SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4149 (Tunic)

12 more reviews
Viewed 895 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/08 3:46 PM
Last Updated:3/3/08 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Your shirt is beautiful. Even if you don't want to sew it again I think this one looks great.
3/3/08 3:59 PM
sewdreaming said...
How did having a duct tape double aid in this project? I think the top looks very nice on you.
3/3/08 9:37 PM
RMJ said...
The duct tape double allowed me to fit the pattern tissue to the dummy. It was very easy to see where it fit and where it didn't - especially at the back of my neck. And it was easy to take tucks here and there and see what the effect was. I can't fit tissue on myself at all, so pre-dummy I would trace a pattern onto soil separator fabric, put that on, and look in a mirror. I really couldn't see the back of my neck very well in the mirror setup that I have (one small mirror on a door, opposite a medicine cabinet). I did make a test "muslin" of this, minus sleeves, out of soil separator fabric - but the only adjustment at that point was at the side seams.
3/3/08 9:50 PM
Irene Q said...
Very nice - I like it better than the pattern photo! Glad I'm not the only one who matches fabrics to patterns by how easy they are to iron. :-)
3/4/08 9:36 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
I think your shirt looks great. I too now couldn't sew without my duct tape double; isn't it great? Interesting that you used D. Coffin's book as that book is on my wishlist. Thanks for sharing this. -Lily
3/4/08 7:58 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I too know that a bit of lycra in fabric save life a lot, I think your tunic looks great, very spring-y!
3/6/08 12:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Colette Patterns Taffy

photo
by: Jasst282

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now