03 9:45 PM
Lisa Laree said...
No, Sherril, there are no darts in any of the sizes on the shirt. The pattern states that the finished measurement for the bust is 47 1/4" for size L and 51 1/4" for size XL. The shirt pattern has the Kwik-Sew standard 1/4" seam allowances. Regarding the pants: I don't know how much taper you're looking for; these are not obviously (to my eye, anyway) tapered pants. But, they do have seams on both sides of the leg, so you could probably taper them in a bit if you wanted! HTH!
5/12/03 9:15 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Lisa, maybe this is the pull-on pants for me? I'm still looking. Yours look great. I also like that camp shirt pattern. Does the large or x-large have a bust dart?
5/12/03 8:56 PM
Teri said...
Your pants look great. Thanks for the pictures of the pocket.
5/12/03 8:26 PM
cindyann said...
Very nice looking pocket. Thank you for the detailed review on this techinque. Attractive pants.
5/12/03 7:55 PM
MaryBeth said...
Sharp looking pants, Lisa. Your description of the pocket technique makes me think I need to buy the pattern to learn the technique. Thanks for the review.
5/12/03 6:54 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Lisa - those pants look great on you! Hey, I always make pull-ons so that they *just* make it over my hips - like you, I hate too much excess fabric at the waistline (I have my own bulk there, thank you very much). The pocket technique in this pattern is my favorite also - it's easy to do and much less bulky than the elephant-ear variety (not to mention that it doesn't flop around as much). Looks like this will be a winner for you.
5/12/03 6:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now