SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 2989 (Island Pants)

4 more reviews
Viewed 992 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/08 2:10 PM
Last Updated:2/25/08 2:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
What a great pair of lounge pants! Your modification is genius, and 100% improvement...not only in looks, but in wearability. Beautiful and flowing :)
3/1/08 9:34 AM
Kellie R. said...
I really like these Marji! Your waist modification was a good idea. They look great on you!!! Did you bring the warm weather with you? LOL
2/26/08 7:54 AM
Huldra said...
I made a pair of pants like these as a teenager. I wore them to death. I wore them out and about town too! lol As I recall they were faily comfortable...
2/26/08 7:12 AM
LauraLo said...
So cute and so comfy, they must feel like a seabreeze against the skin! I have a pair of these pants (we call them Thai pants), in a heavier linen, and they are the best there is on a hot summer day.
2/26/08 2:54 AM
j222b said...
They're cute, just thinking out-loud here, I wonder if they'd be more flattering & do your figure more justice if they were cropped a bit?http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/catalog/prod.jhtml;jsessionid=W2J4EFHCZ5NTSCQAAKHBADA?itemId=prod48230049&parentId=cat000727&index=558&cmCat=cat000000cat000001cat000111cat000727
2/25/08 10:34 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I remember these well from the 70's and you couldn't climb stairs (or do much else) in them then, too. But they always looked so dreamy, and yours do, too. Changing them to elastic waist wrap pants was a perfect compromise and you'll be comfy, pretty in your at-home evening parties. -Lily
2/25/08 10:18 PM
Celeste said...
I think they would hang better with a drapey rayon or maybe slinky type knit??
2/25/08 10:12 PM
CharityAK said...
One of my sewing students just bought this pattern. I will have to bring this review to her attention before she begins. Thanks so much!
2/25/08 9:03 PM
AnneM said...
Interesting. I particularly like your parting thought about a cool pair of pants to cover with (I'm a fan of that in the summer sun, being light skinned). P.S. I think I agree with you; the tie on the white pair just doesn't work well for you.
2/25/08 8:42 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very snazzy looking.
2/25/08 7:46 PM
Peggy L said...
I remember these type of pants from a long time ago. Great for the dock or pool.
2/25/08 7:18 PM
MissCelie said...
Great modfication. Quite frankly, it beats the ratty t-shirt I use to cover up with on the beach. Plus, they are pretty and comfortable looking.
2/25/08 5:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 2364

photo
by: DreinPA

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

More Info
New Look 6734

photo
by: lovenicky

Review