SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-106 (Cocktail Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1334 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/08 6:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
53 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
What a shapely, beautifully fitted dress. I rather like the wider shoulder line as it provides a nice balance. You look just beautiful wearing your lovely dress.
3/2/08 7:06 PM
janismills said...
The dress is stunning on you! You look so happy and confident.
3/2/08 7:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
You look amazing in your fabulous dress!! It fits well, is flattering and very classy. Great job! No wonder you look so happy.
3/2/08 7:16 PM
SansSouci572 said...
You are inspiring, Cidell.
3/2/08 7:16 PM
Sew Confused said...
Cidell, you look amazing in that dress! It fits perfectly. And you are right about fit. Tim Gunn says there are two things that really make or break a look: fit and posture. That's pretty exciting about meeting Christian, but I'm not surprised he wasn't very enthusiastic about Jillian...she's the competition, after all.
3/2/08 7:20 PM
Beek said...
Your dress if absolutely gorgeous and you look like you were really strutting at that fund-raiser! I agree, Jillian was my favorite, too!
3/2/08 7:31 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty dress!!!! You look lovely, and this style is perfect with your tiny waist.
3/2/08 7:35 PM
Nancy K said...
He wasn't lying, you look great and the dress is beautiful
3/2/08 7:40 PM
Becky Coleman said...
Re: rhinestone buttons. (from her blog) My mother told this story about my great aunt -- so you know it goes back a ways -- but my g-aunt bought expensive rhinestone buttons & the sales clerk told her that clear nail polish would keep the stones from falling out. My frugal auntie thought at the price she paid that should have been unneccessary.
3/2/08 7:45 PM
ALY said...
Your dress looks great on you! I really like the combination of the top in the print fabric and the bottom in the solid.
3/2/08 7:48 PM
CShelley said...
Fierce!
3/2/08 7:54 PM
nancy2001 said...
Cidell, Christian is right. You look beautiful in your dress -- it's simply perfect on you. I suggest you sew a couple of other versions for your daytime wardrobe.
3/2/08 8:16 PM
Sharon M said...
Oh Cidell! You look amazing! Or should I say fierce? Wonderful that you completed this in two days - project runway better watch out!
3/2/08 8:24 PM
Marji said...
looking 'fierce'! It is a very flattering dress and you look wonderful in it.
3/2/08 8:26 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Oh, this is lovely! This was one of my fab dress in this issue but I never got around to sew this and time has passed......you make me feel like sewing this again now! Love your choice of fabric and will try to remember to "underline the bodice" when I sew. Thanks for review!
3/2/08 8:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
You're an absolute knockout in this dress (truthfully in anything!) Thanks for the review and the inspiration!
3/2/08 8:48 PM
Leora said...
You are absolutely glowing in this dress! I would fallout if someone like Christian said something I made was nice much less BEAUTIFUL! I think compliments aren't dished out too openly from designers, but he was right there looking over your finishing and details IRL. How exciting for you!
3/2/08 8:59 PM
rosannec said...
Lovely dress, Cidell! It's beautiful on you and I agree with Carolyn about the shoulder line. I think it's balancing and helps to emphasize your natural hourglass silhouette! Now, about permission to read your blog..Send me an invite, please!
3/2/08 9:03 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The dress is gorgeous - see how well you work under pressure! You go girl, you should be so proud of yourself!!!! :-)
3/2/08 9:15 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
This is one fierce loking glam dress. Beautiful fit and construction
3/2/08 9:23 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
I might be the only one to ask but...who's Christian?
3/2/08 9:33 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally gorgeous Cidell !!!
3/2/08 9:40 PM
gaby said...
WOW, I must have one just like it. Like now. You look beautiful.
3/2/08 10:31 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
you are amazing in that dress! I love the shape. I love Jillian - pooh Christian, my sis's gbff had a hilarious tiff with him at "the club"
3/2/08 10:52 PM
Christina Sonja said...
You rocked it! Exactly as I knew you would :)
3/2/08 11:53 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Your dress is gorgeous on you. I can't believe you made it in 2 days, you can sew almost as fast as Christian himself! Can't wait to read more on your blog when it's up and running.
3/3/08 0:12 AM
Nancywin said...
Wow! Much better than the BWOF version (with or without the bra - hahaha) I was wondering what was up with your blog. Hope you get it all worked out soon.
3/3/08 0:24 AM
Modiste Madness said...
That looks so good on you! Great job!
3/3/08 0:27 AM
CynthiaSue said...
daaang, I need to start doing pilates! Seriously, this is so pretty, elegant and classy. Christian was so not lying.
3/3/08 2:46 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Looks very good on you and you look very good in it!!!LOL Marita
3/3/08 3:03 AM
Karen8320 said...
Cidell, you look fabulous in everything you sew and this is no exception. This dress really is beautiful. Fantastic!
3/3/08 3:45 AM
Huldra said...
Your dress is absolutely beautiful! Would it be possible to see a back view? :)
3/3/08 6:44 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This is such a pretty dress...it really shows off your great figure...good job!
3/3/08 7:44 AM
Fran G said...
This is a sharp dress on you, Cidell! The fabric choices are perfect, as is the fit! Brava!
3/3/08 8:05 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous - you look stunning! Thank you for the review - this was my favorite pattern in the 11/2007 issue!
3/3/08 8:06 AM
cindyann said...
Beautifully done and a perfect silloutte for your fabulous figure! I really MUST see that Christian story.
3/3/08 8:10 AM
cindyj said...
Cidell, your dress is so much better than the Burda version. I thought theirs was ok but now I want yours! (I had a moment of panic about your blog this morning. Glad to hear it'll be up soon.)
3/3/08 8:12 AM
cindy-lou said...
Oh my! You rock in that dress. It's gorgeous-- and one thing about Christian: he doesn't have the personality to lie about fashion. He wouldn't say 'beautiful' if he didn't mean it. Gorgeous! ...may I copy your idea with the AS silk and black? I have the same fabric combo... :)
3/3/08 8:44 AM
carolynw said...
Cuidell you are truly an inspiration - your dress is just lovely
3/3/08 8:49 AM
Jan Flaherty said...
Lovely dress. Now I know why I can't read your blog. I miss it, hope it's back up soon.
3/3/08 10:17 AM
Sally Tomato said...
Hi Cidell, your dress is fabulous and you look simply stunning wearing it! Today I discovered that your blog is only open to invited members. Since I check your site almost daily, I would like to ask you for an invitation. Is it possible to contact you via email, in order to give you my email address? Thank you so much in advance.
3/3/08 11:23 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Your dress is gorgeous! I love it!
3/3/08 12:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, what can I say, except, "FIERCE!" What a fabulous look: the high waist, the ruffled bodice, the fitted sheath, the black-and-white combination, all as strutted by The Lovely Cidell. Perfect!
3/3/08 1:48 PM
ChristineX said...
So how come these clothes look better on you than on the models? =) That dress IS beautiful. Love it!!
3/3/08 1:57 PM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulously pretty.
3/3/08 2:01 PM
Kiro said...
Love it, love it, love it. You look smashing.
3/3/08 2:30 PM
edupraz said...
Love the dress. That pattern is so cute.
3/3/08 2:57 PM
trinicity said...
you look amazing girl
3/3/08 5:39 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congrats, you made that one work, and in record time. I'm glad Christian said it was beautiful, because otherwise there would have been one more reason to find him annoying. Adding this dress to the endless list . . .
3/3/08 9:56 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Imagination fails when pondering how you could possibly look more beautiful. Your dress is glorious! It's all been said, but it's all true. Oh, and killer shoes, too! -Lily
3/4/08 2:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this dress. Can't wait for you to open your blog again so I can see and read more details.
3/4/08 5:32 AM
SueV said...
Beautiful! it looks wonderful on you.
3/5/08 12:06 PM
inkstain said...
Amazing transformation into a wonderdress from a design that looked a little weird in the mag because of the choices they made in fabric. Now I'm interested, thanks to you!
3/15/08 4:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Kwik Sew 3466

photo
by: JudyMac

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now