SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 2989 (Island Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 989 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/08 2:10 PM
Last Updated:2/25/08 2:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Great modfication. Quite frankly, it beats the ratty t-shirt I use to cover up with on the beach. Plus, they are pretty and comfortable looking.
2/25/08 5:33 PM
Peggy L said...
I remember these type of pants from a long time ago. Great for the dock or pool.
2/25/08 7:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very snazzy looking.
2/25/08 7:46 PM
AnneM said...
Interesting. I particularly like your parting thought about a cool pair of pants to cover with (I'm a fan of that in the summer sun, being light skinned). P.S. I think I agree with you; the tie on the white pair just doesn't work well for you.
2/25/08 8:42 PM
CharityAK said...
One of my sewing students just bought this pattern. I will have to bring this review to her attention before she begins. Thanks so much!
2/25/08 9:03 PM
Celeste said...
I think they would hang better with a drapey rayon or maybe slinky type knit??
2/25/08 10:12 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I remember these well from the 70's and you couldn't climb stairs (or do much else) in them then, too. But they always looked so dreamy, and yours do, too. Changing them to elastic waist wrap pants was a perfect compromise and you'll be comfy, pretty in your at-home evening parties. -Lily
2/25/08 10:18 PM
j222b said...
They're cute, just thinking out-loud here, I wonder if they'd be more flattering & do your figure more justice if they were cropped a bit?http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/catalog/prod.jhtml;jsessionid=W2J4EFHCZ5NTSCQAAKHBADA?itemId=prod48230049&parentId=cat000727&index=558&cmCat=cat000000cat000001cat000111cat000727
2/25/08 10:34 PM
LauraLo said...
So cute and so comfy, they must feel like a seabreeze against the skin! I have a pair of these pants (we call them Thai pants), in a heavier linen, and they are the best there is on a hot summer day.
2/26/08 2:54 AM
Huldra said...
I made a pair of pants like these as a teenager. I wore them to death. I wore them out and about town too! lol As I recall they were faily comfortable...
2/26/08 7:12 AM
Kellie R. said...
I really like these Marji! Your waist modification was a good idea. They look great on you!!! Did you bring the warm weather with you? LOL
2/26/08 7:54 AM
SewVeryTall said...
What a great pair of lounge pants! Your modification is genius, and 100% improvement...not only in looks, but in wearability. Beautiful and flowing :)
3/1/08 9:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Japanese Pattern Books

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Lutterloh 2005 26

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now