SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5186 (Misses Lined Vest)

4 more reviews
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:Rosebeee
photo

 
 
About Rosebeeestar
OR USA
Member since: 10/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/08 9:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Great vest, and even with the wrinkling, I think you will get a lot of wear out of it. I agree that the wrinkles are probably due to the way you sewed the seams. I always stay stitch both curves of the seams and do a LOT of clipping before sewing them. Also, make sure that you line up any notches or matching marks to avoid stretching the fabric. I really need to make a vest for myself. Good job
3/8/08 10:15 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I hadn't thought about making a vest in a long while but I think I would like a combo like yours to wear. I like the look of the blouse or the tee untucked under it.
3/8/08 11:02 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A very classic but very versatile vest; you can dress this up or down, as desired. I agree with Nancywin on clipping the princess seams before sewing. You'll get nice smooth lines, no matter how large your FBA is. Your second planned vest in black cotton w/ silver spirals will be equally wonderful. -Lily
3/9/08 3:17 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very nice! I just remembered vests myself, and made one [haven't reviewed it yet]. An ad on tv made me remember them...worn like yours, with an untucked blouse underneath...cool idea!
3/9/08 10:22 AM
halleyscomet said...
I had the same wrinkling in the armhole location too. I think it's because it didn't call to clip the seam. Next time I'm going to do just that and hopefully that will cure the problem.
4/5/08 10:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi! What did you use for lining material with your poly/cotton?? Thanks!!
5/16/08 5:21 PM
Rosebeee said...
Hi Rhonda! For lining material I used cotton sateen. :) I don't like the feel of the polyester lining fabrics. The cotton sateen worked wonderfully, and I highly recommend it.
5/17/08 10:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-111

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1189

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review