SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-115 (Not your usual coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1213 times 
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo

 
 
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/08 8:03 AM
Last Updated:3/5/08 11:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
susinok said...
Beautiful coat, Laura!
3/5/08 8:08 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Its fabulous. What an interesting idea to quilt a jersey lining in this - but I can see it must have been a nightmare to do after the coat was assembled! It looks great both inside and out though.
3/5/08 8:40 AM
Beek said...
Very informative review. And you look so stylish in your new coat with the dark sunglasses! Like Jackie-O!
3/5/08 8:54 AM
Marji said...
Fabulous! What else is there to say? (but I'll find more ... ;) I think that the decision to quilt the jersey lining to the boucle was a stroke of genius. It'll act as one and be easy to wear. Otherwise I think I'd worry about the lining pulling away from the boucle all the time. And as always, you look mahvelous dahling.
3/5/08 9:16 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely coat - it is perfect for spring! Thanks for the informative review!
3/5/08 9:25 AM
Sigrid. said...
Laura, this is one gorgeous jacket. Looks so chic! And beautifully made, as always.
3/5/08 9:48 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous results. Not a surprise here! Beautifully fitted and sewn as always.
3/5/08 10:07 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Couture quality! You look like a fashion model in your beautiful coat. I learn a lot from your detailed reviews.
3/5/08 10:40 AM
born2bead said...
It looks really cute but for me the large picture is really fuzzy so I can't quite make out the detail.
3/5/08 11:00 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
LauraLo, what an excellent review! You've recapped all possibilities of lining and weighting a coat, with wonderful references. Now your coat! Sublimely gorgeous. Neither you nor coat could possibly look more beautiful! -Lily
3/5/08 11:21 AM
EveS said...
I need to start a file on my computer just for my "LauraLo tutorials." :) Thanks and, as always, incredible work!!!
3/5/08 12:19 PM
CShelley said...
Amazing. Your work is incredible and I always look forward to your reviews.
3/5/08 2:20 PM
Dei said...
Fantastic. The style of the coat is great and your advanced sewing skills show beautifully. Love the shades.
3/5/08 2:25 PM
bluenines said...
Beautiful coat, very well done and yes very couture! thank you for a wounderfull review with all of the pics
3/5/08 4:04 PM
Robin Denning said...
How inventive!! Your description makes it easy to imagine and your coat sounds really nice to wear. Plus, it looks beautiful, too! Great review, great coat.
3/5/08 4:41 PM
Athene said...
How absolutely fabulous you look. The coat is fantastic and the review is in depth and informative along with all the great pictures. This is another one I have to put in my favorites. Thank you so much.
3/5/08 8:10 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat. Your work is so incredible.
3/5/08 11:55 PM
tess said...
Oh wow! what a fantastic coat with a brilliant and very informative review, both you and your coat look beautiful! Well done!
3/6/08 2:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent workmanship. Beautiful coat.
3/6/08 5:19 AM
AmyABQ said...
Wow... it is beautiful inside and out.
3/6/08 9:55 AM
LauraLo said...
Ladies, thank you very much for all your comments! You made my day
3/7/08 6:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5672

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review