SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1780 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/03 4:09 AM
Last Updated:5/13/03 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
wow, ann! i think this is one of my favorite outfits of yours! great fabric, too.
5/13/03 5:58 AM
jlg said...
You always do such nice work. This is a great version of this dress.
5/13/03 8:13 AM
Gigi Louis said...
This pattern is a favorite of mine too. This is so stunning on you and, as usual, your choice of fabric really makes the dress.
5/13/03 9:01 AM
Deepika said...
Ann the dress is lovely! And I like your fabric too. Was rayon a little difficult to sew?
5/13/03 10:15 AM
Skymom said...
Ann, it is such a pleasure to see someone who uses prints and color with so much style! I love this dress! Can you tell me, how do you think the style would work on someone with narrow shoulders and a very minimal bustline? It looks so graceful on you, but I'm afraid it might be impossible to fit attractively on my distinctly unshapely torso!
5/13/03 12:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
Deepika: this rayon was wonderful to work with. I followed Loes' suggestion to serge finish the edges first, then straight stitch the seam. This helped to stabilize the fabric. That reminds me, I meant to mention in the review about the bias seam. I will edit the review to add that. Skymom: the dress does hang and shape from the shoulders and bust. There is no shoulder seam so the sleeves may help to extend a narrow shoulder. It is so easy to make it would be worth making a quick muslin of the bodice to see how it shapes on you.
5/13/03 2:54 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann - do you think this style is a candidate for slinky knit?
5/13/03 5:25 PM
Karen Bowers said...
phyllis, for all that this pattern is fairly simple, i think this pattern has too much detail for slinky. there is a vertical bust dart at the waist. i also think the curved hem would be difficult to manage with the weightiness of slinky.
5/13/03 7:10 PM
Julia Graham said...
Ann, absolutely beautiful! You are a veritable yente for hard-to-pair fabrics and patterns...
5/13/03 7:43 PM
guillorypr said...
beautiful dress!!!
5/13/03 7:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
Phyllis: I think you could do this dress in slinky if you stabilize the waistline seam. You could just cut the skirt hem and not hem it. I've seen that suggested as a finish on slinky hems.
5/13/03 10:52 PM
Michelle said...
Lovely dress. I have had this pattern but haven't made it up yet. Need to do that now!! Thanks Ann!!
5/13/03 10:53 PM
TSingh said...
I love your fabric choice as usual. I've had my eye on this pattern for quite a while.
7/22/03 11:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-107

photo
by: lbreton

Review
Burda 7791

photo
by: marec

Review
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now