SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5235 (Empire Top)

Work in Progress Work in Progress
Viewed 385 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/08 9:28 AM
Last Updated:3/7/08 9:28 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
I understand your utter frustration, we have all been there. Given your gorgeous figure, if it were me (in my dreams...), I would use a non-stretch velvet and fit it very well ( I know, I know- it will require some muslin fitting!). The velveteen I used for my coat could actually be perfect for this. It's soft and quite a lot easier to sew than velvet. I have plenty left over if you need some. Just don't give up, this could be a stunning top on you! HTH, Birgitte
3/17/08 5:57 PM
epkiley said...
Oh dear! Thanks for taking the time to write all that up!
3/8/08 9:11 AM
ryan's mom said...
Don't you just hate this? Just when I think I'm not going to make wadders anymore, a major one gives me a headache. It happens. Pick out a TNT and whip it up for instant gratification now.
3/8/08 8:43 AM
Karen6790 said...
Awwwww, don't you hate when that happens? I know out of every so many garments there are so many wadders, but it still hurts - especially when you tried so many different ways to make it work. Take a deep breath, find a project that isn't too challenging to make , and think of a way to salvage what's left of that beautiful silk. You're too good at what you do to be discouraged for long.
3/7/08 11:22 PM
mssewcrazy said...
We all try on clothes in rtw that are train wrecks and think nothing of it as it is normal when going to the mall soooo don't beat up on your self for a train wreck that you made. You don't have to sew perfect every time. I read somewhere that most fabric never gets sewn - at least it had its chance to be something wonderful but was a dressing room reject for you. Things like this keep our heads a normal size.
3/7/08 9:43 PM
Nancywin said...
I'm so sorry you had such a frustrating experience. I think stretch velvet is one of those fabrics that is best the least it is handled. I think your idea of no zipper seems to make sense, but probably won't work because of the stitching involved to attach a gathered skirt to it. Also, since the skirt is gathered, and therefore bulky (even though the fabric is fine) you may need to put some kind of stablilzer (fusible stay tape?) at the seamline of the bodice. Although this eliminates the stretch of the velvet, this also seems to be the problem - too much stretch. I think your idea of doubling the fabric for the skirt is good, but also another reason you need to stabilize the bodice. Of course, I'm talking from complete inexperience since I have never done this combination of fabrics together, so take it for what it is worth (maybe not much)!
3/7/08 8:33 PM
layla said...
We can all relate to this one ... gathered empire tops I think were made for twiggy bodies ..boobs need not apply .. I also have this pattern ...thank you for reminding me.
3/7/08 2:06 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
((((Cindy Lou)))) Sorry about all the disasters. Trust me, we've all been there and we just learn from our mistakes. Don't lose you're sewing mojo, just do some simpler projects to boost your ego. You're an excellent seamstress so don't let one bum project get you down!
3/7/08 10:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3816

photo
by: nestle

Review
McCall's 5697

photo
by: sewinfranc...

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

More Info