Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8220 (Shirt * T-Shirt) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 752 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:kellymailinglist
photo
About kellymailinglist
OH USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/08 11:11 AM
Last Updated:2/27/08 11:11 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Modiste Madness said...
This is a great review from a beginning sewer perspective. We need those here because so many people are just starting out. Hopefully you can find a sewing buddy who can help you over the bumps. It will help keep your motivation high too. You were so smart to pick a pattern like this for the first one. I hope you post a picture of yourself in it. Seam finishes? The ones you mentions are ambitious for a beginner but you could do them. Aig zagging the seam allowance edges is always a great alternative if you want them to lie flat. You can also press the seam open then zig zag the two seam allowance together flat; maybe about 1/2" from original seam; then trim the excess fabric. Keep your momentum going!
2/28/08 9:30 AM
Irene Q said...
Great review - and welcome! I'll bet that fabric softens up a bit after you wash it a few times.
2/28/08 11:18 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Kathy & Irene: Thanks for the warm welcome! Kathy, a sewing buddy would be nice, but I'm also signed up for 'Sewing 101' classes that start in a couple of weeks, in addition to the 9 hours of training my Viking dealer gives customers. With the seam finishes, they actually weren't that difficult for me, oddly enough. I thought of the zigzag finish, but I was worried that I wouldn't be able to catch the edge adequately and that it wouldn't actually keep the seam from fraying. As it turns out, the pinking didn't keep the one seam from fraying, either, after a wash. Only the areas where I decided to turn under the SA twice remain un-frayed. And, yep, Irene, with just one wash it did soften some, even though I had pre-washed. I'm guessing that the advice where folks suggest washing linen several times before sewing might be beneficial to this linen/rayon blend, too. Thanks for the feedback!
2/28/08 1:46 PM
Edna Walker said...
I sewed up this pattern, first in a metallic blend for a party, later in a cotton blend and later in a gold lace knit blend with 3/4 sleeves and I love the pattern.
6/19/08 10:51 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the informative review. I have this pattern but have not yet made it up - I will be sure and refer to your review when I do make it. I too like this pattern for the styling with the back cascading longer than the front.
7/21/08 10:11 PM
shev said...
Great review. Very informative and detailed. Thanks for including your RTW size - it helps give me an idea of how the pattern's sizing works. Would love to see a picture!
12/20/09 5:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by edupraz on 2/26/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8767 Vintage Vogue
photo
Review by calypso on 10/17/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us