SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5173 (Maggy London knit dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1333 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews: 209 (patterns: 208)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/08 4:20 PM
Last Updated:3/1/08 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MasoumaRose said... (3/8/08 3:43 PM) Reply
NOTE--3/8/08 BUTTERICK put a note on their website that this pattern is being recalled because of "a major error." They aren't saying what the problem is, but on 3/10 they are going to re-publish the pattern (with corrections).
lilyofthevalley said... (3/4/08 0:10 AM) Reply
Wonderfully detailed review re: the pitfalls of this pattern. Though it produced a pretty dress, it's clear that this style is reserved for a limited number of body types. Good save on the FBA; I wouldn't have had a clue how to tackle this one. I'll bet your DD likes this pretty dress. After your review, no one can say she was not well informed. -Lily
coolobreeze said... (3/2/08 6:31 PM) Reply
Sharon, I ran this up last weekend. It fit me and my full bust the same way. :-(
Danvillegirl said... (3/2/08 10:07 AM) Reply
It is a cute dress. However, I agree that it is not that flattering on you nor would it be on me either. Love the Heidi Klum pose!
Sharon M said... (3/1/08 9:20 PM) Reply
Hello everyone - let me respond to the comments about this appearing to have an empire waist... It does not have an empire waist - what is happening is that the knit fabric is hugging my bust completely, including cupping underneath the bustline, and then flaring out. Now I have a small rib cage and upper bust in comparison to my full bust...so this may not happen to everyone with a large bust. I'll be curious to see how this looks on every one else!
cindy-lou said... (3/1/08 7:44 PM) Reply
Okay... You made a very pretty dress, just not what I would have expected from the pattern pic. It's just odd to me that the dress flares below the bust, as if there were an empire seam there. I *never* would have pictured that! - Anyway, *you* did a great job!
michellep74 said... (3/1/08 6:09 PM) Reply
Thanks for the detailed review. I just picked this up on sale, but since I'm large-busted, I'm having second thoughts now--it looks so cute on the envelope! I don't think it's particularly unflattering on you--it does almost look like there's an empire waist type seam below the bust.
Beek said... (3/1/08 5:50 PM) Reply
I am so glad you reviewed this pattern. I, too, would've made the mistake of looking at the model and not taking into consideration how I would look in the dress. It is cute, though!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8828

photo
by: Berniejh

Review
McCall's 5191

photo
by: Mollymax

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details