Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8480 (Divine Details Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2402 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 47 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/08 7:43 PM
Last Updated:2/27/08 11:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Erica, this jacket is Devine!
2/27/08 8:06 PM
Amy J said...
girl you look hot! sassy too!
2/27/08 8:10 PM
CShelley said...
Beautiful jacket in such a great color!
2/27/08 8:33 PM
Athene said...
Well Erica you look absolutely devine in that photo. We are all very lucky to have you on PR. Each of your reviews is like a tutorial - I don't have this pattern but I think I'm going to have to get it at the next sale in town and try to make it. Thank you for such a wonderful review.
2/27/08 8:56 PM
SansSouci572 said...
You AND the jacket both look just like the models and clothing in all the fashion layouts for spring!
2/27/08 9:16 PM
sherain said...
Great jacket!
2/27/08 9:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Erica, what a gorgeous jacket you have made. All the wonderful details. And thanks for all the photos! Love to see such beauty close up.
2/27/08 9:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous jacket! Love the yellow!
2/27/08 10:04 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your inspirational touches to this stunning jacket have moved it into a higher echelon of style and grace. The bound buttonhole/covered button thru the lapel is unspeakably chic, and your decision to break and bias the under collar have produced a pristine rolled collar. A masterpiece. -Lily
2/27/08 10:19 PM
crisford said...
Great job, this looks so much better than the pattern picture. I love the details, especially the huge buttons!
2/27/08 10:24 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
Now that is N-I-C-E! I love the style, the colour - WOW
2/27/08 10:41 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Great color and such thoughtful added details. Inspirational!
2/27/08 10:46 PM
MissCelie said...
This color makes me want to go outside and see if the daffodils have started coming up yet! Beautiful work as always Ms. B!
2/27/08 10:47 PM
Em's Summer said...
Impeccable sewing and beautiful jacket! I especially love the color--it's soo Spring!
2/27/08 10:47 PM
lmg said...
The colour and the buttons. WOW. A beautiful spring jacket. I thought this pattern would be a cute and you have proved it.
2/27/08 11:01 PM
Dmd4106 said...
I imagine the fabric was a dream to work . Great job and review!
2/27/08 11:28 PM
Dee2 said...
I love your jacket! You look marvelous!Could not have picked a better color to close out winter.
2/27/08 11:33 PM
Lori V said...
Great jacket and the color is beautiful. Thanks for pointing out this pattern.
2/27/08 11:44 PM
N_Vogue said...
Erica, this jacket is stunning!! What an awesome color and the fit is on. Thanks for the review.
2/28/08 0:12 AM
Markie1 said...
Oh oh oh! I love this jacket! And it is YELLOW! You look fantastic in it and well, I have to make this. Thanks for such a helpful review.
2/28/08 0:41 AM
traceytherealtor said...
I have this pattern and fabric on my cutting table. You have inspired me to get started. You have done a fabulous job on this jacket. Excellent color and workmanship. You have won the challenge(project runway)
2/28/08 1:00 AM
Carolyndh said...
Very elegant! I love the yellow color!
2/28/08 1:23 AM
Annette1 said...
So much prettier than the version on the pattern. I love the bright yellow.
2/28/08 3:23 AM
Tany said...
Yep, divine indeed! Your jacket is flaweless! As always you make the most stylish garments and you look absolutely gorgeous in them! Thank you for this very helpful review!
2/28/08 3:36 AM
annsew65 said...
Erica, A WONDERFUL tailoring project - it looks marvelous on you and from past experience with a vibrant yellow jacket, it will lift your mood every time you wear it (with deserved pride)!
2/28/08 4:28 AM
LauraLo said...
It looks gorgeous!
2/28/08 4:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Now this is definitely a jacket style I love! Thanks for this review--I'm putting this pattern on my wish list. Your jacket looks absolutely lovely on you in that terrific color too!
2/28/08 5:41 AM
Shrazzy said...
Beautiful jacket and looks great on you--I like the top button, which I don't see on the pattern. Just bought this pattern last week and now can't wait to make it.
2/28/08 6:29 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Perfectly gorgeous jacket and flawlessly executed as all your projects are. You look wonderful in it and such a stunning colour for spring.
2/28/08 7:02 AM
Janice C. said...
You've done it again!
2/28/08 7:40 AM
Robbie Jo said...
Beautiful. Well executed and it is so "you"!
2/28/08 7:49 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful, Erica! The color choice is outstanding..I had not seen this pattern before..love it!
2/28/08 8:13 AM
marjenann said...
My heart is going pitter, patter! I am in love with your jacket! Annette
2/28/08 8:18 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful jacket and beautiful photo.
2/28/08 8:48 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful! I'm a big fan of covered buttons too!
2/28/08 8:58 AM
carolynw said...
Thisis a show stopper for sure - I love the color - looks Divine on you
2/28/08 9:07 AM
LindsayT said...
I thought this pattern looked really cute and your jacket proved it. Nice!
2/28/08 9:15 AM
Physics Girl said...
Wow: It's amazing what the right fabric and changes do to a pattern! You always pick 'em right!) At the last sale, I'd scrunched my nose up at this pattern (unlined... blah color... what details?)... Your sunny look (love the buttons, especially the one on the label!) has me thinking that maybe the pattern might be devine after all.
2/28/08 9:30 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Your jacket is just beautiful! I saw this pattern and was pondering how I would do it. I am inspired seeing how you took a *sportswear* pattern and changed the techniques to make a gorgeous tailored jacket! Your work is really impeccable and it looks great on you! It makes me want to start sewing for spring, even though we're still knee deep in snow where I live!
2/28/08 10:05 AM
Beek said...
WOW! Great tips. I like that one about the penny in the mitered corners. I am going to make a note on that. Also, I just purchased this pattern and yours looks fabulous, so I am very inspired to tackle it. Your bound buttonholes are perfect, the color is SO in vogue (practically every garment in the March issue of ELLE is canary yellow!) Way to go!
2/28/08 10:21 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Wondeful jacket! The color is gorgeous, trendy, and perfect for you. Great construction details.
2/28/08 10:25 AM
CynthiaSue said...
umm, correction: It looks BETTER than the pattern envelope. That was just your muse-You did something much grander. Your fit is impeccable. Gosh how do you NEVER have twisted sleeves or fit wrinkles ANYwhere. Your usual couture methods stand out and make this jacket outstanding. Let's put a price tag...hmm $3600!! :):) Michael Kors, eat your heart out!
2/28/08 10:46 AM
Jane S said...
Erica, each garment is just better looking than the last! Wow, this is gorgeous. Color is wonderful on you and very in this season. Your distinctive details made it better than the pattern, just what personal sewing is for! Bravo.
2/28/08 11:06 AM
Marji said...
love that sunny happy color and the extra details, like the covered buttons and the lapel button. Beautiful way to enter spring.
2/28/08 11:23 AM
Ann Smith said...
Fabulous jacket. You took the "Divine Details" one step farther!
2/28/08 11:26 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Very cute! I love it and it looks fabulous on you! The color is very in right now!
2/28/08 11:27 AM
christine A said...
I just bought this pattern and am so glad I now have this wonderful review for reference!
2/28/08 11:42 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
FAB, Fabulous jacket, love all the details especially that vibrant colour !
2/28/08 12:03 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is an absolutely beautiful jacket! Thanks for a great review!
2/28/08 12:26 PM
Kiro said...
I like your jacket much better than the one on the pattern envelope. Lovely.
2/28/08 12:50 PM
kim*brown said...
You look so fresh and crisp in this color and the style fits you wonderfully. I love how detailed you are in your review on your blog too. You are just making me crave the warmer weather of spring in this jacket, for sure!! Wonderful job!
2/28/08 12:53 PM
layla said...
What a Winner in Every Way ... Perfect !!
2/28/08 1:09 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Awesome: fabulous color, fabulous review, fabulous creation once again from you: if you ever retire the jacket, I'll be in the long line to buy it! Thanks for review.
2/28/08 3:14 PM
janet said...
You go girl! Not only does your jacket look exquisite on you--the craftsmanship is impeccable! If only my tailoring turned out as well as yours!
2/28/08 3:33 PM
Avril said...
Spring, spring where are you? Thanks Erica, you did it again!
2/28/08 6:23 PM
ZeldaDC said...
Happy Happy! Looks great. Love the color and the styling.
2/28/08 6:27 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful jacket with great fit and fabric, you look divine!
2/28/08 7:29 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
In a word, exquisite! Gorgeous jacket!
2/28/08 8:46 PM
Mahler said...
Superbly sewed ! Very lively color, an excellent choice for spring. You look wonderful with that jacket. I bought that pattern as well. I find it so interesting to see your interpretation of it. I was thinking about sewing it in bleu linen (middle weight) with a sand wash look. Your version is dressier. As usual you are a source of insparation.
2/28/08 8:47 PM
Dei said...
I always enjoy your reviews. So much good information. Love the color, all fresh and new. Thanks for the construction tips. Kudos, Girl. You create such great gear.
2/28/08 10:25 PM
JenniferBee said...
Another beautiful work of art. Thank you for the informative review
2/29/08 7:49 PM
rozzybabe said...
You're obviously a great sewer! I've never attempted bound buttonholes, although I've got many books with detailed step-by-step instructions. Am I being intimidated, or would you have a suggestion as to the best technique? Would love to hear from you so that I can get another much needed sewing "challenge" under my belt!
3/23/08 4:18 PM
poppyq said...
What a gorgeous color. I am making this one too right now. I also lengthened the sleeves, and also raised the back waist seam about 2" It looked a little low-slung on me (yes, I actually made a muslin of this one!) I am using deep blue linen/rayon and hope to post a review. Thanks for the encouragement!
3/27/08 10:02 PM
Granen said...
I'm convinced - I'll buy the pattern!
10/4/08 9:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8386 Jersey dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 12/9/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2005-03 Fairy dress
photo
Review by EveS on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us