Online Sewing Class: Leather 101
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Design and Sew> 334 (A Poet's Shirt)

Viewed 476 times 
Reviewed by:kathyw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kathywstar
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews: 54 (patterns: 54)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/08 8:10 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said... (3/9/08 5:00 AM) Reply
Well, your numerous tweaks to this pattern really paid off, because it looks lovely now. I've never made this pattern, but I have made one from this line (two actually), and they both ran huge, as well. I kind of gave up on them, but I do like the designs very much, and yours has turned out beautifully.
khurtdvm said... (3/8/08 12:43 PM) Reply
Very nice results. You should definitely make it again, since you know the tweaks to make. I'm sorry that it was so frustrating.
janet said... (3/8/08 11:25 AM) Reply
You did a beautiful job on your shirt and you look lovely in it. Ms. Ericson definitely needs a tech writer to do her pattern instructions as they are very poor. She also needs some one to "proof" her pattern pieces. I have tried two of her patterns with less than stellar results...
Irene Q said... (3/8/08 10:31 AM) Reply
Beautiful shirt - your perseverance paid off! I have another one of these patterns, and haven't been brave enough to try it yet.
Modiste Madness said... (3/8/08 9:34 AM) Reply
Lois Ericson's patterns are creative but not for the faint of heart. She is creative but her drafting can be a bit ambiguous at times. They always run BIG. Big star for you for sticking with it. You finished project is one to be proud of.
Mahler said... (3/8/08 8:43 AM) Reply
Nice and poetic enough to be called a poet's shirt. Good review.
carolynw said... (3/8/08 8:20 AM) Reply
Glad you didn't toss it - nice looking shirt
davin said... (3/7/08 10:57 PM) Reply
I'm still gun-shy from one of her patterns a few years back. What really galled me was when I actually phoned her in despair over ruining a gorgeous piece of fabric -- and she blithely told me, oh, yes, we did reverse those two pictures! Arghh.
lilyofthevalley said... (3/7/08 9:08 PM) Reply
Your poet's shirt is lovely, Kathy. But like you, I would have been very annoyed at the bizarre sizing and the necessary changes. I'm glad, though, that you persisted b/c you look wonderful in this pretty tencel top. -Lily
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Contest Mini Wardrobe 2013

photo
by: Margaret

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details