Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 02-2008-404 (Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 570 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:mlt
photo
Friend of PR
About mltstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/25/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/08 10:21 PM
Last Updated:3/9/08 11:40 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
I'm sorry you had trouble with this one too. Just a point of note, though ... I hope you don't mind. For me, it wasn't the shirring that was a problem; it was the too-inwardly curved armhole. If you have any inclination to fix your top (because it's such pretty fabric!), you could try running elastic thread through the neckline binding to snug it up.
3/8/08 11:35 PM
kathleen1304 said...
While it's true that this pattern needs tweaking, in this picture you look like the heroine of a Jane Austen novel, a very good look for you.
3/9/08 1:12 AM
CynthiaSue said...
what a bummer, the fabric is so pretty. I understand the fustration of trying to sew something futzy. all the trouble of tracing and cutting to have it not work... sadly this is the norm in my sewing room. I say "on to new and better things mlt!"
3/9/08 1:42 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
mlt, I hope you'll try Debbie's suggestion to attempt a fix, because this top looks lovely on you. The color and softness of the fabric are both feminine and flattering on you. I feel your pain. -Lily
3/9/08 3:21 AM
Peggy L said...
The style looks really nice on you. Debbie's suggestion would really save this top for you. I hope you'll give it a try and post another pic. We've all been in your position!! Sometimes things don't work as planned. PR buddies seem to have good ideas for "fixes" most of the time.
3/9/08 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
I looked at your photo and thought "how very pretty" - do hope with Debbie's suggestion you can rectify the neckline because it's way too nice to not wear!!
3/9/08 9:49 AM
ChristineX said...
I like how it looks after you tweaked it! Great color on you!
3/9/08 11:48 AM
moushka said...
You don't look dopey, just a little tired which, after all you've been through, is to be expected! The new version looks lovely and very wearable. Congratulations on beating this pattern into submission, lol. Sue
3/9/08 11:49 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Nice save! It turned out pretty, after all, didn't it? Now the question is: Are you really going to wear it? I know that sometimes when a pattern has put me through the wringer like this one has you, I am inclined to just leave it in the drawer. Must be a psychological thing.
3/9/08 1:00 PM
carolynw said...
Oh yes it looks much more than alright - wear it with pride and that lovely smile of yours!!
3/9/08 1:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
It looks wearable to me too. I had an idea while reading your review. Also, I went snoop shopping yesterday to see what was new for spring. I'm wondering if we could turn the shirring into tiny pleats. I think that would be easier to bind the the fuffly edge that the shirring leaves.
3/9/08 1:28 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
I'm so glad that you didn't give up on this lovely blouse, because your fix brought it right into the realm of beautiful. Wear it with pride! -Lily
3/9/08 2:31 PM
F and L said...
The new photo of the blouse is soooo pretty! I really, really love it!
3/9/08 3:27 PM
cmarie12 said...
I think the fix really makes the top much more wearable. It is a very pretty top on you and I'm glad you rescued it!
3/9/08 5:10 PM
mastdenman said...
I like your version too. It's a beautiful color on you. Maybe we could sew the neckline and then create the shirring afterwards. I think Debbie had the answer when she said to start the shirring further away from the neck binding.
3/9/08 5:14 PM
michellep74 said...
Nice save with the neckline! With such pretty fabric, you must be so happy that you rescued this top!
3/10/08 12:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-125 Cocktail dress
photo
Review by liliv on 11/6/13
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1085 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 6/24/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us