SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5173 (Maggy London knit dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1329 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/08 4:20 PM
Last Updated:3/1/08 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
I am so glad you reviewed this pattern. I, too, would've made the mistake of looking at the model and not taking into consideration how I would look in the dress. It is cute, though!
3/1/08 5:50 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I just picked this up on sale, but since I'm large-busted, I'm having second thoughts now--it looks so cute on the envelope! I don't think it's particularly unflattering on you--it does almost look like there's an empire waist type seam below the bust.
3/1/08 6:09 PM
cindy-lou said...
Okay... You made a very pretty dress, just not what I would have expected from the pattern pic. It's just odd to me that the dress flares below the bust, as if there were an empire seam there. I *never* would have pictured that! - Anyway, *you* did a great job!
3/1/08 7:44 PM
Sharon M said...
Hello everyone - let me respond to the comments about this appearing to have an empire waist... It does not have an empire waist - what is happening is that the knit fabric is hugging my bust completely, including cupping underneath the bustline, and then flaring out. Now I have a small rib cage and upper bust in comparison to my full bust...so this may not happen to everyone with a large bust. I'll be curious to see how this looks on every one else!
3/1/08 9:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
It is a cute dress. However, I agree that it is not that flattering on you nor would it be on me either. Love the Heidi Klum pose!
3/2/08 10:07 AM
coolobreeze said...
Sharon, I ran this up last weekend. It fit me and my full bust the same way. :-(
3/2/08 6:31 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Wonderfully detailed review re: the pitfalls of this pattern. Though it produced a pretty dress, it's clear that this style is reserved for a limited number of body types. Good save on the FBA; I wouldn't have had a clue how to tackle this one. I'll bet your DD likes this pretty dress. After your review, no one can say she was not well informed. -Lily
3/4/08 0:10 AM
MasoumaRose said...
NOTE--3/8/08 BUTTERICK put a note on their website that this pattern is being recalled because of "a major error." They aren't saying what the problem is, but on 3/10 they are going to re-publish the pattern (with corrections).
3/8/08 3:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Butterick B4686

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now