Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-105 (Double Cuff Woven Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 938 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/08 8:41 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Very nice...the collar looks especially crisp.
3/22/08 9:04 AM
Riordan said...
What a beautiful blouse!!!! Your work is impeccable, and you are so right about the serious wow factor!!!!
3/22/08 9:34 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The blouse is beautiful! I'm amazed at how much work you were willing to put in to a single, everyday garment. Bravo!
3/22/08 9:37 AM
annie11 said...
That is stunning! You did an incredible job on the detailed construction. I'm sure that you will love wearing it.
3/22/08 9:41 AM
Frozzy said...
Fabulous! The design, fit, everything. Bravo!
3/22/08 9:41 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is a real standout of a shirt. Your fitting adjustments worked great, and your buttonholes are plenty long. Well done!
3/22/08 9:42 AM
Elke said...
This is gorgeous... definitely worth all the extra work. It looks great on you!
3/22/08 10:00 AM
Beek said...
Fantastic blouse! I love all of the intricate details. It looks like it was work!
3/22/08 10:22 AM
patrica said...
Congrats, this is a stunning blouse. What a great job you did. I have looked and looked at this blouse and said to myself no too complicated, but after reading your review I would like to give it a shot.
3/22/08 10:24 AM
Nancywin said...
Once again, another great Cidell Creation! I actually like the smaller collar - it works with the blouse.
3/22/08 10:34 AM
Leora said...
The lines of this blouse are so slimming and classy. Wonderful details!
3/22/08 10:38 AM
Karla Kizer said...
OMG - anything I was planning to make in the near future will look like an old Simplicity Jiffy pattern compared to this. The details are fantastic and you win a medal for bravery, too. What a great blouse!
3/22/08 10:39 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Wonderful job. Blouse looks great!
3/22/08 10:44 AM
2BSewing said...
Your blouse fits you beautifully.
3/22/08 11:03 AM
CynthiaSue said...
outcome looks really professional. the many hours and I'm sure it was many was well worth the effort.
3/22/08 11:04 AM
mahalosu said...
I am so impressed with your skills!
3/22/08 11:17 AM
SewFar said...
Cidell, you are fearless and your blouse is utterly fab! WOW.
3/22/08 11:49 AM
LindsayT said...
This is such an eye-catching shirt! Have you worn it to work yet?; if so, I bet everyone was bowled over by it.
3/22/08 11:51 AM
Erica B. said...
That is one fabulous shirt! The tailoring is impeccable!
3/22/08 11:51 AM
Annette1 said...
This is just TOO COOL, Cidell! I LOVE those cuffs, adn all those BUTTONHOLES! :O) "WOW factor" is right, and I certainly admire your PATIENCE (a little thing I can barely spell, much less muster).
3/22/08 12:19 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Stunning shirt, indeed a huge WOW factor. All the detail and effort sure was worth it it. Enjoy this one !!
3/22/08 12:26 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great results, fabulous shirt. I can't believe your persistence and attention to detail to make this work. Wow.
3/22/08 1:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations on finishing, first of all. Second, congrats on an absolutely outstanding, gorgeous shirt. I love everything about it. Bravo.
3/22/08 2:34 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
All your work paid of, it looks fabulous! I'm dying to know Shannon's collar application method - it's probably top secret tho, huh?
3/22/08 2:56 PM
Markie1 said...
Crikey, Cidell. You and your blouse rock so completely that it's been felt all the way here in California. 10.0 on the Richter Scale. I can say no more.
3/22/08 3:17 PM
Athene said...
Wow all those details make for a a very unique blouse - it looks great.
3/22/08 3:42 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! It's over-the-top magnificent!
3/22/08 4:34 PM
Dei said...
Yup, at it again Cidell...putting us all to shame. Sweet tailoring. Excellent patience.
3/22/08 4:43 PM
Kbenco said...
What a fabulous blouse. I love looking at other people's hard work, and your hard work makes terrific viewing. Thanks for this lovely eye- candy review.
3/22/08 5:38 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow factor is right. It's amazing. It's a good thing you persevered because it's a very stylish well-fitting top. Also, anybody who can produce a blouse like that as well as spell daguerreotype is beyond impressive!
3/22/08 6:31 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Sensational! Anyone who sews that many buttonholes, and long ones too, is either a saint or insane. LOL! No wonder you bought a new machine. Great job getting the fit right.
3/22/08 6:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding. Love the details on this blouse.
3/22/08 7:38 PM
Stephenie said...
This is so fabulous!! Congrats on sticking with it; It definitely has WOW factor!!! Not to mention, perfect fit!
3/22/08 8:01 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is so COOL! I personally love details of long button holes but thinking of doing them all has been putting me off from this.......oh but looking at your shirt now...... I may just have to give it a go one day. Thank you for the review!
3/22/08 8:12 PM
Sheila457 said...
The Blouse is FiYaH... Outstanding!
3/22/08 8:41 PM
PhyllisC said...
Nobody makes me wish I was 20 years younger like you do! I love it.
3/22/08 8:55 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This definitely has lots of wow factor and looks fabulous on you. I still don't know if I could face doing all those buttonholes and buttons though!
3/22/08 8:59 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking blouse, Cidell. I really like the long buttonholes.
3/22/08 9:47 PM
EveS said...
Omg. I think I would've hired a technical asst for this one!! That's a whole lotta work!!! Well worth it tho, as it definitely does have the WOW! Sure wish you could remember how you tricked your machine...if it comes back to you, I'd love to know.
3/22/08 10:09 PM
pterion said...
Wow, stunning blouse. So worth the effort.
3/22/08 10:18 PM
Maychi said...
Fabulous shirt!
3/23/08 3:30 AM
tess said...
You look fantastic in your blouse and the work you put into it is seriously beautiful!!
3/23/08 4:03 AM
So So said...
Knock out! And then I counted 30 button holes! You motivate me so much, to finish things, and finish them properly ! Thank you.
3/23/08 5:06 AM
Karen8320 said...
Fantastic work, Cidell! What a fabulous piece of work this is! You deserve more than a medal for working all those buttonholes. This is seriously WOW!
3/23/08 7:01 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, I can tell that this is sewing weekend for you. I love this shirt and I can see the work which went into it. I actually do love the extra long buttonholes in contrasting color thread. The fit is great too!
3/23/08 11:47 AM
Meredith P said...
Completely awsome blouse, and bee-you-tee-ful execution. I'm sure putting this on my "wishlist" to remind me to look at that issue. Wow! Isn't it nice to dig in to something with extreme detail sometimes?! Really great!
3/23/08 5:29 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Definitely on the WoW factor! You did such a great job on this blouse, all the way through.
3/24/08 8:14 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cidell, you, in this blouse, take my breath away! I like the small collar on your small frame and it leaves room to ogle all the smashing details below it. All your tiny fitting adjustments were well worth the effort, as your blouse fits like a custom designed glove. Smashingly lovely, Lily
3/24/08 3:33 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Love your blouse!
3/26/08 11:13 AM
kim*brown said...
This is too cool! Very original and "boutique". Love it!
3/28/08 9:56 AM
Sea-my said...
Looks great!!! Do you feel comfortable with too much sleeves?
4/7/08 5:40 AM
Aunt Gail said...
This is SUCH an unusual Blouse pattern. BRAVO - you brave gal = for making it and sharing it with all of us. Your commentary - as always is Right on the Money - informative and fun.
4/29/08 10:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by komiller on 11/20/09
Read Review

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2007-13 Flared Skirt Flared Skirt
photo
Review by jnamcd on 7/13/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1420 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1420 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8768 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 8768 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us