SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Duct Tape Double (Duct Tape Double)

1 more reviews
Viewed 729 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/08 5:10 PM
Last Updated:2/28/08 5:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
Looks good. Mine has problems in the breast area too. The right breast is a whole lot lower than I am. One of these days I'm going to have to redo her. I think that you will really enjoy fitting on her.
2/28/08 5:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
When I saw your thumbnail in the Review Gallery, it took me aback for a moment. "Who took a photo of my DTD?" Reason returned. Excellent and tedious job. I knew I'd have trouble with my breast area, so I bought a standard dressform one size smaller than me, installed an expensive bra (sob..sob) on the dressform, stuffed the bra, lightly stuffed the DTD, and squeezed it around the dressform/bra, and taped everything together down the back. Your back looks much more pro than mine. Enjoy easier fitter on your silver twin; I couldn't do without mine. -Lily
2/28/08 7:03 PM
Athene said...
Wow - DTD looks excellent.
2/29/08 1:24 AM
Larkin said...
I'm gearing up to do my second one after 10 years. (Hey, gravity takes its toll!) You might consider making up your sloper or maybe a knit tank as a cover. It will make pinning into Ruthless a little easier. Enjoy!
2/29/08 10:37 AM
SewTwin said...
WOW! I may be contacting you when I do mine.Thanks for the reveiw, and especially the pics!!
3/18/08 5:23 PM
halleyscomet said...
I hope I don't have to make another one for awhile too! It felt like someone was sitting on my chest! My poor DH was working as fast as he could because my lower back was killing me! I've got a blouse that fits me perfectly. I put it on my DTD and it fits it perfectly too. I just finished it and haven't had the chance to try it out yet. I'm looking forward to using her though.
6/16/08 8:52 AM
Pam in Virginia said...
Hi RMJ. I just finished making my own duct tape double and it turned out a bit big. Did you have to adjust yours once you got it off? I ended up adding a couple of "darts" and overlapping the back a tiny bit - and this thing was tight when I was being taped! I also noticed how it likes to shape round instead of oval. I placed mine over an inexpensive mannequin and added a bit of stuffing. This gave me a nice stand for it and swivel-ability.
3/6/09 5:01 PM
Fabienne301 said...
I put mine over a spare mannequin as well. Then I stuffed batting in the spaces where it might collapse. I covered her with a grey cotton knit which came as a tube. It came out pretty good. I wish I looked better overall, but it conforms to what I actually do look like. Nice for pinning things to and seeing if they are fitting, where my problems are and such.
3/22/09 7:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-103

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2012-112

photo
by: MelaD

Review