SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1034 (Sandra Betzina Jeans)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2297 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 413 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/08 8:58 PM
Last Updated:3/10/08 8:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 47 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
nice jeans. Would these work for those of us small waists and bigger hips?
3/10/08 9:27 PM
Linda G said...
Very nice, I bought that pattern. Thanks for the review, you did a great job... and you confirmed my suspicions.... funny looking pockets...did you put the belt carriers where the pattern suggests? I thought the front ones looked really close to the center front.
3/10/08 9:54 PM
coolobreeze said...
These look great, Erica. How does this pattern compare to the McCall's jean pattern you've used?
3/10/08 9:56 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You beat me to it in making these jeans, which is to my benefit ;) I picked up this pattern at the last pattern sale at JoAnn's, along with the jacket that's paired with it. They look great on you and I'm glad you mentioned the high waist, as I'm not wild about that fit. I don't have a lot of length between my 'used-to-be' waistline and the underwire of my bra so I will probably adjust mine to drop the waist. Thanks for another great review.
3/10/08 9:58 PM
Lori V said...
Great jeans, Erica and thanks for the very helpful review.
3/10/08 10:21 PM
Erica B. said...
@ the lazy milliner, I don't see why not. You can make any necessary adjustments you need. @ Linda G, I don't really think I paid too much attention to the instructions at that point. I think I just placed them where I wanted them. @ coolobreeze, I like the style of the McCall's pattern, but I like the way these fit in the thigh better.
3/10/08 10:33 PM
VtMartha said...
Great jeans! I've made her earlier jeans pattern and really liked them, un-topstitched as well.
3/10/08 10:33 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
These are a great fit on you and the review is really helpful. You are producing some lovely classic garments lately.
3/10/08 10:41 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Those look sooo nice!!!! I love the embroidery on the pockets!!!
3/10/08 10:45 PM
The Sassy SEWer said...
Great job. So fab
3/10/08 10:57 PM
Christina Sonja said...
You make the best jeans! These are no exception.
3/10/08 11:30 PM
PJH said...
Great looking jeans! Thanks for the review.
3/10/08 11:32 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
These jeans are stunning, and you are stunningly beautiful in them! The pocket detail and placement are perfect, and your choice to forego topstitching all combine to create a lean, sexy, and very enticing silhouette. Thank you for your always-magnificent reviews; I so look forward to them. -Lily
3/11/08 0:33 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you should really go on to Project Runway-it's not just the impeccable sewing but you really know how to fit, change proportions etc so every body part looks great. You make the body photogenic! does that make any sense? :)
3/11/08 0:51 AM
LauraLo said...
These look absolutely great, I love them!
3/11/08 5:13 AM
susinok said...
There is a Burda Jean that has that double pocket that I've been dying to try, but these jeans are bootcut instead of straight, so I'll do these instead. They look fabulous on you!
3/11/08 6:29 AM
dentalpic said...
Thanks Erica!I have purchased this pattern and will hopefully soon begin making the capri version. I am glad to know about the waist height and maybe I can adjust it a little to be just below the waist?Sandra's patterns are great though aren't they?Your jeans look so nice on you!I always enjoy your reviews as you are an amazing seamstress!Good work!
3/11/08 7:20 AM
cindyann said...
Really fabulous jeans. I love your pocket detail. I usually don't even look at SB patterns, but this looks like a great pattern.
3/11/08 9:06 AM
LindsayT said...
Great jeans. I'll be curious to see how you think they've held up after normal wear-and-tear and washing. That would be my big fear with making a pair of jeans--that they'd fall apart sooner than later or would lose their shape.
3/11/08 9:31 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow!! Stunning!!
3/11/08 10:35 AM
Erica B. said...
@ LindsayT, This is my FOURTH pair of jeans I've made in the last year and a half and they hold up fine! I'm still wearing each pair.
3/11/08 11:06 AM
Diane E said...
Erica, you and your jeans look fabulous! I love your decorative details. Thanks for the thorough and entertaining review.
3/11/08 11:40 AM
SueV said...
thanks for sharing... this pattern is in my "q" as I'm determined to start making pants to go with all my tops. Thanks for the tip on the pockets.
3/11/08 12:02 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Great jeans and great review .... as many others I have this pattern and only need to make it. Very inspiring and you confirmed some of my pattern (personal) dislikes (i.e. high pockets). But your jeans look fabulous on you .... I love your decorative detailing.
3/11/08 12:41 PM
Dei said...
Erica, what a great fit! You look so happy wearing them. A good pair of jeans will do that to you.
3/11/08 1:13 PM
Fabricgurl said...
Your jeans are beautiful. I can't wait to see what you do next.
3/11/08 2:08 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great pants, love your pocket topstitching.
3/11/08 2:46 PM
Athene said...
As usual you look fabulous and the jeans are great. Thank you for the informative review.
3/11/08 3:36 PM
EveS said...
Great jeans (and topstitching, too)!!! I love the idea of extra contouring at the waist...seems like it would work with curves nicely. Thanks for all of the helpful info, as always!
3/11/08 4:49 PM
ACB said...
Wow, your jeans are fabulous! Such a beautiful job on the pockets. You achieved such a wonderful fit.
3/11/08 5:38 PM
sideseams said...
Erica, your jeans look so good on you! You are such a talented seamstress.
3/11/08 5:42 PM
Annette1 said...
You look SO nice in these, Erica, with your long lean legs and the great fit you've achieved. I have this pattern ordered, and, with your observations about the pockets, I'm wondering if you were reading my mind as I was peering at the line drawings. :o)
3/11/08 6:32 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Great review! Sigh......I'll have to get this pattern!
3/11/08 7:35 PM
Mahler said...
Erica, talk about perfect fit here ! Those jeans are perfect. You look super sexy with that !
3/11/08 9:32 PM
kathleen1304 said...
Erica, That walk-away view is worth every penny you ever spent on sewing and sewing related things! Good work.
3/11/08 11:51 PM
KiwiWendy said...
great britches!
3/13/08 10:23 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Good to know about the higher waist set. These are on my list, too!
3/14/08 8:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

No Pattern Used Mimi G\'s self drafted pat

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
McCall's 6650

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now