SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1034 (Sandra Betzina Jeans)

13 more reviews
Viewed 2303 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 416 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/08 8:58 PM
Last Updated:3/10/08 8:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 47 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Good to know about the higher waist set. These are on my list, too!
3/14/08 8:51 AM
KiwiWendy said...
great britches!
3/13/08 10:23 PM
kathleen1304 said...
Erica, That walk-away view is worth every penny you ever spent on sewing and sewing related things! Good work.
3/11/08 11:51 PM
Mahler said...
Erica, talk about perfect fit here ! Those jeans are perfect. You look super sexy with that !
3/11/08 9:32 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Great review! Sigh......I'll have to get this pattern!
3/11/08 7:35 PM
Annette1 said...
You look SO nice in these, Erica, with your long lean legs and the great fit you've achieved. I have this pattern ordered, and, with your observations about the pockets, I'm wondering if you were reading my mind as I was peering at the line drawings. :o)
3/11/08 6:32 PM
sideseams said...
Erica, your jeans look so good on you! You are such a talented seamstress.
3/11/08 5:42 PM
ACB said...
Wow, your jeans are fabulous! Such a beautiful job on the pockets. You achieved such a wonderful fit.
3/11/08 5:38 PM
EveS said...
Great jeans (and topstitching, too)!!! I love the idea of extra contouring at the waist...seems like it would work with curves nicely. Thanks for all of the helpful info, as always!
3/11/08 4:49 PM
Athene said...
As usual you look fabulous and the jeans are great. Thank you for the informative review.
3/11/08 3:36 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great pants, love your pocket topstitching.
3/11/08 2:46 PM
Fabricgurl said...
Your jeans are beautiful. I can't wait to see what you do next.
3/11/08 2:08 PM
Dei said...
Erica, what a great fit! You look so happy wearing them. A good pair of jeans will do that to you.
3/11/08 1:13 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Great jeans and great review .... as many others I have this pattern and only need to make it. Very inspiring and you confirmed some of my pattern (personal) dislikes (i.e. high pockets). But your jeans look fabulous on you .... I love your decorative detailing.
3/11/08 12:41 PM
SueV said...
thanks for sharing... this pattern is in my "q" as I'm determined to start making pants to go with all my tops. Thanks for the tip on the pockets.
3/11/08 12:02 PM
Diane E said...
Erica, you and your jeans look fabulous! I love your decorative details. Thanks for the thorough and entertaining review.
3/11/08 11:40 AM
Erica B. said...
@ LindsayT, This is my FOURTH pair of jeans I've made in the last year and a half and they hold up fine! I'm still wearing each pair.
3/11/08 11:06 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow!! Stunning!!
3/11/08 10:35 AM
LindsayT said...
Great jeans. I'll be curious to see how you think they've held up after normal wear-and-tear and washing. That would be my big fear with making a pair of jeans--that they'd fall apart sooner than later or would lose their shape.
3/11/08 9:31 AM
cindyann said...
Really fabulous jeans. I love your pocket detail. I usually don't even look at SB patterns, but this looks like a great pattern.
3/11/08 9:06 AM
dentalpic said...
Thanks Erica!I have purchased this pattern and will hopefully soon begin making the capri version. I am glad to know about the waist height and maybe I can adjust it a little to be just below the waist?Sandra's patterns are great though aren't they?Your jeans look so nice on you!I always enjoy your reviews as you are an amazing seamstress!Good work!
3/11/08 7:20 AM
susinok said...
There is a Burda Jean that has that double pocket that I've been dying to try, but these jeans are bootcut instead of straight, so I'll do these instead. They look fabulous on you!
3/11/08 6:29 AM
LauraLo said...
These look absolutely great, I love them!
3/11/08 5:13 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you should really go on to Project Runway-it's not just the impeccable sewing but you really know how to fit, change proportions etc so every body part looks great. You make the body photogenic! does that make any sense? :)
3/11/08 0:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
These jeans are stunning, and you are stunningly beautiful in them! The pocket detail and placement are perfect, and your choice to forego topstitching all combine to create a lean, sexy, and very enticing silhouette. Thank you for your always-magnificent reviews; I so look forward to them. -Lily
3/11/08 0:33 AM
PJH said...
Great looking jeans! Thanks for the review.
3/10/08 11:32 PM
Christina Sonja said...
You make the best jeans! These are no exception.
3/10/08 11:30 PM
The Sassy SEWer said...
Great job. So fab
3/10/08 10:57 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Those look sooo nice!!!! I love the embroidery on the pockets!!!
3/10/08 10:45 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
These are a great fit on you and the review is really helpful. You are producing some lovely classic garments lately.
3/10/08 10:41 PM
VtMartha said...
Great jeans! I've made her earlier jeans pattern and really liked them, un-topstitched as well.
3/10/08 10:33 PM
Erica B. said...
@ the lazy milliner, I don't see why not. You can make any necessary adjustments you need. @ Linda G, I don't really think I paid too much attention to the instructions at that point. I think I just placed them where I wanted them. @ coolobreeze, I like the style of the McCall's pattern, but I like the way these fit in the thigh better.
3/10/08 10:33 PM
Lori V said...
Great jeans, Erica and thanks for the very helpful review.
3/10/08 10:21 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You beat me to it in making these jeans, which is to my benefit ;) I picked up this pattern at the last pattern sale at JoAnn's, along with the jacket that's paired with it. They look great on you and I'm glad you mentioned the high waist, as I'm not wild about that fit. I don't have a lot of length between my 'used-to-be' waistline and the underwire of my bra so I will probably adjust mine to drop the waist. Thanks for another great review.
3/10/08 9:58 PM
coolobreeze said...
These look great, Erica. How does this pattern compare to the McCall's jean pattern you've used?
3/10/08 9:56 PM
Linda G said...
Very nice, I bought that pattern. Thanks for the review, you did a great job... and you confirmed my suspicions.... funny looking pockets...did you put the belt carriers where the pattern suggests? I thought the front ones looked really close to the center front.
3/10/08 9:54 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
nice jeans. Would these work for those of us small waists and bigger hips?
3/10/08 9:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Burda 7494

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

More Info
Chelsea

Chelsea

More Info
New Look 6003

photo
by: SewWil

Review