Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-108 (Bib Front Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2564 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/09 3:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mahalosu said...
I would think this would be really pretty in a sheer fabric. That look with a cami underneath is very popular right now.
2/28/08 6:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Your fabric is so pretty! While cotton voile is sheer and soft, I do think it is crisp enough for a blouse. There is also spray starch when you iron. :) The key will be the interfacing you use. You could also use two layers of fabric for the front yoke if you think you need a little extra body to support the collar. Good luck. I can't wait to see the final blouse.
2/28/08 6:15 PM
Sewliz said...
Absolutely, voile should be perfect. Christina used voile!
2/28/08 6:48 PM
Deepika said...
Oh thank you thank you. I wanted to hear this, because I am in love with this fabric :)
2/28/08 9:37 PM
Karen6790 said...
I think that fabric would be perfect for this blouse. Sew4Fun's suggestions are right on as far as handling. Looking forward to seeing the result.
2/28/08 9:55 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, this is going to be an extremely pretty one, Deepika. Looking forward to watching your progress. - Lily
2/28/08 11:04 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I agree with everyone else, you may need to wear a camisole because of the sheerness, but this will be such a beautiful blouse.
2/29/08 1:02 AM
Nancywin said...
I'm looking forward to seeing your blouse. I really like this one and it is on my much-too-long to do list.
2/29/08 1:51 AM
JenniferBee said...
Here's another thumbs up, can't wait to see the finished blouse. Love that fabric!!
2/29/08 1:59 AM
LindsayT said...
The latest issue of InStyle magazine says sheer is the way to go this season, so you're right on target with this blouse.
2/29/08 10:22 PM
Sew_Creative said...
Hey Deepika, I just wanted to add my 2 cents, if you are concerned about the sheerness have you thought about making it double layer? ( what I mean is cut the pieces of the two fabrics and stitch or baste the pc's together and work them as one pc.) either with the same fabric or maybe using a solid color for a different look, and the second layer could either be another sheer or a more solid blouse fabric, I don't know the idea's are endless, then you would have a stronger top, that would be easier to wash and wear,
3/4/08 7:18 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for all the suggestions regarding this fabric. Sew Creative, sewing double layers is an option but a) I dont have enough fabric and b) I am too chicken to try it. So, I think I'll take the easy way out and wear it with a camisole instead if it looks too sheer. I might even be able to wear the shirt without the cami. The print is a good camouflage.
3/4/08 3:14 PM
Re Becca said...
This is the UFO that I am working on too. I just did the front band like a normal 1 piece front band. I think that cotton voile is perfect. My fabric is a tad thin so I underlined the front bib only.
2/5/09 9:41 AM
Re Becca said...
Could this need an FBA?
2/10/09 3:28 PM
PsychedOnSewing said...
Do you think the diagonal wrinkles might be partly caused by having only one sleeve on? I wondered because that's the side (the no sleeve one) that's drooping.
2/11/09 1:14 PM
KiwiWendy said...
ohh, I really like this design, and it makes me wish I bought Burdas ... but I still have magazines with unused patterns. :-/
2/11/09 8:09 PM
katlew03 said...
Absolutely love this pattern. Are you talking about the diagonal lines in the bottom section? If so, did you stay stitch the curves before sewing the bottom and top pieces together. It looks like if you let out the seam just a little and pull up the bottom part about 1/8 of an inch and resew, it will take care of them. If you have a diagonal line, try pulling the fabric gently to see when they disappear. Often it is just a tiny adjustment. I think the blouse looks great as it is. In sewing curves, it is so easy to be off such a tiny amount that changes the fit.
2/12/09 2:13 PM
katlew03 said...
Your blouse turned out great. It's hard to believe you had problems. You must have solved them. Love the fabric.
2/24/09 4:20 PM
bluenines said...
love the fabric, great color!
2/24/09 4:27 PM
Diane E said...
Pretty pretty blouse and extremely helpful review. Thanks!
2/24/09 4:40 PM
Christas said...
Your blouse looks so perfect! No one would ever think you had any problems sewing it. The fit looks wonderful too.
2/24/09 4:42 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Lovely and feminine. Perfect buttons. I am glad your hard work paid off for you.
2/24/09 4:51 PM
KateS said...
Lovely blouse , looks beautiful in that fabric, great to see al your efforts paid off so well!
2/24/09 5:27 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Very pretty! It's nice to see the final blouse after reading the WIP. I love the colour and the fabric. Crinkle cottons are one of my favourite summer fabrics because they don't need ironing. Wash, twist, dry and wear. They are a bit tricky to cut and sew though. :)
2/24/09 5:30 PM
Vonnevo said...
Deepika, your blouse is gorgeous and very stylish !!! Crinkled fabrics are a pain to work with, but comfortable to wear and the no-ironing factor is a big bonus.
2/24/09 5:42 PM
Re Becca said...
Perfect! You make it look so easy! It fits you incredibly well.
2/24/09 5:44 PM
JEF said...
So very pretty!
2/24/09 7:36 PM
Dei said...
How absolutely so adorable!
2/24/09 9:31 PM
Karen6790 said...
It's adorable. So worth the wait and all the work you put into it.
2/24/09 9:36 PM
ElsaD said...
Beautiful! Your hard work paid off greatly!
2/24/09 11:21 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great blouse I just love that fabric.
2/24/09 11:26 PM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful blouse, worth the effort!
2/25/09 0:13 AM
Markie1 said...
You did it! And it is perfect.. and beautiful and you look wonderful in it. thanks so much for bringing us in on your process. BTW, I used Christina's band advise on that blouse too. Isn't PR a wonderful thing? Thank you Deepika.
2/25/09 0:19 AM
Terri A said...
Adorable!!! That fabric is to DIE for:-)
2/25/09 0:50 AM
wendlesue said...
Fabulous review. Thanks for the link to the thread about fitting. Very interesting.
2/25/09 6:13 AM
Renren said...
A very sweet blouse with the added attraction of reminding you of your Costa Rican vacation everytime you wear it.
2/25/09 7:31 AM
Mahler said...
What a wonderful colour on you ! This is such a lively model. Very summery. It changes from the snow out side ;-)
2/25/09 1:36 PM
rsersh said...
It's really lovely and fits great. Your notes are very helpful - thank you!
2/25/09 2:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful blouse.
2/25/09 4:41 PM
donna mel said...
hey deepika, your top is so cute...and the photo corner looks remarkably familiar!
2/26/09 7:35 PM
rosecy said...
Great job on the blouse. It looks soooo good on you. All that work on the muslin was worth the effort. Thanks for sharing!
3/1/09 10:25 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
The top is so cute! Pretty color too. Good job!
3/3/09 6:36 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Your blouse looks FANTASTIC!! I LOVE the fabric you chose!! You look FABULOUS in your new blouse!!
3/5/09 6:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2005-108 tee shirt
photo
Review by SueV on 2/6/05
Read Review

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2047 (vintage)
photo
Review by Cowtown Ka... on 10/7/11
Read Review

Simplicity 8523 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Simplicity 8523 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us