SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8215 (Vogue Tote Bags)

Viewed 873 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/08 10:30 PM
Last Updated:10/23/09 1:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Wino said...
Super cute-the fabric choice is ideal.
10/24/09 8:26 AM
KathleenS said...
This is just perfect. I love the shape and the fabric and I think it's great for knitting. I'm just making a knitting bag with another pattern and I just wish I'd seen this review sooner. Thanks for all the detail - I wouldn't have realised it had a zip from the pattern photo - and thanks for the binder tip.
4/20/08 6:11 AM
VtMartha said...
Cute bag! I have always heard that knitting needles were exempt from scrutiny on planes (for whatever reason) and I have never had any trouble flying with them. That said, I am hardly a frequent flier.
2/28/08 6:55 AM
MissCelie said...
So, I never get excited by bags... but this is pretty cool looking!
2/27/08 10:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous bag and fabulous review, full of original ideas and how-to's. Thank you for sharing so many of your secrets. -Lily
2/27/08 10:26 PM
EveS said...
How. Cute. Is. THAT!! I usually don't consider myself much of a bag lady...er...girl, but this is very cool. Thanks for tempting me to branch out and for the entertaining read!
2/27/08 10:00 PM
Athene said...
Oh, this bag is so wonderful. It makes me think of going out for lunch and drinks with the girls. Thank you for the very helpful review - great tip about the binders and stapling.
2/27/08 8:40 PM
sewnini said...
Great bag, love the fabric too! I found your review to be helpful as well as entertaining.
2/27/08 12:31 PM
Jan Flaherty said...
Great fabric choice, it makes the bag. Thanks for the tip on the Mead binder.
2/27/08 9:30 AM
CShelley said...
The bags on the pattern seem so blah compared to yours. You've got a winner! Thanks for the enjoyable review.
2/27/08 9:16 AM
Sic said...
Great bag! I also use an open-topped Lancome bag for my knitting and am so very jealous of your more functional bag!
2/27/08 7:44 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
That bag is great! I love the binder idea.
2/27/08 6:21 AM
inkstain said...
How do you get knitting needles through flight security? I'll fly your airline! Meanwhile, on the cardboard issue, good to know about your plastic choice. I've found on smaller projects that the adhesive-backed squares of flat carpeting found in hardware shops is good. Very cuttable, soft surface and bendable and of course, fixed to the bag bottom by the adhesive that usually keeps the square stuck to the floor. Nice work.
2/27/08 4:04 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Very cute. Much nicer than the pattern cover! You are such a great seamstress! The fabric choice is perfect!
2/27/08 0:42 AM
twistedangel said...
Oh, about the knitting needles and crochet hooks ... I always bring the XL bamboo knitting needles (very blunt), and bamboo crochet hooks (bought these in China).
2/26/08 11:23 PM
PJH said...
Great review. And the bag looks really fab. But how are you allowed knitting needles and crochet hooks on planes? I know they'd be confiscated in Australia at least.
2/26/08 11:21 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for a hilarious review, and great knitting bag love the fabric! I'm surprised you are allowed to take knitting needles onto a plane these days!
2/26/08 11:09 PM
akazukinchan said...
Thanks so much for the binder plastic idea. Just the other day I was wondering if using cardboard was such a great idea. I'm impressed with your finished project.
2/26/08 10:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-118

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-18

photo
by: myraminx

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now