SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7182 

4 more reviews
Viewed 1047 times 
Reviewed by:Peachstt
photo

 
 
About Peachsttstar
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/03 10:55 AM
Last Updated:5/16/03 10:19 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Oops, I just noticed you said "bumps" not stretching. If the bumps are puckers, then try hand basting, Steam-a-Seam, or Washaway Wonder Tape to better control the fabric.
5/16/03 10:40 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Peachstt, the problem you described with your collar stretching might have more to do with the fabric rather than your technique. Sometimes those bargain knits do not have very good recovery. I had a similar problem on a t-shirt and Gigi recommended using "stay-stitch plus" (the easing technique where you put your finger behind the presser foot) to prevent stretching. I haven't tried this. With knits especially, I've found that the better quality fabrics are easier to sew, because they don't stretch out of shape so much.
5/16/03 10:35 AM
Peachstt said...
Thanks for the suggestions about sewing the bulky seams. I'm gonna try them all for my next project.
5/14/03 11:42 AM
Rustybobn said...
Someone, somewhere, suggested using a plastic sewing machine needle case to level the presser foot when sewing over humps. I think that's a great tip.
5/13/03 4:29 PM
Susan Parker said...
To sew over a bulky seam such as a the side seams when you're sewing the hem, you can use something called a jean-ma-jig or you can use a prop which is about the same height as the thickness of the "hump". When you get to that spot where the hump is, you'll find the presser foot "climbing" up the hill. When that happens, stop sewing, lift the presser foot (with the needle still in the fabric, put your prop or jean-ma-jig under the back of the presser foot, then drop the presser foot back down. The presser foot should be close to level now. Remember to drop the presser foot! Now you can either use the foot pedal to move the needle forward like usual or you can hand turn the machine if you're nervous. You may need to adjust your prop to get the fabric to move. So, now you sew until the presser foot starts to go "down" the hill of the hump. Stop with the needle in the fabric, lift the presser foot, move the prop to underneath the front of the presser foot, drop the presser foot. Sew a few stitches until the back of the presser foot has started down the hill. Remove the prop and continue sewing. The prop will help to keep your stitches a little more even--not huge and eensy weensy ones. Your Kenmore is a sturdy machine. Be glad it's good quality! Don't forget to take it in occasionally (once a year or two) for a cleaning or have someone show you how to do it yourself. Your machine will last a long time then. Keep on sewing!
5/13/03 3:42 PM
AnneM said...
Glad it came out well; I like the shell with this pattern. Perhaps you can get over the seam area by going slowly, lengthening the stitch slightly, &/or turning the machine needle by hand. I find turning it by hand helpful sometimes.
5/13/03 3:34 PM
Carlo said...
PeachST, Nice review -- thanks. I bought this pattern for .99 on sale just for the hat pattern but now I think I might try the shell too. Let us know how the pants turn out when you make them.
5/13/03 2:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-106

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2012-128

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

More Info