SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5186 (Misses Lined Vest)

4 more reviews
Viewed 480 times 
Reviewed by:Rosebeee
photo

 
 
About Rosebeeestar
OR USA
Member since: 10/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/08 9:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rosebeee said...
Hi Rhonda! For lining material I used cotton sateen. :) I don't like the feel of the polyester lining fabrics. The cotton sateen worked wonderfully, and I highly recommend it.
5/17/08 10:35 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi! What did you use for lining material with your poly/cotton?? Thanks!!
5/16/08 5:21 PM
halleyscomet said...
I had the same wrinkling in the armhole location too. I think it's because it didn't call to clip the seam. Next time I'm going to do just that and hopefully that will cure the problem.
4/5/08 10:32 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Very nice! I just remembered vests myself, and made one [haven't reviewed it yet]. An ad on tv made me remember them...worn like yours, with an untucked blouse underneath...cool idea!
3/9/08 10:22 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
A very classic but very versatile vest; you can dress this up or down, as desired. I agree with Nancywin on clipping the princess seams before sewing. You'll get nice smooth lines, no matter how large your FBA is. Your second planned vest in black cotton w/ silver spirals will be equally wonderful. -Lily
3/9/08 3:17 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I hadn't thought about making a vest in a long while but I think I would like a combo like yours to wear. I like the look of the blouse or the tee untucked under it.
3/8/08 11:02 PM
Nancywin said...
Great vest, and even with the wrinkling, I think you will get a lot of wear out of it. I agree that the wrinkles are probably due to the way you sewed the seams. I always stay stitch both curves of the seams and do a LOT of clipping before sewing them. Also, make sure that you line up any notches or matching marks to avoid stretching the fabric. I really need to make a vest for myself. Good job
3/8/08 10:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Marfy 2280

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

More Info