SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-117 (Runway Trenchcoat)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1472 times 
Reviewed by:CatMukai
photo

 
 
About CatMukaistar
CA USA
Member since: 5/31/07
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/08 5:15 PM
Last Updated:3/12/08 5:19 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
What an awesome dress for drama and confidence! I love the topstitching/quilting as well, it really sets this dress apart! I had never thought of making a shirtdress out of this, I looked at it as another coat. I looks well worth all the hard work (and bias tape).
3/12/08 5:23 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Wow! What a professional-looking stunner! This is completely modern and classy at the same time. My cool coloring envies you looking so great in yellow!
3/12/08 5:25 PM
Lori V said...
Stunning jacket, this is such a wonderful design/pattern. You look great in your new coat.
3/12/08 5:44 PM
Jan in Kansas said...
Great looking coat-dress. For BWOF patterns, I use interfacing with one-inch squares. It's called Pellon True Grid. I buy a bolt at JoAnn's with one of their 40% off coupons. It also helps to line one of the grid lines up with the grainline.
3/12/08 6:03 PM
SarahSM said...
I use wax paper to trace Burda patterns. I just fuse together multiple sheets to make the appropriate width. I like it because it's so see-through. Very cute coat!
3/12/08 6:15 PM
jent said...
I love this coat! I want to make one too - but haven't found the right fabric yet. Your yellow silk is so springy and pretty. A fantastic choice!
3/12/08 6:52 PM
gabrielle said...
It's beautiful, it looks like something by Bottega Venetta. *I use Canary tracing paper from Bienfang. It comes in a roll, and if I get the 24" width I don't need to tape it together. http://www.misterart.com/store/view/001/group_id/7773/BIENFANG-No-107-Canary-Sketching-Paper-Rolls.htm
3/12/08 7:23 PM
CarolynGM said...
Oh so stylish! I love the rows and rows of topstitching.
3/12/08 7:24 PM
Immelu said...
You did a fantastic job!!!! I looked at that coat and thought it would be alot of work with all that smocking. I use white tissue paper (like the kind you use to shove in gift bags).
3/12/08 7:36 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is gorgeous and looks great on you. It's even more amazing that this was your first BWOF project - yes definitely make some more!
3/12/08 8:43 PM
JeanEsther said...
Wow! That looks so great! I would never have considered this pattern before seeing your outcome. (For tracing paper, I buy large rolls of drawing paper from Aaron Brothers. It's thin enough to see through.)
3/12/08 8:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, your dress/trench is fanatastic too! I was just this morning talking to a sewing teacher who said she used vilene (really cheap interfacing) to cut out the Burda WOF patterns and included seam allowances. That way she could pin fit the pattern. Sounds like a good idea to me!
3/12/08 11:06 PM
Karen6790 said...
That is just adorable. What an ambitious beginning with BWOF patterns. I love the smocking. I'm especially jealous because I would look like death in that color, and it looks so great on you.
3/12/08 11:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Absolutely smashing!!! I LOVE BWOF and I'm sure you'll get lots of use from your magazines. For tracing I use Pattern Ease tracing cloth found at Joann's with the interfacing by the yard. It's regularly $1.99/yd, but goes on sale 50% off with the regularly. When it's on sale, I stock up. :-)
3/13/08 0:29 AM
ColorMeHome said...
I love your coat! The waist is especially attractive!
3/13/08 1:07 AM
selvage said...
Terrific coat dress! It looks wonderful on you. To trace BWOF or other patterns, I use a non-woven polyester tracing material called Do Sew, by Stretch and Sew, which I get at a local quilting store; cost is $5.99/5 yard roll. It's kind of like non-fuse interfacing, as some have suggested, but it has a brittler feel than interfacing. I like it a lot--it's easy to see through, I use just a regular ball-point pen to trace on it, and it holds up better than tissue paper (especially important for those patterns you want to use again and again).
3/13/08 1:15 AM
Athene said...
That is a gorgeous coat/coat dress - looks very top of the line.
3/13/08 2:48 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous coat! I loved LauraLo's version as well, but I'm 5'7" and a UK size 16 so I think I would have to alter the pattern pieces too much to fit me. Anyone any ideas about this?
3/13/08 5:41 AM
Squeezylemon said...
PS Forgot to say no wonder you got good service in the grocery story - they probably thought you were a celebrity dressed like that!
3/13/08 5:43 AM
Sigrid. said...
Your first BWOF? You must make many more, you got gorgeous results.
3/13/08 6:27 AM
Em's Summer said...
Very very stylish and pretty coat! You did a great job!
3/13/08 9:18 AM
pterion said...
What a fabulous coatdress! I'm totally impressed that you made this at all, let alone in just a couple of days!
3/13/08 10:20 AM
Babe B said...
Superb job! You look fabulous in your new coatdress!!!
3/13/08 10:22 AM
KrystalL said...
Your version is just lovely! And I really enjoyed your review. I hope to make this coat sometime in the future as well. This review has given me the added inspiration I needed. Wear your coat with confidence!
3/13/08 10:59 AM
inkstain said...
Regarding tracing, I buy cheap rolls of white gift tissue paper in the party/balloon sections of the grocery store--much wider than baking paper as well as lighter and cheaper. Great coat.
3/13/08 11:41 AM
inkstain said...
Regarding tracing, I buy cheap rolls of white gift tissue paper in the party/balloon sections of the grocery store--much wider than baking paper as well as lighter and cheaper. Great coat.
3/13/08 11:42 AM
a.me.s said...
Very cute and VERY stylish! Love it! :)
3/13/08 2:28 PM
Modiste Madness said...
So unique and you did a wonderful job on it.
3/13/08 3:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful and very stylish. Love the colour!
3/13/08 7:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice.
3/13/08 8:45 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Stunning coat and I love the color, though as Karen notes, I too would look dead in it; but on you, fabulous! Your detail work is enviable in its precision. Like you, I wear a new creation everywhere. Isn't that fun? -Lily
3/14/08 12:53 PM
Mahler said...
This is a stunnig jacket. Bravo !
3/14/08 9:55 PM
Huldra said...
Your coat/dress looks beautiful! I really love this style, I want to make it if I ever get the time! Thank you for your detailed review, it was very helpful, especially how much elastic etc you used.
3/15/08 1:49 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Now I know I must sew this! Your's turned out lovely spring coat dress, you look such a happy girl in it, lovely!!!
3/16/08 7:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You can get all sorts of expensive paper aimed at sewers. Or you can get yourself a several-years supply of 'tracing paper' at the local art store under $10. I've certainly never seen anything aimed at sewers that had anything to distinguish it from artist stuff, and I like that I can get 24" paper so I rarely have to piece. THen I use ordinary pencil, sharpie, red ball point ;-), whatever is at hand. I like your version very much, and particularly the color..
4/13/08 8:40 AM
Sandil said...
Looks great!! As for paper, I buy the rolls of medical paper they use on tables in doctor's offices... it's about $5 a roll and there are hundreds of meters on it... it's transparent enough to see and sturdier than regular pattern tissue and CHEAP!! I go threw one roll a year and I use it lots!!! great outfit!
4/13/08 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Stretch & Sew 786

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review