Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 7182 thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1046 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Peachstt
photo
About Peachsttstar
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/03 10:55 AM
Last Updated:5/16/03 10:19 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carlo said...
PeachST, Nice review -- thanks. I bought this pattern for .99 on sale just for the hat pattern but now I think I might try the shell too. Let us know how the pants turn out when you make them.
5/13/03 2:08 PM
AnneM said...
Glad it came out well; I like the shell with this pattern. Perhaps you can get over the seam area by going slowly, lengthening the stitch slightly, &/or turning the machine needle by hand. I find turning it by hand helpful sometimes.
5/13/03 3:34 PM
Susan Parker said...
To sew over a bulky seam such as a the side seams when you're sewing the hem, you can use something called a jean-ma-jig or you can use a prop which is about the same height as the thickness of the "hump". When you get to that spot where the hump is, you'll find the presser foot "climbing" up the hill. When that happens, stop sewing, lift the presser foot (with the needle still in the fabric, put your prop or jean-ma-jig under the back of the presser foot, then drop the presser foot back down. The presser foot should be close to level now. Remember to drop the presser foot! Now you can either use the foot pedal to move the needle forward like usual or you can hand turn the machine if you're nervous. You may need to adjust your prop to get the fabric to move. So, now you sew until the presser foot starts to go "down" the hill of the hump. Stop with the needle in the fabric, lift the presser foot, move the prop to underneath the front of the presser foot, drop the presser foot. Sew a few stitches until the back of the presser foot has started down the hill. Remove the prop and continue sewing. The prop will help to keep your stitches a little more even--not huge and eensy weensy ones. Your Kenmore is a sturdy machine. Be glad it's good quality! Don't forget to take it in occasionally (once a year or two) for a cleaning or have someone show you how to do it yourself. Your machine will last a long time then. Keep on sewing!
5/13/03 3:42 PM
Rustybobn said...
Someone, somewhere, suggested using a plastic sewing machine needle case to level the presser foot when sewing over humps. I think that's a great tip.
5/13/03 4:29 PM
Peachstt said...
Thanks for the suggestions about sewing the bulky seams. I'm gonna try them all for my next project.
5/14/03 11:42 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Peachstt, the problem you described with your collar stretching might have more to do with the fabric rather than your technique. Sometimes those bargain knits do not have very good recovery. I had a similar problem on a t-shirt and Gigi recommended using "stay-stitch plus" (the easing technique where you put your finger behind the presser foot) to prevent stretching. I haven't tried this. With knits especially, I've found that the better quality fabrics are easier to sew, because they don't stretch out of shape so much.
5/16/03 10:35 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Oops, I just noticed you said "bumps" not stretching. If the bumps are puckers, then try hand basting, Steam-a-Seam, or Washaway Wonder Tape to better control the fabric.
5/16/03 10:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 4095
photo
Review by merrypatte... on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by relliotts on 11/8/11
Read Review

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us