SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4149 (Tunic)

13 more reviews
Viewed 902 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/08 3:46 PM
Last Updated:3/3/08 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Your shirt is beautiful. Even if you don't want to sew it again I think this one looks great.
3/3/08 3:59 PM
sewdreaming said...
How did having a duct tape double aid in this project? I think the top looks very nice on you.
3/3/08 9:37 PM
RMJ said...
The duct tape double allowed me to fit the pattern tissue to the dummy. It was very easy to see where it fit and where it didn't - especially at the back of my neck. And it was easy to take tucks here and there and see what the effect was. I can't fit tissue on myself at all, so pre-dummy I would trace a pattern onto soil separator fabric, put that on, and look in a mirror. I really couldn't see the back of my neck very well in the mirror setup that I have (one small mirror on a door, opposite a medicine cabinet). I did make a test "muslin" of this, minus sleeves, out of soil separator fabric - but the only adjustment at that point was at the side seams.
3/3/08 9:50 PM
Irene Q said...
Very nice - I like it better than the pattern photo! Glad I'm not the only one who matches fabrics to patterns by how easy they are to iron. :-)
3/4/08 9:36 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I think your shirt looks great. I too now couldn't sew without my duct tape double; isn't it great? Interesting that you used D. Coffin's book as that book is on my wishlist. Thanks for sharing this. -Lily
3/4/08 7:58 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I too know that a bit of lycra in fabric save life a lot, I think your tunic looks great, very spring-y!
3/6/08 12:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 4434

photo
by: Lacifer

Review
Burda 8358

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now