SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4922 (Misses princess seamed shirts)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1118 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/08 11:37 AM
Last Updated:3/12/08 12:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 36 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Erica, what a nice shirt. Thanks for the detailed review as always. It helps those of us in the novice stage. Do you recomend DC's book and this pattern for intermediate beginners? Does his book come with a cd?
3/12/08 12:08 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for a wonderfully helpful and detailed review. Love this shirt on you, very flattering.
3/12/08 12:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a beautifully constructed and fitted classic shirt.
3/12/08 12:49 PM
didda said...
when i read the review for the pants, i wondered if you had made the shirt as well. very nice! i'm still trying to wrap my head around someone actually paying $180 for a shirt, maybe if it were made of silk or something, but that one is 100% cotton. if i had to pay that much for a shirt, i would probably be running around nekkid! (not really . . . that would not be a pretty sight. someone would clothe me, just to cover me up!)
3/12/08 12:54 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful shirt! Your sewing and fit are impeccable. Coffin's book is my guide when I make shirts, too. Paired with his video, it's a great instructional tool.
3/12/08 12:55 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I love the flat felled seams idea! I would've never thought to do this on a fitting shirt...
3/12/08 1:14 PM
JaneH said...
Beautiful job!!
3/12/08 1:26 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Wonderful job! It looks fantastic on you. Love the details of your review.
3/12/08 1:50 PM
Re Becca said...
Nice shirt! I love that book, sometime I just sit down and read it like a novel. Here in Houston we have custom shirtmakers that charge $200, It is a status thing. Bravo on the french cuffs!
3/12/08 3:52 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful shirt and wonderful details.
3/12/08 4:42 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a smart, classy shirt. Love your personalization. Thanks for a great review.
3/12/08 5:38 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice shirt. Great review.
3/12/08 7:19 PM
mastdenman said...
I love the shirt. BTW the sleeve plackets from the Coffin book are fabulous. Just xerox a copy of it and use it as a template and pattern.
3/12/08 10:40 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great shirt Erica!
3/12/08 11:10 PM
EnglishDaffodil said...
Great style, beautifully done! Thanks for the detailed review.
3/13/08 0:09 AM
MissCelie said...
Beautifully done Erica. I would never buy another off the rack shirt if I had this as a prototype.
3/13/08 0:52 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fab shirt! What a great idea for the personalization too :) .
3/13/08 6:47 AM
Elaray said...
Lovely shirt. I love the details. It really adds value to the shirt. PS. Your photography is as good as your sewing!
3/13/08 7:29 AM
DorothyK said...
Erica, this is a work of art. This shirt is truly extraordinary - and a perfect fit. Ordinarily I wouldn't consider a shirt like this for myself, but I'm inspired to try it. Thank you for an excellent, helpful review. I love all your reviews!
3/13/08 10:18 AM
papago said...
Incredible attention to detail! Your review was so complete and detailed. I love reading about all your projects. I learn so much. You are truely an inspiration.
3/13/08 10:36 AM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful shirt you've made-and saved a pretty penny on it, to boot! And your sewing on this is *immaculate*. Well done-thanks for such a thorough review!
3/13/08 2:58 PM
marpratt said...
Erica, I love your reviews and your wonderful creations. My goal is to learn to sew half as good as you. You always look so good in your clothing too.
3/13/08 4:21 PM
sideseams said...
Erica, I have to agree with everyone. You are so good at writing a review. Makes me want to try this pattern. Your shirt is lovely and you look great in it.
3/13/08 8:17 PM
Robin S said...
What a beautiful shirt.
3/13/08 10:11 PM
Leora said...
Awesome fit! Thanks for the tips and detailed review.
3/14/08 0:08 AM
Linda G said...
Great job, you do wonderful work!! I love the personalization detail!!!
3/14/08 7:19 AM
Karen8320 said...
Erica, what a fabulous shirt! Everything about this is really classy. I really love your attention to detail which results in everything that you make looking really extra special. Fantastic!
3/14/08 7:43 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your shirt is so perfect; each moment of your meticulous construction is rewarded. I've gotten away from flat felled seams in recent years, and your attention to them reminds me how pristine this finish looks. Love your personalization in the collar stand. It simply doesn't get any better than this, and your superb photo showcases its perfection. -Lily
3/14/08 12:21 PM
Ms Dish said...
Erica, I am buying that book...like now! Thanks so much for the review, its awesome!
3/16/08 11:42 AM
Athene said...
An absolutely beautifully made shirt. As Lily said "it simply doesn't get any better than this". As always your review was such a pleasure to read.
4/29/08 6:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
Erica, this is perfect - I photographed a shirt in Paris last week on vacation and I'm looking for a good princess shirt pattern to tweak into something fabulous, and your fabulous shirt looks like it came from just the right pattern. Thanks for the great review and all the detail photos.
5/16/08 4:47 PM
Joanne624 said...
What professional work you do, Erica!! Beautiful!! You certainly are an inspiration!
12/17/09 9:02 AM
savivaring said...
Erica- I love your shirt. I appreciate your reviews, your details are great!
12/25/10 0:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

McCall's M5968

photo
by: Larisa

Review
Simplicity 2364

photo
by: DreinPA

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now