SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-105 (Double Cuff Woven Blouse)

Viewed 938 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/08 8:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Very nice...the collar looks especially crisp.
3/22/08 9:04 AM
Riordan said...
What a beautiful blouse!!!! Your work is impeccable, and you are so right about the serious wow factor!!!!
3/22/08 9:34 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The blouse is beautiful! I'm amazed at how much work you were willing to put in to a single, everyday garment. Bravo!
3/22/08 9:37 AM
annie11 said...
That is stunning! You did an incredible job on the detailed construction. I'm sure that you will love wearing it.
3/22/08 9:41 AM
Frozzy said...
Fabulous! The design, fit, everything. Bravo!
3/22/08 9:41 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is a real standout of a shirt. Your fitting adjustments worked great, and your buttonholes are plenty long. Well done!
3/22/08 9:42 AM
Elke said...
This is gorgeous... definitely worth all the extra work. It looks great on you!
3/22/08 10:00 AM
Beek said...
Fantastic blouse! I love all of the intricate details. It looks like it was work!
3/22/08 10:22 AM
patrica said...
Congrats, this is a stunning blouse. What a great job you did. I have looked and looked at this blouse and said to myself no too complicated, but after reading your review I would like to give it a shot.
3/22/08 10:24 AM
Nancywin said...
Once again, another great Cidell Creation! I actually like the smaller collar - it works with the blouse.
3/22/08 10:34 AM
Leora said...
The lines of this blouse are so slimming and classy. Wonderful details!
3/22/08 10:38 AM
Karla Kizer said...
OMG - anything I was planning to make in the near future will look like an old Simplicity Jiffy pattern compared to this. The details are fantastic and you win a medal for bravery, too. What a great blouse!
3/22/08 10:39 AM
QuiltersFan said...
Wonderful job. Blouse looks great!
3/22/08 10:44 AM
2BSewing said...
Your blouse fits you beautifully.
3/22/08 11:03 AM
CynthiaSue said...
outcome looks really professional. the many hours and I'm sure it was many was well worth the effort.
3/22/08 11:04 AM
mahalosu said...
I am so impressed with your skills!
3/22/08 11:17 AM
SewFar said...
Cidell, you are fearless and your blouse is utterly fab! WOW.
3/22/08 11:49 AM
LindsayT said...
This is such an eye-catching shirt! Have you worn it to work yet?; if so, I bet everyone was bowled over by it.
3/22/08 11:51 AM
Erica B. said...
That is one fabulous shirt! The tailoring is impeccable!
3/22/08 11:51 AM
Annette1 said...
This is just TOO COOL, Cidell! I LOVE those cuffs, adn all those BUTTONHOLES! :O) "WOW factor" is right, and I certainly admire your PATIENCE (a little thing I can barely spell, much less muster).
3/22/08 12:19 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Stunning shirt, indeed a huge WOW factor. All the detail and effort sure was worth it it. Enjoy this one !!
3/22/08 12:26 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great results, fabulous shirt. I can't believe your persistence and attention to detail to make this work. Wow.
3/22/08 1:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
Congratulations on finishing, first of all. Second, congrats on an absolutely outstanding, gorgeous shirt. I love everything about it. Bravo.
3/22/08 2:34 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
All your work paid of, it looks fabulous! I'm dying to know Shannon's collar application method - it's probably top secret tho, huh?
3/22/08 2:56 PM
Markie1 said...
Crikey, Cidell. You and your blouse rock so completely that it's been felt all the way here in California. 10.0 on the Richter Scale. I can say no more.
3/22/08 3:17 PM
Athene said...
Wow all those details make for a a very unique blouse - it looks great.
3/22/08 3:42 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Wow! It's over-the-top magnificent!
3/22/08 4:34 PM
Dei said...
Yup, at it again Cidell...putting us all to shame. Sweet tailoring. Excellent patience.
3/22/08 4:43 PM
Kbenco said...
What a fabulous blouse. I love looking at other people's hard work, and your hard work makes terrific viewing. Thanks for this lovely eye- candy review.
3/22/08 5:38 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow factor is right. It's amazing. It's a good thing you persevered because it's a very stylish well-fitting top. Also, anybody who can produce a blouse like that as well as spell daguerreotype is beyond impressive!
3/22/08 6:31 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Sensational! Anyone who sews that many buttonholes, and long ones too, is either a saint or insane. LOL! No wonder you bought a new machine. Great job getting the fit right.
3/22/08 6:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding. Love the details on this blouse.
3/22/08 7:38 PM
Stephenie said...
This is so fabulous!! Congrats on sticking with it; It definitely has WOW factor!!! Not to mention, perfect fit!
3/22/08 8:01 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is so COOL! I personally love details of long button holes but thinking of doing them all has been putting me off from this.......oh but looking at your shirt now...... I may just have to give it a go one day. Thank you for the review!
3/22/08 8:12 PM
Sheila457 said...
The Blouse is FiYaH... Outstanding!
3/22/08 8:41 PM
PhyllisC said...
Nobody makes me wish I was 20 years younger like you do! I love it.
3/22/08 8:55 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This definitely has lots of wow factor and looks fabulous on you. I still don't know if I could face doing all those buttonholes and buttons though!
3/22/08 8:59 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking blouse, Cidell. I really like the long buttonholes.
3/22/08 9:47 PM
EveS said...
Omg. I think I would've hired a technical asst for this one!! That's a whole lotta work!!! Well worth it tho, as it definitely does have the WOW! Sure wish you could remember how you tricked your machine...if it comes back to you, I'd love to know.
3/22/08 10:09 PM
pterion said...
Wow, stunning blouse. So worth the effort.
3/22/08 10:18 PM
Maychi said...
Fabulous shirt!
3/23/08 3:30 AM
tess said...
You look fantastic in your blouse and the work you put into it is seriously beautiful!!
3/23/08 4:03 AM
So So said...
Knock out! And then I counted 30 button holes! You motivate me so much, to finish things, and finish them properly ! Thank you.
3/23/08 5:06 AM
Karen8320 said...
Fantastic work, Cidell! What a fabulous piece of work this is! You deserve more than a medal for working all those buttonholes. This is seriously WOW!
3/23/08 7:01 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, I can tell that this is sewing weekend for you. I love this shirt and I can see the work which went into it. I actually do love the extra long buttonholes in contrasting color thread. The fit is great too!
3/23/08 11:47 AM
Meredith P said...
Completely awsome blouse, and bee-you-tee-ful execution. I'm sure putting this on my "wishlist" to remind me to look at that issue. Wow! Isn't it nice to dig in to something with extreme detail sometimes?! Really great!
3/23/08 5:29 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Definitely on the WoW factor! You did such a great job on this blouse, all the way through.
3/24/08 8:14 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cidell, you, in this blouse, take my breath away! I like the small collar on your small frame and it leaves room to ogle all the smashing details below it. All your tiny fitting adjustments were well worth the effort, as your blouse fits like a custom designed glove. Smashingly lovely, Lily
3/24/08 3:33 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Love your blouse!
3/26/08 11:13 AM
kim*brown said...
This is too cool! Very original and "boutique". Love it!
3/28/08 9:56 AM
Sea-my said...
Looks great!!! Do you feel comfortable with too much sleeves?
4/7/08 5:40 AM
Aunt Gail said...
This is SUCH an unusual Blouse pattern. BRAVO - you brave gal = for making it and sharing it with all of us. Your commentary - as always is Right on the Money - informative and fun.
4/29/08 10:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Simplicity 5487

photo
by: ggf2005

Review
Other That Darn Kat

photo
by: wenznz

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now