Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8215 (Vogue Tote Bags) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 873 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/08 10:30 PM
Last Updated:10/23/09 1:50 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
akazukinchan said...
Thanks so much for the binder plastic idea. Just the other day I was wondering if using cardboard was such a great idea. I'm impressed with your finished project.
2/26/08 10:39 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for a hilarious review, and great knitting bag love the fabric! I'm surprised you are allowed to take knitting needles onto a plane these days!
2/26/08 11:09 PM
PJH said...
Great review. And the bag looks really fab. But how are you allowed knitting needles and crochet hooks on planes? I know they'd be confiscated in Australia at least.
2/26/08 11:21 PM
twistedangel said...
Oh, about the knitting needles and crochet hooks ... I always bring the XL bamboo knitting needles (very blunt), and bamboo crochet hooks (bought these in China).
2/26/08 11:23 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Very cute. Much nicer than the pattern cover! You are such a great seamstress! The fabric choice is perfect!
2/27/08 0:42 AM
inkstain said...
How do you get knitting needles through flight security? I'll fly your airline! Meanwhile, on the cardboard issue, good to know about your plastic choice. I've found on smaller projects that the adhesive-backed squares of flat carpeting found in hardware shops is good. Very cuttable, soft surface and bendable and of course, fixed to the bag bottom by the adhesive that usually keeps the square stuck to the floor. Nice work.
2/27/08 4:04 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
That bag is great! I love the binder idea.
2/27/08 6:21 AM
Sic said...
Great bag! I also use an open-topped Lancome bag for my knitting and am so very jealous of your more functional bag!
2/27/08 7:44 AM
CShelley said...
The bags on the pattern seem so blah compared to yours. You've got a winner! Thanks for the enjoyable review.
2/27/08 9:16 AM
Jan Flaherty said...
Great fabric choice, it makes the bag. Thanks for the tip on the Mead binder.
2/27/08 9:30 AM
sewnini said...
Great bag, love the fabric too! I found your review to be helpful as well as entertaining.
2/27/08 12:31 PM
Athene said...
Oh, this bag is so wonderful. It makes me think of going out for lunch and drinks with the girls. Thank you for the very helpful review - great tip about the binders and stapling.
2/27/08 8:40 PM
EveS said...
How. Cute. Is. THAT!! I usually don't consider myself much of a bag lady...er...girl, but this is very cool. Thanks for tempting me to branch out and for the entertaining read!
2/27/08 10:00 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous bag and fabulous review, full of original ideas and how-to's. Thank you for sharing so many of your secrets. -Lily
2/27/08 10:26 PM
MissCelie said...
So, I never get excited by bags... but this is pretty cool looking!
2/27/08 10:46 PM
VtMartha said...
Cute bag! I have always heard that knitting needles were exempt from scrutiny on planes (for whatever reason) and I have never had any trouble flying with them. That said, I am hardly a frequent flier.
2/28/08 6:55 AM
KathleenS said...
This is just perfect. I love the shape and the fabric and I think it's great for knitting. I'm just making a knitting bag with another pattern and I just wish I'd seen this review sooner. Thanks for all the detail - I wouldn't have realised it had a zip from the pattern photo - and thanks for the binder tip.
4/20/08 6:11 AM
Wino said...
Super cute-the fabric choice is ideal.
10/24/09 8:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-134 Pyjamas
photo
Review by lara900 on 11/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5525 Misses' Top
photo
Review by Michelle L on 10/3/10
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us