SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8215 (Vogue Tote Bags)

Viewed 873 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/08 10:30 PM
Last Updated:10/23/09 1:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
akazukinchan said...
Thanks so much for the binder plastic idea. Just the other day I was wondering if using cardboard was such a great idea. I'm impressed with your finished project.
2/26/08 10:39 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for a hilarious review, and great knitting bag love the fabric! I'm surprised you are allowed to take knitting needles onto a plane these days!
2/26/08 11:09 PM
PJH said...
Great review. And the bag looks really fab. But how are you allowed knitting needles and crochet hooks on planes? I know they'd be confiscated in Australia at least.
2/26/08 11:21 PM
twistedangel said...
Oh, about the knitting needles and crochet hooks ... I always bring the XL bamboo knitting needles (very blunt), and bamboo crochet hooks (bought these in China).
2/26/08 11:23 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Very cute. Much nicer than the pattern cover! You are such a great seamstress! The fabric choice is perfect!
2/27/08 0:42 AM
inkstain said...
How do you get knitting needles through flight security? I'll fly your airline! Meanwhile, on the cardboard issue, good to know about your plastic choice. I've found on smaller projects that the adhesive-backed squares of flat carpeting found in hardware shops is good. Very cuttable, soft surface and bendable and of course, fixed to the bag bottom by the adhesive that usually keeps the square stuck to the floor. Nice work.
2/27/08 4:04 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
That bag is great! I love the binder idea.
2/27/08 6:21 AM
Sic said...
Great bag! I also use an open-topped Lancome bag for my knitting and am so very jealous of your more functional bag!
2/27/08 7:44 AM
CShelley said...
The bags on the pattern seem so blah compared to yours. You've got a winner! Thanks for the enjoyable review.
2/27/08 9:16 AM
Jan Flaherty said...
Great fabric choice, it makes the bag. Thanks for the tip on the Mead binder.
2/27/08 9:30 AM
sewnini said...
Great bag, love the fabric too! I found your review to be helpful as well as entertaining.
2/27/08 12:31 PM
Athene said...
Oh, this bag is so wonderful. It makes me think of going out for lunch and drinks with the girls. Thank you for the very helpful review - great tip about the binders and stapling.
2/27/08 8:40 PM
EveS said...
How. Cute. Is. THAT!! I usually don't consider myself much of a bag lady...er...girl, but this is very cool. Thanks for tempting me to branch out and for the entertaining read!
2/27/08 10:00 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous bag and fabulous review, full of original ideas and how-to's. Thank you for sharing so many of your secrets. -Lily
2/27/08 10:26 PM
MissCelie said...
So, I never get excited by bags... but this is pretty cool looking!
2/27/08 10:46 PM
VtMartha said...
Cute bag! I have always heard that knitting needles were exempt from scrutiny on planes (for whatever reason) and I have never had any trouble flying with them. That said, I am hardly a frequent flier.
2/28/08 6:55 AM
KathleenS said...
This is just perfect. I love the shape and the fabric and I think it's great for knitting. I'm just making a knitting bag with another pattern and I just wish I'd seen this review sooner. Thanks for all the detail - I wouldn't have realised it had a zip from the pattern photo - and thanks for the binder tip.
4/20/08 6:11 AM
Wino said...
Super cute-the fabric choice is ideal.
10/24/09 8:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Kwik Sew 2881

photo
by: SamF

Review
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Silhouette Patterns 310

photo
by: ggf2005

Review