SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1033 (SB Today's Fit Blouse)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1256 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/08 1:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Carolyn even though we are miles away in body type, this review was really helpful, thanks! Your blouse is beautiful on you.
3/20/08 9:17 AM
suzy stitches said...
Thank you for providing an excellent review Carolyn! The details you provided are really helpful. I was on the fence about purchasing this pattern, but your comments about the good instructions included in the pattern have convinced me to branch out and try something out of my comfort zone. (I usually stick to simple basic patterns.) I love your shirt and it fits you beautifully. Wish me luck on my shirt making venture.
3/10/08 4:01 PM
blue mooney said...
Thank you for the review! I would never have looked at this pattern, because SB just doesn't fit me well, but may buy it just to have the instructions. That's why we have Pattern Review, right?
3/4/08 6:00 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent, informative review of a classic, sharp shirt with very interesting details. Love the french cuffs. I'm intrigued with this pattern and after your review, have added it my wishlist. Lovely. -Lily
3/4/08 2:23 AM
Larkin said...
What an informative review! Thanks so much for detailing how helpful the pattern was. Your blouse looks very nice. I'll look forward to hearing more about this pattern.
3/3/08 4:22 PM
EleanorSews said...
The shirt is just beautiful! It just might be worthwhile to pick up the pattern for the sewing lessons as you suggest. The collar treatment looks like what Nancy Zieman recommends in her books. It's a great technique!
3/3/08 2:23 PM
Annette1 said...
A great tailored classic. I wasn't really drawn to this pattern based on the pattern photo, but after seeing yours and Clin's versions, I've change my thinking. Perfect!
3/3/08 2:11 PM
xtreme1 said...
The shirt looks lovely on you. I understand what you mean about placement of Vogue darts! As far as the back contour darts go I've been able to remove excess fabric and get a good overall shape by taking them higher than any pattern company would. It might be unusual in length but for the benefit of shaping I found it a good adjustment.
3/3/08 1:03 AM
JMarie1962 said...
I love your shirt and think it looks even better than the pattern photo. Great job!
3/3/08 0:31 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job!
3/3/08 0:25 AM
MissCelie said...
So crisp and tailored. I would get this pattern just to find out how you made those perfectly done collars. I also love those cuffs! You have the right mix of cool and casual.
3/2/08 8:27 PM
Nancy K said...
The fit is great and the whole thing looks very professional and well made.
3/2/08 7:45 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Those are nice cuffs!
3/2/08 5:02 PM
carnelian said...
Thanks so much for giving this pattern a shot and sharing your fitting issues and efforts. I too have a narrow upper chest so the armcye cut sounds promising.
3/2/08 4:58 PM
Athene said...
Great blouse. I love the collar technique. I learned this technique at a hands on class with Ron Collins, a sewing instructor in Canada, for making mens shirts and it works really well and makes a very nice collar.
3/2/08 4:51 PM
Mermie said...
I love this blouse on you. Great review too. I'm going to try this one.
3/2/08 2:26 PM
KimG said...
Excellent review! I decided not to buy this pattern because I have a lot of issues with bust darts, but I may pick it up the next time there's a sale at Joann's just to find out what the burrito technique is!
3/2/08 2:22 PM
Elona said...
What a handsome shirt! It's extremely becoming to you. Based on your description, I'm going to buy yet another basic shirt pattern (after swearing off, or so I thought), for to find in one envelope the Burrito collar stand as well as what looks like the "Magic Collar", well, that's like hitting the Mother Lode.
3/2/08 2:14 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful shirt Carolyn - while I did mention a problem with the long sleeve version I too was really impressed with the collar and stand application - I aim to keep this as a TNT since I know I have the sleeve length issue LOL - other than that I found it a well fitting pattern - Carolyn
3/2/08 2:01 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Very helpful review and great looking shirt.
3/2/08 1:48 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Carolyn, your timing is perfect. I've been staring at this pattern for several hours (when not on PR!), trying to decide whether it was worth reinventing the wheel with yet another tailored blouse pattern. Your version looks beautiful, and I hope the pattern works for my very, very different body type. (Did I mention that we are built differently?) Your results have convinced me to go ahead - as soon as I finish up the HP/Jalie/PMB fusion pants. (Don't ask.) Thanks for the review, and enjoy that shirt.
3/2/08 1:38 PM
Riordan said...
Very good-looking blouse--and very helpful review! (Now I must buy the pattern!)
3/2/08 1:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick 5705

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Stretch & Sew 200

photo
by: Graca

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now