Online Sewing Class: Blueprints to Blue Jeans
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4149 (Tunic)

14 more reviews
Viewed 949 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews: 27 (patterns: 24)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/08 3:46 PM
Last Updated:3/3/08 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mylittleelephant said... (3/6/08 12:43 PM) Reply
I too know that a bit of lycra in fabric save life a lot, I think your tunic looks great, very spring-y!
lilyofthevalley said... (3/4/08 7:58 PM) Reply
I think your shirt looks great. I too now couldn't sew without my duct tape double; isn't it great? Interesting that you used D. Coffin's book as that book is on my wishlist. Thanks for sharing this. -Lily
Irene Q said... (3/4/08 9:36 AM) Reply
Very nice - I like it better than the pattern photo! Glad I'm not the only one who matches fabrics to patterns by how easy they are to iron. :-)
RMJ said... (3/3/08 9:50 PM) Reply
The duct tape double allowed me to fit the pattern tissue to the dummy. It was very easy to see where it fit and where it didn't - especially at the back of my neck. And it was easy to take tucks here and there and see what the effect was. I can't fit tissue on myself at all, so pre-dummy I would trace a pattern onto soil separator fabric, put that on, and look in a mirror. I really couldn't see the back of my neck very well in the mirror setup that I have (one small mirror on a door, opposite a medicine cabinet). I did make a test "muslin" of this, minus sleeves, out of soil separator fabric - but the only adjustment at that point was at the side seams.
sewdreaming said... (3/3/08 9:37 PM) Reply
How did having a duct tape double aid in this project? I think the top looks very nice on you.
Gelbean said... (3/3/08 3:59 PM) Reply
Your shirt is beautiful. Even if you don't want to sew it again I think this one looks great.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Pattern Details