Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4922 (Misses princess seamed shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1118 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 36 people   
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 412 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/08 11:37 AM
Last Updated:3/12/08 12:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Erica, what a nice shirt. Thanks for the detailed review as always. It helps those of us in the novice stage. Do you recomend DC's book and this pattern for intermediate beginners? Does his book come with a cd?
3/12/08 12:08 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for a wonderfully helpful and detailed review. Love this shirt on you, very flattering.
3/12/08 12:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a beautifully constructed and fitted classic shirt.
3/12/08 12:49 PM
didda said...
when i read the review for the pants, i wondered if you had made the shirt as well. very nice! i'm still trying to wrap my head around someone actually paying $180 for a shirt, maybe if it were made of silk or something, but that one is 100% cotton. if i had to pay that much for a shirt, i would probably be running around nekkid! (not really . . . that would not be a pretty sight. someone would clothe me, just to cover me up!)
3/12/08 12:54 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful shirt! Your sewing and fit are impeccable. Coffin's book is my guide when I make shirts, too. Paired with his video, it's a great instructional tool.
3/12/08 12:55 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I love the flat felled seams idea! I would've never thought to do this on a fitting shirt...
3/12/08 1:14 PM
JaneH said...
Beautiful job!!
3/12/08 1:26 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Wonderful job! It looks fantastic on you. Love the details of your review.
3/12/08 1:50 PM
Re Becca said...
Nice shirt! I love that book, sometime I just sit down and read it like a novel. Here in Houston we have custom shirtmakers that charge $200, It is a status thing. Bravo on the french cuffs!
3/12/08 3:52 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful shirt and wonderful details.
3/12/08 4:42 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a smart, classy shirt. Love your personalization. Thanks for a great review.
3/12/08 5:38 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice shirt. Great review.
3/12/08 7:19 PM
mastdenman said...
I love the shirt. BTW the sleeve plackets from the Coffin book are fabulous. Just xerox a copy of it and use it as a template and pattern.
3/12/08 10:40 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great shirt Erica!
3/12/08 11:10 PM
EnglishDaffodil said...
Great style, beautifully done! Thanks for the detailed review.
3/13/08 0:09 AM
MissCelie said...
Beautifully done Erica. I would never buy another off the rack shirt if I had this as a prototype.
3/13/08 0:52 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fab shirt! What a great idea for the personalization too :) .
3/13/08 6:47 AM
Elaray said...
Lovely shirt. I love the details. It really adds value to the shirt. PS. Your photography is as good as your sewing!
3/13/08 7:29 AM
DorothyK said...
Erica, this is a work of art. This shirt is truly extraordinary - and a perfect fit. Ordinarily I wouldn't consider a shirt like this for myself, but I'm inspired to try it. Thank you for an excellent, helpful review. I love all your reviews!
3/13/08 10:18 AM
papago said...
Incredible attention to detail! Your review was so complete and detailed. I love reading about all your projects. I learn so much. You are truely an inspiration.
3/13/08 10:36 AM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful shirt you've made-and saved a pretty penny on it, to boot! And your sewing on this is *immaculate*. Well done-thanks for such a thorough review!
3/13/08 2:58 PM
marpratt said...
Erica, I love your reviews and your wonderful creations. My goal is to learn to sew half as good as you. You always look so good in your clothing too.
3/13/08 4:21 PM
sideseams said...
Erica, I have to agree with everyone. You are so good at writing a review. Makes me want to try this pattern. Your shirt is lovely and you look great in it.
3/13/08 8:17 PM
Robin S said...
What a beautiful shirt.
3/13/08 10:11 PM
Leora said...
Awesome fit! Thanks for the tips and detailed review.
3/14/08 0:08 AM
Linda G said...
Great job, you do wonderful work!! I love the personalization detail!!!
3/14/08 7:19 AM
Karen8320 said...
Erica, what a fabulous shirt! Everything about this is really classy. I really love your attention to detail which results in everything that you make looking really extra special. Fantastic!
3/14/08 7:43 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your shirt is so perfect; each moment of your meticulous construction is rewarded. I've gotten away from flat felled seams in recent years, and your attention to them reminds me how pristine this finish looks. Love your personalization in the collar stand. It simply doesn't get any better than this, and your superb photo showcases its perfection. -Lily
3/14/08 12:21 PM
Ms Dish said...
Erica, I am buying that book...like now! Thanks so much for the review, its awesome!
3/16/08 11:42 AM
Athene said...
An absolutely beautifully made shirt. As Lily said "it simply doesn't get any better than this". As always your review was such a pleasure to read.
4/29/08 6:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
Erica, this is perfect - I photographed a shirt in Paris last week on vacation and I'm looking for a good princess shirt pattern to tweak into something fabulous, and your fabulous shirt looks like it came from just the right pattern. Thanks for the great review and all the detail photos.
5/16/08 4:47 PM
Joanne624 said...
What professional work you do, Erica!! Beautiful!! You certainly are an inspiration!
12/17/09 9:02 AM
savivaring said...
Erica- I love your shirt. I appreciate your reviews, your details are great!
12/25/10 0:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

StyleArc Diana Top Diana Top
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 4/6/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117 Ring Top #117
photo
Review by Nata on 2/11/06
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us