Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1033 (SB Today's Fit Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1244 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/08 1:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riordan said...
Very good-looking blouse--and very helpful review! (Now I must buy the pattern!)
3/2/08 1:36 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Carolyn, your timing is perfect. I've been staring at this pattern for several hours (when not on PR!), trying to decide whether it was worth reinventing the wheel with yet another tailored blouse pattern. Your version looks beautiful, and I hope the pattern works for my very, very different body type. (Did I mention that we are built differently?) Your results have convinced me to go ahead - as soon as I finish up the HP/Jalie/PMB fusion pants. (Don't ask.) Thanks for the review, and enjoy that shirt.
3/2/08 1:38 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Very helpful review and great looking shirt.
3/2/08 1:48 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful shirt Carolyn - while I did mention a problem with the long sleeve version I too was really impressed with the collar and stand application - I aim to keep this as a TNT since I know I have the sleeve length issue LOL - other than that I found it a well fitting pattern - Carolyn
3/2/08 2:01 PM
Elona said...
What a handsome shirt! It's extremely becoming to you. Based on your description, I'm going to buy yet another basic shirt pattern (after swearing off, or so I thought), for to find in one envelope the Burrito collar stand as well as what looks like the "Magic Collar", well, that's like hitting the Mother Lode.
3/2/08 2:14 PM
KimG said...
Excellent review! I decided not to buy this pattern because I have a lot of issues with bust darts, but I may pick it up the next time there's a sale at Joann's just to find out what the burrito technique is!
3/2/08 2:22 PM
Mermie said...
I love this blouse on you. Great review too. I'm going to try this one.
3/2/08 2:26 PM
Athene said...
Great blouse. I love the collar technique. I learned this technique at a hands on class with Ron Collins, a sewing instructor in Canada, for making mens shirts and it works really well and makes a very nice collar.
3/2/08 4:51 PM
carnelian said...
Thanks so much for giving this pattern a shot and sharing your fitting issues and efforts. I too have a narrow upper chest so the armcye cut sounds promising.
3/2/08 4:58 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Those are nice cuffs!
3/2/08 5:02 PM
Nancy K said...
The fit is great and the whole thing looks very professional and well made.
3/2/08 7:45 PM
MissCelie said...
So crisp and tailored. I would get this pattern just to find out how you made those perfectly done collars. I also love those cuffs! You have the right mix of cool and casual.
3/2/08 8:27 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job!
3/3/08 0:25 AM
JMarie1962 said...
I love your shirt and think it looks even better than the pattern photo. Great job!
3/3/08 0:31 AM
xtreme1 said...
The shirt looks lovely on you. I understand what you mean about placement of Vogue darts! As far as the back contour darts go I've been able to remove excess fabric and get a good overall shape by taking them higher than any pattern company would. It might be unusual in length but for the benefit of shaping I found it a good adjustment.
3/3/08 1:03 AM
Annette1 said...
A great tailored classic. I wasn't really drawn to this pattern based on the pattern photo, but after seeing yours and Clin's versions, I've change my thinking. Perfect!
3/3/08 2:11 PM
EleanorSews said...
The shirt is just beautiful! It just might be worthwhile to pick up the pattern for the sewing lessons as you suggest. The collar treatment looks like what Nancy Zieman recommends in her books. It's a great technique!
3/3/08 2:23 PM
Larkin said...
What an informative review! Thanks so much for detailing how helpful the pattern was. Your blouse looks very nice. I'll look forward to hearing more about this pattern.
3/3/08 4:22 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent, informative review of a classic, sharp shirt with very interesting details. Love the french cuffs. I'm intrigued with this pattern and after your review, have added it my wishlist. Lovely. -Lily
3/4/08 2:23 AM
blue mooney said...
Thank you for the review! I would never have looked at this pattern, because SB just doesn't fit me well, but may buy it just to have the instructions. That's why we have Pattern Review, right?
3/4/08 6:00 PM
suzy stitches said...
Thank you for providing an excellent review Carolyn! The details you provided are really helpful. I was on the fence about purchasing this pattern, but your comments about the good instructions included in the pattern have convinced me to branch out and try something out of my comfort zone. (I usually stick to simple basic patterns.) I love your shirt and it fits you beautifully. Wish me luck on my shirt making venture.
3/10/08 4:01 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Carolyn even though we are miles away in body type, this review was really helpful, thanks! Your blouse is beautiful on you.
3/20/08 9:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

New Look 6922
photo
Review by ginnie.wis... on 8/26/10
Read Review

Burda 6908 Pattern
Burda 6908 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6762 Pattern
New Look 6762 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 2063 Roos patterns
photo
Review by Tini on 3/31/05
Read Review

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us