SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8220 (Shirt * T-Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 771 times 
Reviewed by:kellymailinglist
photo

 
 
About kellymailinglist
OH USA
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/08 11:11 AM
Last Updated:2/27/08 11:11 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Modiste Madness said...
This is a great review from a beginning sewer perspective. We need those here because so many people are just starting out. Hopefully you can find a sewing buddy who can help you over the bumps. It will help keep your motivation high too. You were so smart to pick a pattern like this for the first one. I hope you post a picture of yourself in it. Seam finishes? The ones you mentions are ambitious for a beginner but you could do them. Aig zagging the seam allowance edges is always a great alternative if you want them to lie flat. You can also press the seam open then zig zag the two seam allowance together flat; maybe about 1/2" from original seam; then trim the excess fabric. Keep your momentum going!
2/28/08 9:30 AM
Irene Q said...
Great review - and welcome! I'll bet that fabric softens up a bit after you wash it a few times.
2/28/08 11:18 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Kathy & Irene: Thanks for the warm welcome! Kathy, a sewing buddy would be nice, but I'm also signed up for 'Sewing 101' classes that start in a couple of weeks, in addition to the 9 hours of training my Viking dealer gives customers. With the seam finishes, they actually weren't that difficult for me, oddly enough. I thought of the zigzag finish, but I was worried that I wouldn't be able to catch the edge adequately and that it wouldn't actually keep the seam from fraying. As it turns out, the pinking didn't keep the one seam from fraying, either, after a wash. Only the areas where I decided to turn under the SA twice remain un-frayed. And, yep, Irene, with just one wash it did soften some, even though I had pre-washed. I'm guessing that the advice where folks suggest washing linen several times before sewing might be beneficial to this linen/rayon blend, too. Thanks for the feedback!
2/28/08 1:46 PM
Edna Walker said...
I sewed up this pattern, first in a metallic blend for a party, later in a cotton blend and later in a gold lace knit blend with 3/4 sleeves and I love the pattern.
6/19/08 10:51 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the informative review. I have this pattern but have not yet made it up - I will be sure and refer to your review when I do make it. I too like this pattern for the styling with the back cascading longer than the front.
7/21/08 10:11 PM
shev said...
Great review. Very informative and detailed. Thanks for including your RTW size - it helps give me an idea of how the pattern's sizing works. Would love to see a picture!
12/20/09 5:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8765

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now