SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2973 

4 more reviews
Viewed 2022 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/08 11:26 AM
Last Updated:3/11/08 11:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
79 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
i HEART your jacket... I WANT your jacket... seriously, that is fabulous!!
6/3/10 8:59 AM
wzrdreams said...
What an awesome jacket! This is a really helpful review. I have this pattern and some gorgeous navy wool/cashmere for it but I was unsure of what size to choose (14 or 16) and with so many pieces it's a bit intimidating. I'll check the finished measurements on the pattern carefully before I cut. Thank you also for the detail pictures!
10/1/09 9:53 AM
Haute.Couturiere said...
Wow! A Fabulous a creation. I hope that as my sewing improves that I will have the skill to complete this item.
2/16/09 7:46 AM
nystacular said...
your jacket looks fantastic! I stayed away from the pattern just because it said advance, but I love it so much and your review was super helpful that I might try it ^_^
7/16/08 0:51 AM
piffle said...
Thanks for the heads up about the ease. I'm going to try this in leather for my next project.
7/7/08 7:26 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great job! What sharp lines and details.
3/22/08 10:46 AM
Jolet said...
Hi Allie, Your the first one who made the jacket too!! Yours is wonderfull!. Mine was very light cause I used a wool felt like fabric. Hope you'll wear it with pleasure. Hope you can buy a new camera! Bye, Jolet
3/15/08 5:15 PM
phthooey said...
My jaw dropped when I saw the picture! Amazing job on this jacket. I am going through a serious denim phase and love what you've created. You must get a jillion compliments wearing this beauty!
3/15/08 0:41 AM
lmg said...
Just fabulous! The topstitching is sensational. Glad to see your comments on the fit as one day, I hope to make this pattern.
3/14/08 8:40 PM
Karen8320 said...
Allie, this is just magnificent and you can be justly proud of your efforts here. Really, really impressive!!!
3/14/08 8:20 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Allie, what a showstoppingly fabulous jacket! It's not that just that your topstitching is perfect; it's that you made a perfect jacket and added perfectly topstitched details - and that's a Herculean feat, as any flaw can diminish the whole project. Brava! Brava! -Lily
3/14/08 0:04 AM
LindsayT said...
This is a stunning jacket! I want it, I need it. I would feel 10 years younger and 10 pounds thinner wearing this jacket. Well done you!
3/13/08 4:24 PM
Marji said...
Fabulous! and your topstitching is perfect. Enjoy wearing it.
3/13/08 10:50 AM
nancy2001 said...
Magnificient workmanship.
3/12/08 5:06 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous jacket! I loved your choice of fabric and topstitching thread.
3/12/08 4:43 PM
jhansby said...
very nice!!
3/12/08 3:29 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your jacket looks great!
3/12/08 2:18 PM
born2bead said...
Very nice. You did a great job on this with all of that topstitching!
3/12/08 1:55 PM
DorothyK said...
This is fantastic. I think I'm going to try it.
3/12/08 12:47 PM
Leora said...
Stunning!
3/12/08 12:23 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Beautiful jacket! Very impressive!
3/12/08 11:10 AM
cmarie12 said...
It is a beautiful jacket! You did a great job!
3/12/08 11:09 AM
krystalkaes said...
I just picked up this pattern to make. Your version is lovely. Thanks for the review.
3/12/08 9:00 AM
cindyann said...
Ditto to everything that's already been said. It's super fantastic!
3/12/08 8:57 AM
sarahb said...
whoa, I'm blown away. So great!
3/12/08 8:21 AM
Fran G said...
What a sharp jacket! Totally cool! Thanks for the review...I am in awe!
3/12/08 8:15 AM
Linda G said...
Wow, I want that jacket.
3/12/08 7:18 AM
MarilynB said...
Wow, amazing, beautiful and all of the above. The topstitching really makes this jacket outstanding.
3/12/08 6:59 AM
yorkshire lass said...
What can I say that hasn't been said? It's a gorgeous jacket. Love the fabric and the topstitching is absolutely perfect; your patience in getting it exactly right and unpicking has definitely paid off. Bet you get stopped in the street and asked where you got it.
3/12/08 6:49 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Wow, thank you to everyone who has left a comment, I really appreciate it. Annette is right, I think I did have project burnout at the end of this so all your comments are really encouraging. I look forward to seeing some more versions soon!
3/12/08 3:47 AM
KathleenS said...
Great work, especially the top-stitching! Worth the trouble I think.
3/12/08 3:37 AM
rubbecca said...
Based on the number of comments that you've received, it wouldn't hurt to add my own. Your jacket is totally awesome! I don't think I have the skills to attempt this yet, maybe someday.
3/12/08 2:07 AM
akazukinchan said...
I have to add another "Wow!" I'm so impressed.
3/12/08 0:55 AM
Heatherrique said...
I adore your sizzling interpretation of the original! Very chic!
3/11/08 11:59 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous Jacket!! I've been following yr blog; despite the many pieces and topstitching your quick. BTW I enjoy your blog..Great review. Thanks for posting
3/11/08 11:52 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Super amazing jacket!!
3/11/08 9:21 PM
Mahler said...
Even better then what Montana had in mind ! Realy a top notch jacket. Congratulations.n Sorry for your digital camera :-(
3/11/08 9:16 PM
jent said...
Very sexy jacket - your top stitching looks fabulous. I love the zips on the sleeves too!
3/11/08 8:28 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous jacket!
3/11/08 7:29 PM
Jodi B. said...
Looks fabulous! This jacket is already on my list and this is just another reminder why.
3/11/08 7:26 PM
Annette1 said...
Topstitching battles? I don't see any battles, just PERFECT topstitching, and lots of it. Once you get over your burnout, how can you resist making another one of these? It's just too cool.
3/11/08 6:04 PM
JMarie1962 said...
I am in love with this jacket and even more so after seeing and reading your review. I will definitely take into account the pre-topstitching tip and special attention to the chest area. This is a HOT jacket and you will no doubt get asked "Where did you get your jacket?!" I would bet on it :) Thanks for a great review and sorry to hear about your camera :(
3/11/08 5:34 PM
Maychi said...
Stunning!
3/11/08 5:23 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a stunning jacket, and how great that you didn't have to do a FBA! Thanks for the tip about top-stitching before you assemble the garment. I've done a ton of top stitching, and it's never occurred to me to do that!
3/11/08 4:47 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, this is so incredible. Your jacket is much better than the pattern envelope. Oh, great topstitching, too.
3/11/08 4:36 PM
kim*brown said...
Wow!!
3/11/08 4:00 PM
ryankckids said...
I **love** it! I have the pattern, and have also been intimidated by the "advanced" rating. I'd **love** to have it in leather...but am not sure I'm brave enough. You did a fabulous job!
3/11/08 3:46 PM
TwilaO said...
WOW! MUCH better than the pattern envelope! Great job!
3/11/08 3:23 PM
edupraz said...
Love that jacket.
3/11/08 3:07 PM
Dale C said...
Oh my! I want one like that! What a beautiful jacket! Gotta get that pattern
3/11/08 2:57 PM
Athene said...
This is an edgy jacket - I like it much better than the pattern envelope picture. Your attention to detail is wonderful.
3/11/08 2:55 PM
nellc said...
Fantastic looking jacket, all your efforts with the topstitching were worth it, it really brings out the details in the design.
3/11/08 2:46 PM
Sigrid. said...
What can I say to add anything to the above? Nothing, you made a fabulous, gorgeous top with impeccable topstitching. Congratulations with this achievement.
3/11/08 2:40 PM
Peggy L said...
I'm going to be redundant with anothe "Wow!". You did a great job on this - amazing!
3/11/08 2:23 PM
Birgitte said...
That is such a designer piece, the topstitching looks impeccable. I'm a huge believer in un-picking ;) and your jacket just re-confirmed it. Fantastic job!
3/11/08 2:21 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wowza! Love, love, love it!
3/11/08 2:15 PM
PegL said...
Totally fierce!! (I'm channeling Christian from Project Runway) Your jacket is fabulous! Much better than the pattern photo! Thanks for the excellent tip on topstitching before construction in some areas! Great idea!
3/11/08 2:08 PM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! Wonderful detailing. Don't think that this jacket is for my figure, but I have been tempted as it is such a great jacket. Bet it looks stunning on you.
3/11/08 2:04 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, Wow, Wow. Your jacket turned out wonderful. Look forward to seeing you in it.
3/11/08 1:49 PM
Vivienne said...
Stunning, in fact easily the most stunning denim jacket I've seen!
3/11/08 1:48 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, that really looks fabulous! Really funky and chic. I am usually discouraged by Vogue's "advanced" rating since I've had trouble with "easy" ones, so it's great to know it was the *that* hard. Although, I'm not sure I would have the patience for all that topstitching anytime soon. :)
3/11/08 1:38 PM
EveS said...
Wow, I think I might've been over this project after cutting and sewing the 24 pieces...can't even fathom all of that topstitching (*shudder*). Beautiful work and well worth all of your effort. I LOVE it!
3/11/08 1:33 PM
Huldra said...
Gorgeous jacket, and so trendy!
3/11/08 1:33 PM
Bonnie O said...
Great looking jacket!
3/11/08 1:19 PM
carolynw said...
I am awe struck - what a beautiful jacket you have made!!
3/11/08 1:19 PM
Dei said...
The jacket is wonderful and your topstitching efforts were well worth it, even if it weighs a ton.
3/11/08 1:16 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow! This is *hot*...
3/11/08 12:32 PM
Dobedowawa said...
Your jacket is worth every bit of topstitching ... it is gorgeous!
3/11/08 12:31 PM
Beek said...
Isn't his a Montana design? I love it! I believe I have this pattern buried in my vast stash. Your jacket is fantastic and I am inspired to tackle this project! Thanks for the great review.
3/11/08 12:24 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous, smart edgy jacket for a grown-up! Love to have one for myself!
3/11/08 12:18 PM
Twinset said...
Really beautiful! This is so well executed, I'm impressed!
3/11/08 12:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
Sensational! Can you model it for us? I would love to see how it looks on you.
3/11/08 12:06 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant - I have been hankering after this pattern for a while. Now it is on the Must Must Must have list
3/11/08 11:51 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Your jacket looks better than the one on the Vogue photo. Bravo.
3/11/08 11:43 AM
squilts said...
Wow, that is a piece to be proud of. I am sure you will love wearing it, and that it will garner many compliments.
3/11/08 11:43 AM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is fabulous!
3/11/08 11:41 AM
mahalosu said...
looks reallly great
3/11/08 11:39 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely beautiful. I'm in awe of your topstitching here!
3/11/08 11:37 AM
U. Chicago said...
What a sharp-looking jacket! It's so much fun to have clothes that are so distinctive, especially when you've put so much effort into them. Great job on that topstitching!
3/11/08 11:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Marfy 2762

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Vogue Patterns 8408

photo
by: rmusic1

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

More Info