SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2007-120 (Dress with pleated bodice)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1241 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/08 8:04 PM
Last Updated:3/10/08 8:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
I love your fabric choice. The dress is stunning.
3/10/08 8:12 PM
loohoo44 said...
Cidell this is stunning, I gasped when the pic popped up! The print is absolutely fabulous, as well as the placement. You had better make that modesty panel removable, because when you realize how hot you look in this dress you will want to be a sultry woman of mystery again!
3/10/08 8:18 PM
said...
Love it, Love it Love it. The fabric combination is great and you look fantastic. Your blog entries had me laughing HARD!!! Love the part about Dandy. One day, I hope to able to make such beautiful creations.
3/10/08 8:19 PM
loohoo44 said...
double post, sorry
3/10/08 8:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
The fabric is out of this world. The bold fabric print with the traditional style makes for a real knockout of a dress.
3/10/08 8:31 PM
Nancy K said...
Great looking Cidell. I think that it looks fabulous just the way it is, woman of mystery.
3/10/08 8:51 PM
Erica B. said...
Great dress and that fabric is fantastic!
3/10/08 9:03 PM
JMarie1962 said...
What a cute, cute dress! Forget about the modesty panel - this looks stunning - as-is!
3/10/08 10:06 PM
Lori V said...
Great fabric and incredible dress, Cidell
3/10/08 10:18 PM
VtMartha said...
I love it!
3/10/08 10:27 PM
meli88a said...
Fantastic dress and review- thanks also for the link to your blog. I also liked reading about your double cuffed shirt!
3/10/08 10:35 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous dress, I really like the longer length and the way you used two different fabrics in the same colour. It doesn't look too low cut to me - maybe not for the office, but for a summer dress it's perfectly OK. Roll on summer!
3/10/08 10:39 PM
Karen6790 said...
Love love love the fabric. It's perfect for this dress, and looks great on you.
3/10/08 10:54 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a great summer dress for those hot, hot days! I love how you used the two prints. Great idea to use the bra cups too.
3/10/08 11:29 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I love: the maxi dress style, the mixing of fabrics, the sultry low cut... Perfect summer dress!
3/10/08 11:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
You look stunningly beautiful! Your fabrics, the length, the sultry but ladylike neckline. Wow! You make and wear all the gorgeous dresses I was never able to wear. Sigh! I'll just continue to live vicariously through you and your killer dress wardrobe. -Lily
3/11/08 0:19 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Beautiful dress! It looks versatile enough to wear by the pool with flats and out to a party! Great job!
3/11/08 0:42 AM
CynthiaSue said...
only a very few can pull off the "maxi" dress. Congratulations. you look like a model.
3/11/08 0:54 AM
rosannec said...
What are you planning for the modesty panel? Have you considered maybe doubling up the bra cups on the bodice and making the (modesty) added ones slightly larger and maybe with a slight surplice at the center front? That way, you don't lose the overall effect and shape of the bodice. Does that make sense?
3/11/08 1:06 AM
MichelleE said...
Looks great on you and I am loving that fabric!
3/11/08 1:17 AM
ncegbu said...
Gorgeous dress & fabric. Makes me want to pull out some of the fabrics I got in Nigeria a couple of years ago and do something "non-traditional" with them.
3/11/08 2:20 AM
Markie1 said...
Wow! Cidell, you look amazing. Maybe it says too much about me, BUT I think the bodice is alluring but not too much so. How wonderful to bring home fabrics (and boots!) from all over the world and fashion them into an "American exotic". Lovely.
3/11/08 2:27 AM
nzkiwi said...
Wow you have made a lovely job with this dress. Blow the establishment!!!!
3/11/08 4:31 AM
Dolphin said...
Cidell, the dress is beautiful and it really suits you.
3/11/08 4:46 AM
Kbenco said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress and amazing use of fabric. I love it.
3/11/08 5:48 AM
Bonnie O said...
This looks spectacular on you. The neckline seems fine to me. you really look terrific.
3/11/08 7:36 AM
emo said...
Awesome, of course. It's much better than the photo in the magazine -- lengthening was a good move! And I dont think it's too low cut. If you've got it...
3/11/08 8:16 AM
cindyann said...
Just a fantastic fabric choice! This dress suits you so well. You are smokin in it!
3/11/08 9:09 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Stunning! Speechless...
3/11/08 10:45 AM
DivaQ said...
This is gorgeous! That fabric is beautiful!
3/11/08 11:08 AM
Diane E said...
Pretty, pretty dress! What a lovely souvenir of your trip to Ghana. I sure enjoy your sewing "ramblings" and I appreciate the time you take to write for us!
3/11/08 11:50 AM
SueV said...
Wonderful and beautiful.... now I want a summer dress for a concert in the park....
3/11/08 11:59 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I love the way you've combined these great fabrics...so pretty!
3/11/08 12:15 PM
Beek said...
You look so adorable and so confident in your dress! I love the fabric.
3/11/08 12:28 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Love the way you lengthen it, super sexy!!!
3/11/08 12:29 PM
Dei said...
Oh how I love your taste in fabric! Too cute!
3/11/08 1:07 PM
Fabricgurl said...
I love your dress and may have to go tribal myself.
3/11/08 2:10 PM
Sigrid. said...
You're ready for summer Cidell. It's so lovely.
3/11/08 2:48 PM
Athene said...
I love your fabric print arrangement on this dress. You are sizzling hot. I say forget the modesty panel - you are an absolutely beautiful woman of mystery in this dress.
3/11/08 3:42 PM
Annette1 said...
Dearest Brazen Woman Slash Northeastern Establishment: Add a modesty panel if you must, but I think your dress is just perfect as it is. You look lovely in it. (Somebody shove that BWOF model out of the way and slide Cidell in there.) You've achieved a masterful design with your print, as well. Perfect!
3/11/08 6:42 PM
jhansby said...
Lovely!! And the fabric is awesome!!
3/11/08 11:38 PM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous! Great print on the dress!
3/12/08 1:27 AM
KrystalL said...
Stunning dress!
3/12/08 11:15 AM
nancy2001 said...
Cidell, you look beautiful in that dress.
3/12/08 5:15 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Another adorable dress - great fabric, great print placement>
3/12/08 6:51 PM
pakrk said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I agree - no modestly panel! You are smokin' hot in this beautiful dress!
3/12/08 6:56 PM
SandraB said...
Wow!! This dress looks great. I love the combination of the two fabrics. If you feel self-conscious about the low cut, try sticking the top to your chest with some tape (on the inside), so that when you bend down, you don't do the peep-show thing.
3/12/08 8:08 PM
LindsayT said...
I love that you went long with this dress. So au courant.
3/13/08 4:29 PM
Mufffet said...
These are soooo groovy!!! :))) Hey - Cidell, you should upgrade yourself to Advanced...I keep reading your reviews and your stuff is always so well thought out and put together - you have a real eye for fashion and color.
3/23/08 12:35 PM
Blooms said...
Absolutely fantastic...the best dress I have seen
7/6/08 5:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Patrones Magazine 10-40

photo
by: tsedai

Review
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now