Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 8189 (mccalls) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 667 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Sew_Creative
photo
About Sew_Creativestar
AR USA
Member since: 10/10/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/08 11:00 PM
Last Updated:2/29/08 11:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stephenie said...
You've knocked my socks off!! ;) Excellent copy of the RTW!!! Congrats on finishing!
2/29/08 11:21 PM
SAAM said...
I love this jacket. It's elegant, exciting, and unexpected. Your technique using the cording for the rouching is truly inspired.
2/29/08 11:34 PM
Athene said...
It's a sizzler! Congratulations.
3/1/08 0:37 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great job you did with this! Yep, looks just like the original.
3/1/08 7:50 AM
CShelley said...
Amazing...INSPIRING...awesome! I want it!!
3/1/08 8:33 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You really captured the original, perfectly. What a great job!!
3/1/08 9:21 AM
carolynw said...
What can I say - you have done a spectacular job - hard to tell which is the designer's at $1,430
3/1/08 9:25 AM
Beek said...
Absolutely gorgeous. And it truly looks like a Roberto Cavalli with that wonderful fabric!
3/1/08 9:28 AM
TrixieD said...
Amazing!
3/1/08 9:35 AM
Sew_Creative said...
I want to thank everyone for taking the time to comment on my project, I really appreciate your encouragement thank you.
3/1/08 10:09 AM
Sharon M said...
It's wonderful! What a great knock-off!
3/1/08 1:12 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the photos showing the ruching technique - very helpful. Also, a totally amazing knock off very close to inspiration.
3/1/08 1:22 PM
Sewingmi said...
I am just amazed by your jacket! It is absolutely stunning!
3/1/08 1:50 PM
marjenann said...
Honestly, at first glance I could not tell the original from your lovely creation. What a fanstastic jacket, it is amazing! Truly a designer piece!
3/1/08 2:06 PM
Larkin said...
Beautiful!!! I'm inspired that you can find a look you love, find a pattern that will get you there and do it all so successfully. Fabulous!
3/1/08 7:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
That ruching over piping is breathtaking! Your entire jacket is sublimely elegant, and exceeds Cavalli garment by more than a little. Jacket envy, here ... big time! I'll just close my eyes now and pretend it's mine, for a moment. Gorgeous. -Lily
3/2/08 3:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
3/2/08 8:09 AM
Sigrid. said...
Splendid. Great knock-off, very much like the original. Even better.
3/2/08 11:46 AM
CharityAK said...
Wow! You did a fantastic job. This looks exactly like the original. I'm so glad you were able to participate. I've missed seeing your talent on the board lately. Very inspiring design.
3/2/08 12:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
Awesome knock-off. Your jacket is superb.
3/2/08 1:43 PM
Nancy K said...
Great knockoff! Your jacket looks wonderful and the details are superb.
3/2/08 7:48 PM
damiller29672 said...
Beautiful job. Your jacket will be alot of fun to wear. Great tip on the rouching. You have a winner here.
3/3/08 7:02 AM
Birgitte said...
Just fabulous- love it!! A true designer piece- be very proud!
3/8/08 10:25 PM
neuwifesews said...
This is really fabulous, you must have a closet full of stuff you love to wear!
3/13/08 0:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Studio Kat Designs 02100
photo
Review by RenaeA on 3/14/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5666
photo
Review by racehorse on 2/14/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1767 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us